On playing the flute. A complete translation with an introd. and notes by Edward R. Reilly by This section of resources contains information on the construction and performance of the flute and piccolo.
Don't forget about the general resources on the Woodwinds page and the General information pages.
The art of flute playing by 
The development of the modern flute by 
The flute by 
A Performer's Guide to Renaissance Music, Second Edition by
Revised and expanded since it first appeared in 1991, the guide features two new chapters on ornamentation and rehearsal techniques, as well as updated reference materials, internet resources, and other new material made available only in the last decade. The guide is comprised of focused chapters on performance practice issues such as vocal and choral music; various types of ensembles; profiles of specific instruments; instrumentation; performance practice issues; theory; dance; regional profiles of Renaissance music; and guidelines for directors. The format addresses the widest possible audience for early music, including amateur and professional performers, musicologists, theorists, and educators.
The Simple Flute by
Drawing from his highly praised French work, Une simple flute, distinguished flutist and teacher Michel Debost has compiled a useful and imaginative introduction to playing the flute. This alphabetically arranged compendium of advice and insight covers essential topics such as breathing,articulation, and tone, but also explores "jawboning," "finger phrasing," "the little devils," and other quirky and vexing aspects of flute playing. Full of practical advice on technique and axioms that lend moral support during tough practice sessions, The Simple Flute will be a welcome addition toany serious or novice flutist's library. In addition, the book includes original exercises such as "Debost's Scale Game," making it an excellent resource for flute teachers. Debost concludes each essay with "In a nutshell" and "Please refer to" boxes that make the book easy to browse, dog-ear, andreturn to again and again. Offering concise, common-sense solutions for flutists of all levels, this book is an ideal reference guide on flute performance.
These musical works can be found in the Thrift Library or on the Internet.
Not included are the works in the library's reference score collection.
Flute solos : the ultimate collection, with piano accompaniment. by 
Flute : methods, studies and ensembles, the ultimate collection by 
Prélude à l'apres-midi d'un faune = Prelude to the afternoon of a faun : for flute, clarinet, and piano; transcribed by 
IMSLP - Internet Music Score Library Project by 
Flute sonatas by These resources can be found in the library, through the library's databases, or on the Internet.
Naxos Music Library by 
The flutist quarterly: the official magazine of the National Flute Association by These are some of the journals that can be accessed through the library's databases.
If you are not on campus, you will need to sign in to the proxy server.
 |
The National Flute Association is the largest flute association in the world. In addition to yearly conferences and the Flutist Quarterly journal, the association provides information on teaching, performing, and what is happening internationally in the world of flute. Each state or region has its own flute club, which can be located through the NFA website. |