Thrift Library: IDLT (Instructional Design and Learning Technology): A Word About Databases

A Word About Databases

The library has over 200 databases, but OneSearch only searches 120. This means there are additional articles, eBooks, and even streaming audio and video, statistics, images, primary sources, scores, dissertations, and more to find in the additional 80 databases.

Moreover, most databases have one or more search options that do not function in OneSearch.

Education Databases for Research

Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Content includes 1,100 periodicals covering education from preschool to college and every educational specialties. (Gale OneFile)
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. Provides indexing to over 1.6 million titles and Full Text to 750,000 documents. (Ebsco)
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PDC provides access to 518 full text education magazines and journals as well as indexing to an additional 200 titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. (Ebsco)

Top databases for research. Note: All all searched by OneSearch EXCEPT Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference

A Database Just for Teachers

Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TRC provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. Topics include assessment, best practices, continuing education, pedagogical research, curriculum development and much more. (Ebsco)

K-12 Databases

Britannica Animal Kingdom This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A reference resource used to discover facts about animals by group, by habitat, or by name. (Pre-K to 2nd grade)
Britannica Escolar Online (Spanish) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online learning platform in Spanish designed to enrich learning through interactive games, searches, videos, multimedia, maps, and more. (grades 6-12)
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A reference source including encyclopedia articles, magazines and journals, videos, maps, dictionary and thesaurus entries. Geared toward K-12 students.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cultural reports on the countries of the world, US states and Canadian provinces. Supporting materials include a photo gallery, recipes, and biographies. You can view flags, maps, slideshows, national anthems, and video clips. (Grades 4-12.) (ProQuest)
Explora for Elementary Schools This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search engine designed for elementary students and teachers. Provides access to magazines, newspapers, books, biographies, country reports, primary sources, video, and more. Teachers can find Curriculum Standards and Lesson Plans. (Ebsco)
Explora for High Schools This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A search engine designed for secondary school students and teachers. Includes magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, film, and video. Teachers can find Curriculum Standards and Lesson Plans. (Ebsco)
Explora for Middle Schools This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A search engine designed for middle school students and teachers. Teachers can find Curriculum Standards and Lesson Plans. (Ebsco)
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online encyclopedia containing over 25,000 records.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and environmental and sustainability issues. (Grades K-College) (Gale)
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles and more than 4,700 topic overviews. This database also contains lesson plans, links to state standards, websites, statistics, primary sources, and teacher resources. (Grades 6-13) (Gale)
In Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
100 full text curriculum-related magazines, newspaper and reference content. 25,000 images. (Grades K-5) (Gale)
Learn 360 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Educational multimedia with 24/7 access for faculty, staff, and students that can be streamed or downloaded.
MAS Ultra – School Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This site provides full text from over 490 periodicals from 1990 on all topics with additional indexing and abstracts to 554 magazines from 1984. Includes CIA World Factbook; and Essential Documents in American History. (Grades 9-12) (Ebsco)
NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A great online resource for helping teachers, school librarians, and kids find the next great fiction read. Also provides access to information on over 30,500 nonfiction titles. (K-8) (Ebsco)
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full text database designed to provide a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current social issue. The database has more than 290 topics, each with an overview, point, counterpoint, and critical thinking guide. (Grades 6-12) (Ebsco)
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of 60 popular elementary magazines, with reading level indicated. Abstracts from 100 more sources. Extensive image collection. Encyclopedia of Animals and General Encyclopedia included. (Grades K-6) (Ebsco)
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. (Grades 5-12) (Ebsco)
TumbleBookLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library of animated talking picture books, which has the added bonus of being accessible – 24/7 – from any device with an internet connection!