It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Elucidates how one makes decisions about research design, interprets data and draws valid inferences, undertakes research projects in an ethical manner, and evaluates experimental design strategies and results.
This book is a step-by-step guide to harnessing the power to persuade in a variety of forms of writing. * A wealth of original documents provides examples of solid persuasive writing, from essays, articles, sermons, advertising, and other sources * Includes an annotated bibliography of print and electronic resources
Introduction to Educational Research by Craig A. Mertler
Research Design by Patricia LeavyThis user-friendly book provides a step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research. Chapters on each approach follow a unique format--they present a template for a research proposal and explain in detail how to conceptualize and fill in every section. Terminology commonly used within each approach is identified, and key moments of ethical decision making are flagged. Interdisciplinary research examples draw on current events and social justice topics. Unique coverage includes hot topics: replication studies and data sharing, tailoring proposals to different audiences, and more. The book also includes a general introduction to social research; an in-depth, practical discussion of ethics; and a chapter on how to begin a research study, from planning a topic to developing a research question via a literature review. Pedagogical Features *Multiple "Review Stops" in each chapter--quick quizzes with answer keys. *End-of-chapter writing exercises, research activities, and suggested resources. *Bold-face key terms and an end-of-book glossary. *Boxed tips from experts in the respective approaches. *Supplemental PowerPoint slides for instructors using the book in a class. Winner (Third Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category
An accessible, user-friendly introduction to the different aspects of research theory, methods and practice.
Successful Scientific Writing by Janice R. Matthews; Robert W. MatthewsThoroughly revised and updated, the new edition of this acclaimed and best-selling guide offers a rich blend of practical advice and real-life examples. The authors draw on fifty years of experience, providing detailed step-by-step guidance designed to help students and researchers write and present scientific manuscripts more successfully through knowledge, practice, and an efficient approach. Retaining the user-friendly style of the previous editions, this fourth edition has been broadened to include detailed information relevant to today's digital world. It covers all aspects of the writing process, from first drafts, literature retrieval, and authorship to final drafts and electronic publication. A new section provides extensive coverage of ethical issues, from plagiarism and dual publication to honesty in reporting statistics. Both the text and 30 hands-on exercises include abundant examples applicable to a variety of writing contexts, making this a powerful tool for researchers and students across a range of disciplines.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Advanced research differs from beginning research in several important ways. It is more..
Specific (narrow focus)
and it uses more specialized research tools and techniques.
Four Areas of Research
Advanced research is done differently in different disciplines. but there are similarities within these broad categories.
Humanities - History, Religion, Philosophy
Sciences - Biology, Kinesiology, Nursing
Social Sciences - Business, Psychology, Sociology, Economic, Criminal Justice
Fine Arts - Art, Interior Design, Music, Theatre
Note: Fine Arts are often included in the Humanities. Other disciplines may also be categorized differently.
Two Most Popular Types of Research Papers
Argumentative - Here the researcher takes a stance on a topic such as abortion, gun control, or minimum wage laws, sometimes through a thesis statement, and then presents her or his argument.
Analytical - Here the researcher examines a topic from a neutral point of view.