Skip to Main Content

Library DIY

Searching for News Publications and Articles

News sources include:

  • Coverage of current or very recent events
  • Eyewitness accounts of an event
  • In-depth coverage of local issues (in local or regional newspapers) 
  • The public's reaction to a specific event or issue
  • The media's current portrayal, or portrayal over time, of a specific issue

Many news sources are on the open Web, but some have paywalls for older issues or offer a limited amount of free access per month. 

Accessing specific news articles through Thrift Library Catalog

Conduct an article search in the Thrift Library Catalog. Under Refine my Results in the left-hand column, select:

  • Resource Type: Newspaper Articles
  • Publication Date: Enter your preferred publication date range

Accessing specific news publications through Thrift Library Catalog

Conduct a journal title search in the Thrift Library Catalog.

Accessing specific news publications through Thrift Library's Databases

Select a news database from Thrift Library's A-Z Databases list. Open the database and select Publications.

Screenshot of US Newsstream database search screen - Publications highlighted

Use the search box or filters to locate the specific publication:

Select the date of the issue(s) you want to read:


Access specific news publications via the South Carolina State Library (SC residents only):

Image of South Carolina State Library card info: Did you know that South Carolina State Library cardholders can access NewsBank, a news database that allows access to state and national publications? Whether you have a smartphone, tablet, or computer, you can access daily issues of The State newspaper, or issues dating all the way back to 1891. Cardholders can also access The Post and Courier (1800-current), and over 100 other South Carolina newspapers.

chat loading...