Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HeinOnline: Home

By Catagory

Case Law
International Law (See Also: Canada, UK)
International Treaties and Agreements
Organizations
Periodicals
Special Collections
U.S. Federal

HeinOnline - