Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Websites

English Broadside Ballad Archive

The English Broadside Ballad Archive's mission is to make broadside ballads of the 17th century fully accessible as texts, art, music, and cultural records.  What is a Broadside Ballad?  From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Broadside_(music): "A broadside (also known as a broadsheet) is a single sheet of inexpensive paper printed on one side, often with a ballad, rhyme, news and sometimes with woodcut illustrations. They were one of the most common forms of printed material between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries, particularly in Britain, Ireland and North America and are often associated with one of the most important forms of traditional music from these countries, the ballad."

Broadside Image

Eugene Ormandy Home Movies

"In September of 2013, the Penn Libraries received from Doris Gundert Balant a gift of 47 home movies from the family of Philadelphia Orchestra conductor Eugene Ormandy (1899-1985). This past fall the films were reformatted to digital video, helping to prolong the life of the originals, while simultaneously providing broad access to their content. Now the films have been cataloged and described and are available for viewing on the Penn Libraries Kaltura MediaSpace video portal."

The first link above goes to the “Finding Aid” page, where you can browse a list of the videos.  The list has descriptions.

The second link goes to the page where the videos can be found.

For an overview, check out this blog post.

Song Indexes & Sheet Music Lists

SeventhString  

The Fake Book Index is a free service we provide which you may find useful. It is a searchable index of over 75 mostly jazz-oriented "fake books".

Note it does not provide the music itself, it merely tells you in which book(s) you can find the tune you are looking for.

NYPL

 

New York Public Library's Circulating Music Collection Song Index

 

Cuarteto Latinoamericano

Latin American String Quartets - with scores and recordings!
Welcome to the Cuarteto Latinoamericano's Virtual Library.

This space has been created by the Cuarteto Latinoamericano with support from the National Fund for Culture and Arts of Mexico, in order to make available to the public a substantial amount of Latin American works for string quartet, in PDF format.
In the cases of those composers or publishers who have not relinquished their rights to free download, we have included the respective link for the purchase of materials.

With this project we want to help existing string quartets to join us on the discovery of Latin American treasures for string quartet, a mission we have undertaken since the beginning of the Cuarteto Latinoamericano, in 1981.
We hope that this library will be a useful tool to help spread the riches of the string quartet repertoire from our continent to the rest of the world.

American Vernacular Music Manuscripts, ca. 1730-1910

Digital Collections from the American Antiquarian Society and the Center for Popular Music

The Spirituals Database provides a means to search a database of nearly 1600 Negro Spiritual settings performed by solo Classical vocalists.
This site is in its infancy and will experience growing pains. Please be patient.  If you have questions or suggestions, please use the “Leave A Reply” box at the bottom of various pages or contact Randye Jones at ansdiscog@spirituals-database.com.

Sheet Music Consortium   The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.
 

 

Carnegie Hall Performance History Search

Carnegie Hall

Carnegie Hall is pleased to make its performance archive available directly to the public for online search for the first time. This exhaustively researched database contains records of 50,000 events, both musical and non-musical, that occurred in the public performance spaces of Carnegie Hall from its opening in 1891 to present. As of today, records spanning the period between 1891 and 1950 are now publicly available with more than 15,000 events covered. Additional data will be released on a regular basis.

Searches can be made by keyword, composer, work, performer, date, or date range. Results can be filtered by venue and genre, and search results can be saved or shared through a link or exported to a PDF.

Dolmetsch Online Music Dictionary

The Dolmetsch Music Dictionary Online is part of the award-winning Music Theory and History resource.

A Night at the Opera

A Night at the Opera presents opera-related items from the Library of Congress Music Division, including manuscript and printed scores, librettos, photographs, and set designs dating from the late-eighteenth century through the beginning of the twentieth century. The exhibit also commemorates the bicentennials of opera composers Giuseppe Verdi and Richard Wagner, both born in 1813.  Dates: August 15, 2013–January 25, 2014

Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music (HEBM)

Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music (HEBM)

Extensive collection of data for concert band. Includes much more information than the previous edition published on CD ROM.
OUR GOAL: To document every concert band work and composer.
Band enthusiast can subscribe for complete access to:

    * over 22,000 composers listings and biographies
    * over 100,000 searchable works
    * hundreds of program notes
    * constantly updated information

Research is ongoing, with HEBM editors constantly adding new composers and updating and expanding data.

