Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Organizations / Opportunities
Organizations: Get Involved Locally!
Anderson County Museum
The Anderson County Museum collects, preserves, and interprets artifacts that document the history of Anderson County and educates a diverse audience by creating a place where visitors find meaning in learning the local, regional, and national significance of Anderson County and its citizens.
SC Arts Commission
For more than 40 years, the agency has worked to make it possible for every citizen in the state to enjoy and benefit from the arts, including those who do not have a lot of money or live in a large city. The Commission's programs and activities fall into three major domains of public participation and service: Artist Development, Arts Education, and Community Arts Development.
Metropolitan Arts Council
The Metropolitan Arts Council (MAC) provides support to area arts organizations and many individual artists through its grants program, through its cultural planning process, by advocating on behalf of all artists and arts groups, and by providing cooperative marketing opportunities promoting arts groups that might not have resources available to them.
Greenville County Museum of Art
Considered the premier American art museum in the South, the GCMA is home to the world’s largest public collection of watercolors by iconic American artist Andrew Wyeth. The GCMA also has an impressive collection of paintings and prints by contemporary artist Jasper Johns. Ranging from Federal portraits to contemporary abstractions, the GCMA’s acclaimed Southern Collection invites viewers to survey American art history through works with ties to the South.
An intensive, year-long professional development initiative designed to cultivate and support K-12 art educators interested in bringing contemporary art, artists, and themes into their classrooms.
Villa Summer Institute: The Getty
This three-day program offers an opportunity for K-12 classroom teachers to learn about the ancient Roman world through the lens of the Getty Villa's collection and site.
MIT Open Courseware
A web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
a 10-state network of 19 public universities and their surrounding schools that confronts the problem of the elimination of the arts from K-12 schools. ArtsBridge works to create partnerships between universities and public school, using college students in the arts to keep arts education in K-12 education. The University of Utah has had an active ArtsBridge program since 2001.
Grants and Scholarships
A list of links to funding sources hosted by the Association of Teaching Artists (ATA).
National Endowment for the Arts
Funding opportunities for Arts Education from the NEA.
The Dana Foundation
A private philanthropic organization that supports brain research through grants and educates the public about the successes and potential of brain research -- and is expanding into supporting professional development of art educators.
See also: Art (Studio Art) Guide
Organizations: Get Involved Nationally!
American Alliance for Theatre & Education (AATE)
The AATE is the best and warmest networking organization for theatre artists and educators. It provides opportunities for idea exchange, leadership, creativity, artistry, mentorship, recognition, advocacy and more to those with a vested interest in the field of theatre and education.
The Arts. Ask For More
The Americans for the Arts National Arts sponsors this Education Public Awareness campaign. The site includes facts about art education as well as resources.
Arts Education Partnership
The Arts Education Partnership provides information and communication about current and emerging arts education policies, issues, and activities at the national, state, and local levels. Our major projects and activities include: commissioning and disseminating research about critical arts and education issues; maintaining and linking databases on state-level policies for arts education; and convening national forums around significant themes and issues in the field.
The National Association for Music Education (NAfME)
National Association for Music Education (NAfME), among the world’s largest arts education organizations, is the only association that addresses all aspects of music education. NAfME advocates at the local, state, and national levels; provides resources for teachers, parents, and administrators; hosts professional development events; and offers a variety of opportunities for students and teachers.
National Art Education Association (NAEA)
Founded in 1947, The National Art Education Association is the leading professional membership organization exclusively for visual arts educators. Members include elementary, middle and high school art teachers, college and university professors and researchers, administrators and supervisors, museum educators and artists as well as more than 45,000 students who are members of the National Art Honor Society or are university students preparing to be art educators.
National Association of Educators of Young Children (NAEYC)
The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) is dedicated to improving the well-being of all young children, with particular focus on the quality of educational and developmental services for all children from birth through age 8. NAEYC is committed to becoming an increasingly high performing and inclusive organization.
National Dance Association (NDA)
The goal of the National Dance Association is to promote quality dance programs in the areas of health, physical education, recreation and dance through leadership, publications, curriculum and teacher support, fundraising, and collaboration.
Association of Teaching Artists (ATA)
A non-profit professional organization whose mission is to advocate for, support, strengthen, and serve artists who teach in schools and in the community from all disciplines in NYS and beyond.