Civil defense – UA926-UA929
Department of Homeland Security
Emergency management
National security - UA10.5
- Law and legislation
Terrorism - HV6430-HV6433
- Economic aspects
- Governmental policy
- History
- Prevention
War on Terrorism, 2001-
Encyclopedia of World Terrorism: 1996-2002 by
This work examines terrorist activity worldwide from the mid-1990s to the 21st century. It covers the attack on the World Trade Center, the "War on Terrorism", and the escalating violence in Israel and Palestine, offering historical context by terrorism and counter-terrorism experts. It investigates key issues and events related to global and domestic terrorism, as well as future trends in terrorism and counter-terrorism. The work includes entries on terrorist individuals, organizations, and activities around the globe, and also features a complete volume of primary source documents relating to terrorism from ancient times to the 21st century.
Handbook of Security Studies by
Focusing on contemporary challenges, this major new Handbookoffers a wide-ranging collection of cutting-edge essays from leading scholars in the field of Security Studies. The field of Security Studies has undergone significant change during the past twenty years, and is now one of the most dynamic sub-disciplines within International Relations. It now encompasses issues ranging from pandemics and environmental degradation to more traditional concerns about direct violence, such as those posed by international terrorism and inter-state armed conflict. A comprehensive volume, comprising articles by both established and up-and-coming scholars, the Handbook of Security Studiesidentifies the key contemporary topics of research and debate today. This Handbookis a benchmark publication with major importance both for current research and the future of the field. It will be essential reading for all scholars and students of Security Studies, War and Conflict Studies, and International Relations.
Reference Shelf by 
International Security and the United States by
Covering countries from Angola to Venezuela, this comprehensive two-volume encyclopedia will provide students, professionals, and the interested public with up-to-date assessment of global destabilization and threats to US interests.
Routledge Companion to Intelligence Studies by
The Routledge Companion to Intelligence Studies provides a broad overview of the growing field of intelligence studies. The recent growth of interest in intelligence and security studies has led to an increased demand for popular depictions of intelligence and reference works to explain the architecture and underpinnings of intelligence activity. Divided into five comprehensive sections, this Companion provides a strong survey of the cutting-edge research in the field of intelligence studies: Part I: The evolution of intelligence studies; Part II: Abstract approaches to intelligence; Part III: Historical approaches to intelligence; Part IV: Systems of intelligence; Part V: Contemporary challenges. With a broad focus on the origins, practices and nature of intelligence, the book not only addresses classical issues, but also examines topics of recent interest in security studies. The overarching aim is to reveal the rich tapestry of intelligence studies in both a sophisticated and accessible way. This Companion will be essential reading for students of intelligence studies and strategic studies, and highly recommended for students of defence studies, foreign policy, Cold War studies, diplomacy and international relations in general.
The Routledge Handbook of New Security Studies by
This new Handbook gathers together state-of-the-art theoretical reflection and empirical research by a group of leading international scholars in the subdiscipline of Critical Security Studies. In today's globalised setting, the challenge of maintaining security is no longer limited to the traditional foreign-policy and military tools of the nation-state, and security and insecurity are no longer considered as dependent only upon geopolitics and military strength, but rather are also seen to depend upon social, economic, environmental, ethical models of analysis and tools of action. The contributors discuss and evaluate this fundamental shift in four key areas: New security concepts New security subjects New security objects New security practices Offering a comprehensive theoretical and empirical overview of this evolving field, this book will be essential reading for all students of critical security studies, human security, international/global security, political theory and IR in general. J. Peter Burgess is Research Professor at PRIO, the International Peace Research Institute, Oslo, where he leads the Security Programme and edits the interdisciplinary journal Security Dialogue. In addition, he is Adjunct Professor at the Norwegian　University of Science and Technology, Trondheim (NTNU), and Research Fellow at the Institute for European Studies, Brussels.
U. S. National Security by
A thoroughly up-to-date expert analysis of national security issues in the United States, focusing on the dramatic changes brought about by the attacks of September 11, 2001. Written by one of the nation's foremost security policy analysts, the second edition of U.S. National Security: A Reference Handbook follows the trajectory of American security policy from the Cold War to the World Trade Center attacks to the Bush Administration. It brings the distinctive clarity and objectivity of the first edition to the study of a vastly different world. With over 75 percent new material, U.S. National Security, Second Edition provides an up-to-date assessment of security challenges facing the United States today incorporates the full range of viewpoints on the appropriate responses to specific issues. For readers looking for a clear-eyed assessment of the state of our security, the policies that have and haven't worked, and the opportunities and threats that lie ahead, there is no more essential resource available. A chronology of the post-Cold War period with overwhelming emphasis on the post-9/11 era and profiles of the new personalities at home and abroad affecting U.S. national security A thorough bibliography of media on national security, including online resources, websites, media offerings, and books