Harvard Graduate School of Education's EdCast

Harvard Graduate School of Education

Harvard Graduate School of Education's EdCast site contains podcasts that cover issues in the field of education.  Noam Chomsky, Howard Gardner, and other educators, advocates, and politians participate in these conversations.

It may be best to find these through your iTunes software, SoundCloud, or Libsyn.com OR by using a Google site search.

UCTV: University of California Television

UCTV

The UCTV site contains media from the University of California and affiliates.  The focus has been teaching, research, and public service.
The main subject categories are:

Also included are lists by series and by campus.

Spirituals Database

The Spirituals Database provides a means to search a database of nearly 1600 Negro Spiritual settings performed by solo Classical vocalists.
This site is in its infancy and will experience growing pains. Please be patient.  If you have questions or suggestions, please use the “Leave A Reply” box at the bottom of various pages or contact Randye Jones at ansdiscog@spirituals-database.com.

teoria.com: music theory web

teoria.com is a web site dedicated to the study and practice of music theory. It has been part of the Internet community since January 1997. teoria.com was developed by José Rodríguez Alvira as a complement for his courses at the Conservatory of Music of Puerto Rico.

The Music Dictionary

George Grove - The Music DictionaryThe Music Dictionary features The Grove Dictionary of Music Vol II, the trusted music dictionary of musical terms and musicians for over 100 years. The Music Dictionary is free online and Vol II has over 10K music terms and musician bios for your personal and research use.

Streaming Media

Ethnomusicology Musical Instrument Collection

The University of Washington Ethnomusicology Division houses over 400 musical instruments from around the world. Each year since the founding of the Ethnomusicology program in 1962, one or more international artists have been invited to the campus to share their musical traditions through teaching and performance. The musical instrument collection has grown over the years as the result of these residencies, and its make-up reflects the instrumental traditions of the artists who have been our guests. 

Images are free to use, but it is requested that the U of Washington Ethnomusicology Archives is acknowledged.

Browse Collection

Browse Sound Files

Browse Video Files

 

Gershwin in 5 minutes

Journal of Music History Pedagogy

Journal of Music History Pedagogy

The Journal of Music History Pedagogy is a bi-annual, peer-reviewed, open-access, on-line journal dedicated to the publication of original articles and reviews related to teaching music history of all levels (undergraduate, graduate, or general studies) and disciplines (western, non-western, concert and popular musics). The JMHP holds no single viewpoint on what constitutes good teaching and endorses all types of scholarship on music history pedagogy that are well-researched, objective, and challenging. The JMHP is a publication of the Pedagogy Study Group of the American Musicological Society; it is indexed in RILM and DOAJ.

The Opera Platform

The Opera Platform is the online destination for the promotion and enjoyment of opera. It is designed to appeal equally to those who already love opera and to those who may be tempted to try it for the first time.

The Opera Platform offers a range of content from the most popular titles to the most innovative:

  • an average of one showcase complete opera per month from one of 15 partner theatres
  • each showcase opera subtitled in 6 languages and available to enjoy for free for a period of 6 months on demand
  • tantalising highlights from productions throughout Europe
  • curated documentary material setting operas and opera houses within a wider cultural context
  • a rich archive bringing history to life for today’s audiences

The Opera Platform is a partnership between Opera Europa, representing 155 opera companies and festivals; the cultural broadcasting channel ARTE; and 15 theatres from across Europe. It is supported by the EC’s Creative Europe programme. It welcomes contributions from all those committed to sharing opera with a wider public.

OnMusic Dictionary

OnMusic Dictionary

OnMusic Dictionary is the successor of former Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary.

Also includes browsing by Instrument Classifications, Composers, Symbol Charts, and an Appendix with music fundamentals, music history, and performance practice.

Award-winning, pioneering designers, developers, publishers and distributors of world-class, accredited courses, training programs and services used in-classroom, online or blended environments in over 1500 colleges and universities in the USA and abroad since 1999.

The Full English Digital Archive

Full English Archive

The Full English is the world's largest free digital archive English folk songs, tunes, dances, and customs.  An initiative of the English Folk Dance and Song Society (EFDSS) and its Vaughan Williams Memorial Library in London, the archive contains over 58000 digitized images from the manuscript collections of noted folk song collectors.