Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Education: Favorite Sites

Although still in progress, this is a selective guide to the fundamental and essential resources necessary for undertaking undergraduate and graduate research in music education.

Favorites

These are listed alphabetically.

All Music Guide
AMG All Music Guide – This giant site is designed to let visitors sample – and buy - music recordings. In doing so it provides access to the first 30 seconds of hundreds of thousands of recordings, as well as accompanying notes, biographies, reviews and classical composition descriptions. Must register to listen, but it’s free.
Baroque music – Articles, composer biographies, portraits, music samples. All you need in 50 plus well-documented sub-pages.
Classical Net - Offers a comprehensive array of files about the last 900 years in Western art music. Includes a basic Repertoire List, a Classical CD Buying Guide, a Recommended Classical CDs List, Composers Works and Data, over 3,000 Reviews & Articles on CDs, DVDs, and Books, Books & Scores, and more than 4,000 Classical Music Links.
Ethnology, Folk Music and World Music - Essentially an online ethnomusicology encyclopedia
UTK
George F Devine Music Library, Univ. of Tenn. – This library has compiled a wonderful links page to the Internet. Its music collection, complete with descriptive information, can also be viewed for free.
Guide to Medieval and Renaissance Instruments – From the Bagpipe to the Zink, see, hear, and read about musical instruments.
Historic American Sheet Music Historic American Sheet Music - The Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University holds a significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3042 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
IMSLP / Petrucci Music Library - the free public domain sheet music library. 16,944 works · 33,277 scores, and counting.
Instrument Encyclopedia Instrument Encyclopedia - A sampler of some of the world's most interesting musical instruments.
Harvard Libraries

Online Resources for Music Scholars - This guide provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice.

Public Domain Music Public Domain Music – A reference site to help identify public domain songs and public domain music . . . royalty free music you can use anywhere and any way you choose . . . performance, sing-along, film, video, advertising, business, or personal.
The Renaissance Channel Renaissance Channel - A channel devoted to the performance of medieval and renaissance music
Worldwide Internet Music Resources - Organized by topic by librarians at the Indiana University Music Library.
Journal of American Musicological Society WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists – Part of the American Musicological Society Web Page, this list of internet resources includes 32 categories of music and is a good starting point for finding music information on the internet.