Introduction to Homeland Security by
INTRODUCTION TO HOMELAND SECURITY was the first book to provide practitioners, educators, and students with a comprehensive account of the original and ongoing developments in the Department of Homeland Security's reorganization, as well as the practices, policies and programs enacted in relation to the government restructure. The new edition continues to prove the standard in providing the latest information on the developments in national security in the context of DHS. Continuing in the tradition of the first edition, the book recounts US Government and private sector actions taken since 9/11 in the areas of legislation, government organization, communications, technology, and emergency management practices. It is packed with reference sections, notations directing the reader to relevant publications and websites, and contributions from media reports or experts. Case studies provide insightful guidance for security managers having to deal effectively with similar situations.
Homeland Security and Intelligence by
A collection of expert articles provides an informative and critical insight into homeland security and the new intelligence community in the post-9/11 environment. Few issues are as important--or as controversial. Homeland Security and Intelligence offers a series of articles written to inform readers about changes in homeland security intelligence, to explain the new structure of the intelligence community (IC), and to enable readers to question the effectiveness of the new intelligence processes. A brief history of intelligence in the United States covers past and current structures of the IC and the fundamentals of intelligence. There is an in-depth look at the new Fusion Centers and efforts to improve information-sharing among the federal, state, local, and private sectors. The book also addresses the critical questions of whether the IC is working as intended--and whether there is an effective system of checks and balance to govern it. Finally, there is an examination of issues that should be addressed for our future security. Each of the contributing authors draws on his unique experiences to provide the reader with a critical understanding of what has happened since 9/11 and where homeland security intelligence should be looking now.
Homeland Security for Policing by
Unique in focus, Homeland Security for Policing presents a framework for understanding the role police play in today's era of Homeland Security. The only book of its kind, it examines the events that led up to this new policing era, the relationship between national, state and local agencies, and specific strategies, operations and tactics that can be used to prevent and protect against future threats. Special emphasis is placed on understanding 9-11, the entire framework of Homeland Security in the U.S. and the unique issues faced by local law enforcement. KEY TOPICS: Provides a strategic focus that addresses state and local level responses to Homeland Security as well as responses at the federal level. Discusses the specific issues facing police with respect to Homeland Security and connects the Homeland Security and criminal justice fields. Discusses how and why policing has changed in the last decade. Presents a fuller understanding of how the concept of Homeland Security developed, what it means for the police, and where within the scope of a national Homeland Security framework the police fit. Discusses the activities of local police within the context of both state and national Homeland Security policies. Emphasizes the integral web of dependency and connected nature of these agencies. Discusses techniques for information gathering, risk and threat assessments, intelligence analysis, preparation for mass disasters (including Weapons of Mass Destruction), risk management, information sharing (both laterally and vertically), preemption of terrorism, and employment of an Incident Command System under the National Incident Management System. Helps identify the new roles, new responsibilities, and new tasks of the police in today's post 9-11 environment. Law enforcement professionals.
McGraw-Hill Homeland Security Handbook: Strategic Guidance for a Coordinated Approach to Effective Security and Emergency Management, Second Edition by
Featuring a foreword by Michael Chertoff, former Secretary of Homeland Security, The McGraw-Hill Homeland Security Handbook, 2e is the one-stop guide for any professional or student involved in counterterrorism, homeland security, business continuity, or disaster risk management. This indispensable book provides government officials, corporate risk managers, business and security executives, first responders, and all homeland security and emergency prepared-ness professionals with a wide-ranging and definitive overview of critical homeland security issues. The handbook addresses virtually every aspect of homeland security, including terrorism motivated by radical Islamist extremism; transportation and infrastructure protection; community and business resilience; intelligence and information; and the roles of business, academia, science, and the private sector in confronting terrorism and natural disasters. Enriched with the insight and knowledge of renowned national and international experts--from senators and captains of industry to key figures in intelligence, military affairs, diplomacy, international organizations, and academia--this peerless guide offers prescriptive strategies and guidance to help security professionals more effectively manage the risk of terrorism and prepare for and respond to natural disasters. Conveniently organized into thematic sections, The McGraw-Hill Homeland Security Handbook covers: Terrorist and Criminal Threats Policy, Governance, and Legal Responses Interoperability, Information Sharing, and Collaboration Risk Management, Decision Making, and Communication Protecting Critical Infrastructure Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management Private Sector Security and Resilience Thinking, Education, and Training Science and Technology Civil Liberties and Other Legal Issues International Challenges and Approaches The McGraw-Hill Homeland Security Handbook synthesizes the latest information with unmatched scope and detail and discusses what governments, businesses, and citizens must do to manage the risk of disasters and counter evolving threats.
