Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Scores

Scores

Sheet Music in the Thrift Library

Scores/Sheet Music

IMSLP stands for International Music Score Library Project. The logo is a capital letter A, taken from the very first press-printed book of polyphonic music, the Harmonice Musices Odhecaton, published in 1501. Its printer, Ottaviano Petrucci, is this library's namesake.

American Vernacular Music Manuscripts, ca. 1730-1910

Digital Collections from the American Antiquarian Society and the Center for Popular Music

The Carl Nielsen Works Catalogue (CNW) is the first ever thematic-bibliographic registration of all Nielsen’s compositions. Biographical as well as bibliographic information has also been drawn from a number of other sources.

Online Resources for Music Scholars
This guide provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites. Each entry includes a brief description of the resource, with tags for subjects and resource types. The guide is necessarily selective, and other important research resources are available only in printed form.

Welcome to ChoralWiki, home of the Choral Public Domain Library!

CPDL was founded in December 1998, ported to ChoralWiki in August 2005,
and incorporated in May 2010 as a U.S.A. 501(c)(3) tax-exempt charitable organization.
Here you will find free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.

The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.
Opening Night! Opera & Oratorio Premieres  
Stanford University Libraries is pleased to introduce Opening Night! Opera & Oratorio Premieres, a cross-index of data for over 38,000 opera and oratorio premieres. It allows complex searches across multiple categories or simple browsing within any single category, such as genre, composer, librettist, premiere date, country, oratorio subject, or theater. The database is linked to SearchWorks, Stanford University Libraries catalog, allowing users to easily find related scores, recordings, and writings.
NY Phil Digital Archives
520, 000 pages of parts AND scores marked by Philharmonic musicians.
MusRef: An online guide to print and internet resources.

Early Music Online project: Some of the books date back as far as the 1500s and, due to their fragile nature, would not be freely available to researchers, but thanks to this digitization project, musicians from around the world can now source the original music free of charge using the Early Music Online website.
Highlights of the collection include church music by the Flemish composer Josquin des Prez and the English musicians Thomas Tallis and William Byrd; drinking-songs from Nuremberg and love-songs from Lyon; lute music from Venice and organ music from Leipzig.

Opera Buffa: 1707-1750: This web-site about the commedeja pe museca (commedia per musica, or comic opera) is an ongoing project, whose aim is to present accurate and philologically reliable transcriptions of all the extant libretti from the seasons 1707-1750, i.e. from the first establishment of the comic genre to its definitive national [Italy] and international acknowledgment.

 

Multiple Formats

Scores in the Thrift Library are cataloged as books.

Scores are also available in CD-ROM format

And in the Library Music Source database.

There are also many websites containing free scores and sheet music.

Searching the Library Catalog for Scores

To find a score in the Library Catalog, search for the composer or composition, and then limit your search to Printed Music.

 

Musical Scores in the Thrift Library

Musical Scores are cataloged in the M's according to the Library of Congress Classification System.

               M – Scores

               ML – Literature on music

               MT – Musical Instruction and Study

Search Tips

Beware spelling errors and variants in spelling, especially in foreign languages. Use...

  • Prokoviev, NOT Prokofiev
  • Scryabin, NOT Scriabin
  • Piotr Tchaikovsky NOT Pytor Tchaikovsky

Note: The more you type, the more likely you are to encounter either a spelling error or a variant in spelling.

Be aware of possible multiple spellings, especially when dealing with foreign languages. Example: For some online searches, “Barber of Seville” would not find “Il Barbiere di Siviglia" - and vice versus.

If unsure of spelling, you can use Google as a kind of spell check to find the most commonly used variant.

A simple way to avoid spelling uncertainties is to search for the composer, then browse the results.