Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Homeland Security: HSDL

HDSL

About

 

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA.

Access

Access to the HSDL Collection and the News Digest Collection

Most Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) resources are not openly available to the public at large. Full access to the HSDL Collection and the News Digest Collection is available to homeland security officials and academics for research, analysis, and policy and strategy development. Access is offered to U.S. citizens who are:

  • federal, state, tribal, and local U.S. government officials;
  • members of the U.S. military;
  • homeland security researchers and academics; or
  • security staff protecting organizations vital to U.S. infrastructure.

There are two options for getting full access to the HSDL Collection and the News Digest Collection. You may want to utilize both.

    • An individual account is a password-protected account, specific to you, that you can use anywhere, any time. With an individual account, you can take advantage of special and personalized features such as Email Alerts and My Lists; both are ways to access and organize information according to your requirements. An individual account is required for those who request access the Restricted Collection. Request an individual account now (link will take you to the NPS Center for Homeland Defense and Security website).

  • Organization-wide access allows eligible U.S. military installations, U.S. government agencies, and U.S. research institutions direct access to the HSDL without a login. Access is limited to the specified IPs or domain of that organization (e.g., a building or a campus). Please contact hsdl@nps.edu for further information regarding this type of access.

Access to the Restricted Collection

Access to the Restricted Collection is limited to U.S. government officials (at the local, state, tribal or federal level) and active members of the U.S. military. Users requesting access must have an individual HSDL account and be granted an additional level of authorization. To obtain this access, either login above with an existing account or begin by requesting an individual account. Once that account is confirmed, return and request access to the Restricted Collection. Access to the Restricted Collection is granted for periods of six months at a time. If your access has expired, simply login with your official email to request it again.