Protecting the Homeland 2006/2007 by
Immediately after September 11, the Brookings Institution began a comprehensive, multidisciplinary project focused on the key policy challenge of these dangerous times -assessing and improving homeland defense. That intense effort produced Protecting the American Homeland, and it continues in this important new book. In Protecting the Homeland 2006/2007, Brookings foreign policy experts analyze current homeland security concerns and the adequacy (or inadequacy) of current policies designed to address them. The authors present both the big picture and the smaller components of homeland security policy that make up the whole. They make specific recommendations on intelligence reform, science and technology policy and the protection of critical infrastructure within the United States. They also look ahead to consider what dangers we should anticipate and plan for, recommending policies that will work to that end. One of the strands running through Protecting the Homeland 2006/2007 is the need to "stitch the seams" in our homeland security blanket through greater integration and coordination. The authors emphasize that the U.S. federal government must work together with key partners who have been insufficiently integrated into American homeland security activities to date. These actors include foreign governments, state and local government, and the private sector, and the coordination must occur in several different areas (e.g. border protection, finance, technology, intelligence). The U.S. government should not -indeed, it cannot -do it alone. By its very nature, homeland security is a problem that defies the usual bureaucratic boundaries. Effective homeland security policy demands intense collaboration on new issues and between organizations that have not traditionally needed each other. This book is of interest and importance to journalists, analysts, policymakers, scholars, and citizens concerned with protecting their homeland against terrorism and related dangers.
The United States Department of Homeland Security by
The United States Department of Homeland Security: An Overview, 2E is the single source to help you understand the Department of Homeland Security. It provides a comprehensive overview of the Department's history, mission, organization, and programs designed to reduce America's vulnerability to attack and quickly recover from disaster. Learn about: The Terrorist Threat Natural Disasters Homeland Security Strategy Intelligence & Warning Critical Infrastructure Protection Border and Transportation Security Domestic Counterterrorism Emergency Preparedness & Response Defending Against Catastrophic Threats First Responders State & Local Fusion Centers The National Guard Homeland Security's Past Homeland Security's Future This book takes a strategic look at the Department of Homeland Security and answers the key questions: "what is DHS?", "why do we need it?", and "how does it protect America?".
The Routledge Handbook of New Security Studies by
This new Handbook gathers together state-of-the-art theoretical reflection and empirical research by a group of leading international scholars in the subdiscipline of Critical Security Studies. In today's globalised setting, the challenge of maintaining security is no longer limited to the traditional foreign-policy and military tools of the nation-state, and security and insecurity are no longer considered as dependent only upon geopolitics and military strength, but rather are also seen to depend upon social, economic, environmental, ethical models of analysis and tools of action. The contributors discuss and evaluate this fundamental shift in four key areas: New security concepts New security subjects New security objects New security practices Offering a comprehensive theoretical and empirical overview of this evolving field, this book will be essential reading for all students of critical security studies, human security, international/global security, political theory and IR in general. J. Peter Burgess is Research Professor at PRIO, the International Peace Research Institute, Oslo, where he leads the Security Programme and edits the interdisciplinary journal Security Dialogue. In addition, he is Adjunct Professor at the Norwegian　University of Science and Technology, Trondheim (NTNU), and Research Fellow at the Institute for European Studies, Brussels.
Mass Shootings: Media, Myths, and Realities by
When a mass shooting happens, the news media is flooded with headlines and breaking information about the shooters, victims, and acts themselves. What is notably absent in the news reporting are any concrete details that serve to inform news consumers how prevalent these mass shootings really are (or are not, when considering crime statistics as a whole), what legitimate causes for concern are, and how likely an individual is to be involved in such an incident. Instead, these events often are used as catalysts for conversations about larger issues such as gun control and mental health care reform. What critical points are we missing when the media focuses on only what "people want to hear"? This book explores the media attention to mass shootings and helps readers understand the problem of mass shootings and public gun violence from its inception to its existence in contemporary society. It discusses how the issue is defined, its history, and its prevalence in both the United States and other countries, and provides an exploration of the responses to these events and strategies for the prevention of future violence. The book focuses on the myths purported about these unfortunate events, their victims, and their perpetrators through typical U.S. media coverage as well as evidence-based facts to contradict such narratives. The book's authors pay primary attention to contemporary shootings in the United States but also discuss early events dating back to the 1700s and those occurring internationally. The accessible writing enables readers of varying grade levels, including laypersons, to gain a more in-depth--and accurate--understanding of the context of mass shootings in the United States. As a result, readers will be better able to contribute to meaningful discussions related to mass shooting events and the resulting responses and policies.
Aviation Terrorism and Security
Biosecurity and Bioterrorism
Chemical Infrastructure Protection and Homeland Security
Concepts and Case Studies in Threat Management
Constitutional Limits on Coercive Interrogation
Critical Infrastructure
Detention of Unlawful Enemy Combatants During the War on Terror
Emergency Response and Emergency Management Law
Essentials of Terrorism
Finding Legal Information
Four Faces of Nuclear Terrorism
Gravest Danger: Nuclear Weapons
Guidelines for Chemical Transportation Safety, Security, and Risk Management
Handbook of Pandemic and Mass Casualty Planning and Response
Hazardous Wastes, Industrial Disasters, and Environmental Health Risks
High-tech Terror
Leadership in Dangerous Situations
Liquefied Natural Gas: Security and Hazards
Mass Care in Disasters-FEMA, the Red Cross and Volunteers
National Incident Management System
New World of Police Accountability
Patriot Act: Issues and Controversies
Police Analysis and Planning for Chemical, Biological, and Radiological Attacks
Police Analysis and Planning for Homicide Bombings
Prisons, Terrorism and Extremism
Professional Lives of Community Corrections Officers
Protecting Emergency Responders
Railway Safety, Reliability, and Security
Risk Assessment for Water Infrastructure Safety and Security
