Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
After reviewing this page, use yellow button on the left hand of hte screen to launch the tutorial.
All the answers, and instructions on how to find the answers, are on this page.
Questions begin with the top of the page and continue downwards.
NOTE: You can click and drag the tutorial box wherever you need it.
Suggested Search Terms in OneSearch
Names of companies, industries, people
- Business ethics
- Business Planning
- Corporate culture
- Corporations -- Corrupt practices
- Crisis communication
- Crisis management
- Customer relations
- Industrial management
- Leadership - Moral and ethical aspects
- Leadership - Psychological aspects
- Leadership derailment
- Leadership failures (as a key word term)
- Management - Moral and ethical aspects
- Management style
- Officials and employees
- Public relations
- Social responsibility of business
Search in OneSearch for BP Oil Spill, then click on Subject and examine results for alternative subject terms.
Formats found in OneSearch
- Specialized magazines that deal with a specific market, industry, or location. Often short articles, but useful finding information not fully covered in more traditional publications. May be beholden to biggest advertisers. May even be the mouthpiece for the industry or particular companies.
- Typically contain short articles without a bibliography. Magazines articles tend to involve less research and thought than scholarly journals.
- Most look at news from a local viewpoint. The library offers the NY Times and Wall Street Journal as individual databases, and includes selected content from hundreds of smaller newspapers within OneSearch, Business Sources Ultimate, and Nexis Uni.
- Scholarly. Lengthy. Bibliographies. Sometimes include original research.
Market Research Reports
- Market Research Reports offer detailed analyses about a specific market situation within a geographic area. Look for MarketWatch and Best of Bernstein.
- Describes a business’s products and services.
- Most industry profiles identify market size and segmentation, competitive landscape and provide forecast data of market performance and trends. Look for MarketLine: Industry Profile.
- Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats. You can be sure the officers and board are paying close attention to SWOTS. May be contained within MarketLine: Company Profile or DataMonitor or D&B SWOT Analysis.
Books and eBooks
- May contain detailed information not available in articles, but more likely to be dated.
- Describes the business environment of companies that operate oversees.
We would greatly appreciate it if you would evaluate both the Online Tutorial and Wednesday's Zoom Presentation.
Starting Your Research
Sometimes the hardest part of research is getting a handle on what you are researching. How big is it? What do you want to include and exclude? What are the search terms that you should be using?
Most of these questions can be answered in a good encyclopedia or Wikipedia.
Try OneSearch. In most cases the first result will be a Credo Reference Research Starter which will give you an overview of your topic and links to multiple encyclopedias. Many will have a bibliography and links to other sources.
Pros - Huge! More likely than any other source to have your topic. Provides a good overview, bibliography, and links to other resources.
Cons - Be careful of bias, particular when dealing with controversial topics.
What can you cite in your paper and what can you not?
- Do not cite "general" encyclopedias like Britannica and Wikipedia. Do not cite Credo Reference Research Starter pages found in OneSearch. They have already organized your research for you. You need to do something new.
- You may cite "subject" encyclopedias - those that are specialized and go into depth. These include the subject encyclopedias identified by the Credo Reference Research Starters. Examples: Encyclopedia of Crisis Management or Alcohol in Popular Culture: An Encyclopedia.
Articles - OneSearch
Your best source of information for this project is probably going to be articles found in OneSearch.
1) Open OneSearch and search for your company or organization. You will probably want to add one or two additional search terms to narrow the results.
2) Examine the Subject terms beneath the titles that look useful. Write them down and use them in additional searches. No single search is perfect. You will need to conduct multiple seraches to piece together a mosaic of your resarch.
Financial Information in Business Insights: Essentials
Gale Business Insights: Essentials
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays. Scholarly journals & business news. (Gale)
1) Search Business Insights: Essentials by the name of the company. If more than one entry by that name, click on the one with the largest sales.
NOTE: This database does not cover organizations - like FIFA.
2) Then click on Financial. Expand the Period to the last six years. Then find one of categories below.
- Income Statement - Total Revenue
- Cash Flow - Case from Operations
- Ratio - Profit Margin
- Price Cart - Stock Price Chart
3) Check the year of the scandal and compare financials before and after to see its impact on the company's bottom line.
4) You can find additional types of information by clicking on the hyperlinks on the left side of the screen.
SWOTS Analysis - Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats
Over 10,000 comprehensive MarketLine profiles on the world’s most important companies. (Ebsco)
SWOTs can be found in multiple databases, but are most easily found in Company Profiles.
1) Type in the name of the company and click on its title
2) Then click on SWOT Analyses.You will see multiple years.Find the year pertaining to your company's crisis and see if analysts addressed the issue. You may also want to view the following year. Depending on how strongly the crisis affected the company's bottom line, it may or may not be addressed.
