MUH 530: Websites

A unique interactive resource designed to bring dance to the Web and make it accessible to everyone.

This encyclopedia provided by the Library of Congress in collaboration with the American Choral Directors Association provides access to significant choral music in the public domain by the leading American composers of the time. Users can find digitized items from the collections; special Web presentations on topics and collections; articles and biographical essays; finding aids to collections; databases for performing arts resources; and a special Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, Web sites, databases and exhibits. (In the latter, each entry describes the resource and provides a link to it if there is an online finding aid or Web site available.)

Useful links include:
Graduate Programs in Musicology
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
Resources for the history of musicology
Web sites of interest to musicologists - useful
Current listings of Jobs, Fellowships, Conferences, CFPs in the discipline

This giant site is designed to let visitors sample – and buy - music recordings. In doing so it provides access to the first 30 seconds of hundreds of thousands of recordings, as well as accompanying notes, biographies, reviews and classical composition descriptions. Must register to listen, but it’s free.

The Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. Those collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop.

The Aria Database is a diverse collection of information on over 1000 operatic arias. Designed for singers and non-singers alike, the Database includes translations and aria texts of most arias as well as a collection of MIDI files of operatic arias and ensembles.

Articles, composer biographies, portraits, music samples. All you need in 50 plus well-documented sub-pages

Remarques curieuses sur le français chanté du Moyen Age à la période baroque

Here are forums, choral organizations, choirs, resources, and the latest news of interest to the choral world.

Featuring art songs with synchronized lyrics and translations.

Offers a comprehensive array of files about the last 900 years in Western art music. Includes a basic Repertoire List, a Classical CD Buying Guide, a Recommended Classical CDs List, Composers Works and Data, over 3,000 Reviews & Articles on CDs, DVDs, and Books, Books & Scores, and more than 4,000 Classical Music Links.

This library has compiled a wonderful links page to the Internet. Its music collection, complete with descriptive information, can also be viewed for free.

Dictionaries, grammar tools, word order, and some lyrics.

Links and resources from Princeton University's music department

From the Bagpipe to the Zink, see, hear, and read about musical instruments.

The Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University holds a significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3042 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.

the free public domain sheet music library. 16,944 works · 33,277 scores

provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship. Researchers can search or browse materials, access metadata about each item, and view digital images of the treasure via each custodial archive's Web site.

Over 15,000 texts used in lieder and other classical songs as well as many choral works and other types of classical vocal pieces, with thousands of translations to English, French and other languages

20,000+ free reviewed links.

Free online access to over 10,000 music and spoken-word recordings produced in the U.S. between the years 1901 and 1925 from the Library of Congress and Sony.

Online opera scores.

The Petrucci Music Library is a wiki-based repository of musical scores. With a goal of creating "a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge," the project is quite ambitious. At present, more than 26,000 works are available in more than 66,000 scores and parts. Additionally, performers have contributed a number of recordings in MP3 format to accompany the scores. The collection is both browsable (composer, time period, nationality, or genre/instrumentation) and searchable (keyword, composer, or database index number). Scores are available in downloadable PDF format. Scanning quality is generally good. Metadata are acceptable but uneven across the database with some items described accurately while others lack authoritativeness and specificity. Because of its public domain scope, content does not necessarily reflect current scholarly editorial trends.

A reference site to help identify public domain songs and public domain music . . . royalty free music you can use anywhere and any way you choose . . . performance, sing-along, film, video, advertising, business, or personal.

A channel devoted to the performance of medieval and renaissance music.

Organizational site. A variety of resources for those interested in the fundamentals of music theory, including links to bibliographies and information about computer-aided instruction, can be found under basic theory.

Computer database of musical themes. Narrow your search by such things as interval, scale, pitch, and contour.

Part of the American Musicological Society Web Page, this list of internet resources includes 32 categories of music and is a good starting point for finding music information on the internet.