It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Education: General Music References
Although still in progress, this is a selective guide to the fundamental and essential resources necessary for undertaking undergraduate and graduate research in music education.
Formerly The Music Index Online, Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. This is an EBSCO database. If you are off campus, you may need to sign into the proxy server before using the library's electronic resources.
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. If you are off campus, you may need to sign into the proxy server before using the library's electronic resources.
The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 650 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented.
Need help using Naxos? Click HERE
This resource offers access to the following:
• Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
• Encyclopedia of Great Popular Song Recordings
• Encyclopedia of Native American Music of North America
• The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music
• The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
• The Harvard Dictionary of Music
• Jazz Theory
• Latin Music: Musicians, Genres, and Themes
• Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia: A Comprehensive Guide to the World of Opera
• Music in American Life: An Encyclopedia of the Songs, Styles, Stars, and Stories That Shaped Our Culture
• Music, Markets and Consumption.
• Musical Terms, Symbols and Theory: An Illustrated Dictionary
• The New Penguin Dictionary of Music
• Opera: The Great Composers and their Masterworks
• SAGE Handbook of Popular Music
The Grove Dictionary of American Music (2 ed.)
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments (2 ed.)
The International Encyclopedia of Dance
The Oxford Companion to Music
The Grove Book of Opera Singers (2 ed.)
The Oxford Companion to the American Musical
The Oxford Dictionary of Music (6 ed.)
The Oxford Encyclopaedia of the Music of India
Caution, while Oxford Reference does not require a user name, password, or personal subscription, not all content is accessible. Consequently we recommend that you limit your search to Full Text. Titles identified with a padlock icon are not available.
Major Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias and dictionaries are really good places to start,
especially if you are just beginning a project and want to gain and
overview of your topic and put it in context. Many encyclopedias have
excellent bibliographies that are also helpful to get you started.
These resources can be found in the Reference section of Thrift Library; some are available electronically.
This is also available electronically.
From the Library Journal's review:
Now appearing in print and online simultaneously, this expanded second edition of the most substantial, comprehensive music encyclopedia in English deserves applause for including greater coverage of world and popular music, nearly 2000 more articles on 20th-century composers, and more than 29,000 entries (many rewritten or revised) by over 6000 contributors nearly 7000 more entries by 3600 more contributors than graced the 20-volume 1980 edition. New articles on intellectual trends (e.g., deconstruction, modernism, and postmodernism), sociopolitical movements (e.g., feminism, Marxism, and Nazism), and even animal music and sex illuminate music's various contexts far better than did the earlier New Grove's.
The Oxford companion to musical instruments by Written and edited by Anthony Baines
Call Number: ML102.I5 B34 1992
From the publisher's site:
With numerous illustrations, musical examples, an appendix of makers mentioned within the text, and full bibliographical details, The Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments is an invaluable source on the splendid variety of musical instruments, based on a lifetime of scholarship.
Anthony C. Baines was Curator of the Bate Collection of Historical Instruments at the University of Oxford. He was a founding member of the Galpin Society, formed to promote the study of musical instruments, and editor of its journal 1956-63, and from 1971.
From the publisher's site:
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is the first comprehensive resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.
"Nicolas Slonimsky's venerable single-volume reference is now a six-volume set, with better page layout and typeface, and a subject range outside its traditional concentration on classical music. Under new editorship since Slonimsky's death in 1995, coverage has expanded to over 1,000 new entries on classical music and over 2,000 new entries on jazz and popular music. Nice features include reprints of Slonimsky's witty introductions to earlier editions and indexes for genre, nationality, and women composers and musicians."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2002.
First published in 1992, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music is the largest project ever undertaken for the subject. This authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop. Edited and largely written by Colin Larkin, it is exhaustive, meticulous, authoritative - and incredibly fun to read. Critically lauded in its previous three editions, the Fourth Edition will not disappoint fans seeking authoritative and reliable information about popular music from around the world. Expanded to ten volumes, the new edition contains 6,000 new entries, and extensive revisions and updates throughout, yielding 50% more material than the 1998 Third Edition. In addition to thousands of biographical entries, this A-Z reference also includes entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record lables, venues, and festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. From Grateful Dead to The Killers, from Whitesnake to White Stripes, from R.E.M. to Blink-182, from The Jazz Singer to Jerry Springer - The Opera, and from Bye Bye Birdie to Rent, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Fourth Edition has something informative and clever to say about everyone's favorite band.