3) Repeat your search and examine the Source types found on the left side of the screen. You may wish to examine some of these. The Market Research reports can be interesting.
Although OneSearch is a good source for news, you may wish to go further by using Nexis Uni.
1) Type the name of your company AND any appropriate search terms that will identify the crisis you are studying. Examples: Chipotle food poisoning, Wells Fargo account fraud scandal, FIFA corruption.
2) Sometimes it is useful to do multiple searches using alternative search terms. Examples: Chipotle food safety, Chipotle E. coli, Chipotle food borne illness, Chipotle lawsuits, Chiopotle crisis
Advanced Searching in OneSearch
1) Review the search terms Suggested for OneSearch found on the left side of the Research Guide and pick the one that seems most relevant to your research. Then go to OneSearch and select Advanced Search. Type the name of your company or organization in the first search box and your chosen search term in the second box. Change the Search Field from Select a field to SU Subject Terms in the second box. Search. Examine results.
2) Open the Subject box on the left and click on Show More. Are there other subjects listed that would be useful? Click on ALL of them and then click on the Update button.
3) Go back to OneSearch and approach your company or organization from a different direction. This time search for your company or organization along with the term - crisis. This will also return articles on crisis, crisis management and crisis communication. (Hint: Another possibility is damage control.)
While may be a better source, the following books and eBooks may be of help. Not every company had a suitable book available. Titles are available via OneSearch except where noted.
Taco Bell Beef Filler
- What Were They Thinking? : Crisis Communication: The Good, the Bad, and the Totally Clueless, Steve Adubato (Look for this title in ProQuest Ebook Central.)
BP Oil Spill / Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill
- Run to Failure: BP and the Making of the Deepwater Horizon Disaster, by Abrahm Lustgarten
- Disaster on the Horizon: High Stakes, High Risks, and the Story Behind the Deepwater Well Blowout, by Bob Cavnar
- In Too Deep : BP and the Drilling Race That Took It Down
- Corporate Communication Crisis Leadership: Advocacy and Ethics - (Look for this title in Business Expert Press.)
- The Ugly Game: The Corruption of FIFA and the Qatari Plot to Buy the World Cup, by Heidi Blake and Jonathan Calvert
- The Fall of the House of FIFA : The Multimillion-Dollar Corruption at the Heart of Global Soccer
- Football, Corruption and Lies : Revisiting 'Badfellas', the Book FIFA Tried to Ban
Volkswagen cheats emission tests
- Faster, Higher, Farther: The Volkswagen Scandal, by Jack Ewing
- The Dieselgate : A Legal Perspective
- Leadership in Practice : Theory and Cases in Leadership Character
- Up In the Air : How Airlines Can Improve Performance by Engaging Their Employees - (Look for this title in ProQuest EBook Central.)
- Wild Ride: Inside Uber's Quest for World Domination, by Adam Lashinsky
Toshiba's Accounting Scandal 2015
- Samsung, Media Empire and Family : A power web - (Look for this title in ProQuest EBook Central.)
- Winning the Long Game : How Strategic Leaders Shape the Future - (Look for this title in ProQuest EBook Central.)
- Why I Left Goldman Sachs: A Wall Street Story, by Greg Smith
- What Happened to Goldman Sachs: An Insider's Story of Organizational Drift and Its Unintended Consequences, by Steven G. Mandis
General - These titles are not about your companies, but rather about "Crisis Management and Communication" in general. Nevertheless, many specific examples are provided.
- Resisting Corporate Corruption: Cases in Practical Ethics From Enron Through The Financial Crisis 3rd Edition, by Stephen V. Arbogast
- The Handbook of Business and Corruption: Cross-Sectoral Experiences by Michael S.Assländer and Sarah Hudson.
- Leadership in Practice : Theory and Cases in Leadership Character
- Ethical Leadership : Progress with a Moral Compass
- Do Good : Embracing Brand Citizenship to Fuel Both Purpose and Profit
- Derailed: Five Lessons Learned from Catastrophic Failures of Leadership
- Fraud Examination: Prevention, Detection, and Investigation
- Resisting Corporate Corruption: Cases in Practical Ethics From Enron Through The Financial Crisis 3rd Edition by Stephen V. Arbogast
- 10 Virtues of Outstanding Leaders : Leadership and Character (Look for this title in ProQuest EBook Central.)
- Make an Ethical Difference : Tools for Better Action - (Look for this title in ProQuest EBook Central.)
- What Were They Thinking? : Crisis Communication: The Good, the Bad, and the Totally Clueless
- Crisis Management By Apology : Corporate Response to Allegations of Wrongdoing