Thrift Library: Research: Advanced: Reveiws

Reviews

The most common type of review is a book review intended to help the reader decide whether or not to read it.

Other categories of reviews include art, music, theater, motion pictures, DVDs, and products.

Limiting Your Search to Reviews

Limit your research to a particular type of review if your topic was created in more than one format.

Sources of Reviews

Reviews are published in magazines and journals along with normal articles.The best place to find articles is in our databases.

Journal of Art
History Today
Science

Some magazines and journals collect and republish reviews - again, found in our databases.

Booklist
Choice
Kirkus Reviews
Library Journal

Other sources of reviews are website, blogs, and other online resources.

OneSearch for Reviews

Since OneSearch searches most of our databases at one time it is the best place to start your search for reviews.

Method One

Search for the book, motion picture, musical performance, etc., by its title and creator.

NOTE: In some cases it may be helpful to include the name of a performer - the star of the movie, the world renowned opera singer, - particularly if it is a work that has been performed by many artists.

Then limit your search to "Reviews" under Source Types (left side of page)

Bear in mind that some creations, i.e. Romeo and Juliet, may exist in multiple formats - book, motion picture, play, opera, etc.

If you are getting too many reviews, you may wish to limit to Type of Review located under Subject. (You will only see the top six results. Click on Show More to see all.)

Bear in mind that some creations, i.e. The magic flute / Die Zauberflöte, may exist in more than one language.

Method Two - Start your key word search with the phrase reviews or opinion or criticism

OneSearch

Book Review Databases - General

Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Browse authors, titles, or genres to discover today’s popular fiction and non-fiction titles as well as the classics of yesterday. If you're wondering what to read next, check here first. Users will find over 300,000 book reviews from over 30 reputable sources. (Gale)

Art Review Databases

Literature Review Databases

Literature This link opens in a new window
A combination database that allows a search across several major Literature databases including Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writer Series, and Twayne's Author Series. Also find the useful Gale Literary Index within Gale Literary Sources to search by author or title to identify multiple reference books in the Thrift Collection that address your needs. (Gale)
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This source on language and literature provides indexing to 4,400 journals going back to 1920 and countless books. Coverage includes many languages. (Ebsco)

Music Review Databases

Theatre and Movie Review Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. (Ebsco)
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains more than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs.

Recommended Books

The Literature Review by Lawrence A. Machi; Brenda T. McEvoy
Call Number: LB1047.3 .M33 2016
ISBN: 9781506336244
From daunting to doable in six steps
Literature Reviews Made Easy by Paula Dawidowicz Although it began as a tool for doctoral students, it has been expanded to be useful for everyone from senior high school students through doctoral candidates working on developing their first literature review or a larger literature review than they normally develop.
Call Number: eBook on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9781617351914
Publication Date: 2010
Succeeding with Your Literature Review: a Handbook for Students by Paul Oliver An excellent and accessible text that will help all students and scholars to develop a strong review and enable them to outline and analyse the key ideas for their study.
Call Number: eBook on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9780335243686
Publication Date: 2012

By Format and Within a Format

Art Reviews

Art - Exhibitions
Art - Reviews
Art criticism
Art museums
Contemporary art
Modern art
Painting
Photography
Sculpture

Book Reviews

Non-Fiction
- 20th century
- Autobiography
- Biography
- Psychology
- Religion
Fiction
- American literature
  - Southern literature
- Children's Literature
  - Picture books for children
- Historical fiction
- Science fiction
Poetry

Motion Picture Reviews

Animated films
Biographical films
Comedy films
Documentary films

Music Reviews

Choral music
Compact discs
Contemporary Christian music
Concerts
Gospel music
Jazz
Instrumental music
Musicals
Orchestral music
Opera
Piano music
Popular music
Rap music
Songs
Sound recordings
- Albums
- Compact discs
- DVD-VIDEO discs
- Video recordings
Symphony
Violin music

Performing arts - Use for multiple formats

Theater and Television Reviews

Drama
Motion pictures
Musicals
Opera
Television programs
Theatre

Product Reviews

By Creator

Use the name of the writer, composer, producer, director, artist, etc., if you know it.

If you are looking for a type of creator, such as authors of southern literature, use the appropriate category. Examples:

Artists

Authors

African American authors
American authors
Nonfiction writers
Poets
Short story writers
Southern states
Women

Composers

Dramatists

Motion picture producers & directors

Painters

Sculptures

19th Century

20th Century