Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Medicine - Research - Statistical methods
Psychology - Graphic methods
Science - Statistical methods
Social sciences - Statistical methods
Statistics - Charts, diagrams, etc.
Statistics as Topic
Surveys - Methodology
Databases with Statistics
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics, market and opinion research, business data, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.
NCJRS – National Criminal Justice Reference Service This link opens in a new window
This government website pulls together a wide assortment of statistics, articles, and databases on criminal justice.
Dealing with Statistics by
Why you need to use statistics in your research -- Understanding statistical language -- Linking data collection with analysis -- Presenting data -- Describing data -- Inferring differences and relationships from data -- What next?
Call Number: ebook in EBSOHost
Publication Date: 2007
Displaying your findings : a practical guide for creating figures, posters, and presentations by Nicol, Adelheid A. M.
Introduction -- Bar graphs -- Histograms -- Line graphs -- Plots -- Drawings -- Combination graphs -- Pie graphs -- Dendrograms -- Stem-and-leaf plots -- Charts -- Photographs -- Posters -- Visuals for presentations.
Call Number: BF76.8 .N53 2010
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Covers every major facet of measurement and statistics—from mean, mode, and median to reliability, validity, significance, correlation, and much more—all without overwhelming the informed reader.
Call Number: eBook in Credo Reference
Publication Date: 2007
Presenting your findings : a practical guide for creating tables / Adelheid A. M. Nicol and Penny M. Pexman.
Introduction -- Frequency and demographic data -- Means -- Chi-square -- t Test of means -- Post hoc and a priori tests of means -- Correlation -- Canonical correlation -- Analysis of variance -- Multivariate analysis of variance -- Analysis of covariance -- Multivariate analysis of covariance -- Cluster analysis -- Log-linear analysis -- Discriminant function analysis -- Factor analysis -- Multiple regression -- Logistic regression -- Confirmatory factor analysis -- Structural equation modeling -- Meta-analysis -- Word tables.
Call Number: HA31 .N53 2010
Handbook of Survey Methodology for the Social Sciences by
Geared to the non-statistician, this book addresses issues throughout all phases of survey design and implementation. Chapters examine the major survey methods of data collection, providing expert guidelines for asking targeted questions, improving accuracy and quality of responses, while reducing sampling and non-sampling bias.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Methodology of Longitudinal Surveys by
This book: Covers all the main stages in the design, implementation and analysis of longitudinal surveys. Reviews recent developments in the field, including the use of dependent interviewing and mixed mode data collection. Discusses the state of the art in sampling, weighting and non response adjustment. Features worked examples throughout using real data. Addresses issues arising from the collection of data via retrospective methods, as well as ethical issues, confidentiality and non-response bias.
Call Number: eBook in ebrary
Publication Date: 2009
The Palgrave Handbook of Survey Research by
Includes the challenges faced in conventional survey research; opportunities to expand data collection; methods of linking survey data with external sources; and, improving research transparency and data dissemination, with a focus on data curation, evaluating the usability of survey project websites, and the credibility of survey-based social science. Chapter 23 of this book is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license at link.springer.com.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019
The Science of Web Surveys by
The development and widespread use of Web surveys have resulted in an outpouring of research on their design. In this volume, Tourangeau, Conrad, and Couper provide a comprehensive summary and synthesis of the literature on this increasingly popular method of data collection. The book includesnew integration of the authors' work with other important research on Web surveys, including a meta-analysis of studies that compare reports on sensitive topics in Web surveys with reports collected in other modes of data collection. Adopting the total survey error framework, the book examinessampling and coverage issues, nonresponse, measurement, and the issues involved in combining modes. In addition, the conclusion provides a model for understanding the errors in estimates that combine data collected in more than one mode.Web surveys have several important characteristics that affect their ability to collect accurate survey data. Discussing these in detail, the authors address basic design decisions from input widgets to background colors. They additionally focus on the visual character of Web surveys, on theirability to automatically interact with respondents, and on the Web as a method of self-administration. The Science of Web Surveys is relevant for those with the practical goal of improving their own surveys and those with an interest in understanding an increasingly important method of datacollection.
Call Number: eBook in UPSO
Publication Date: 2013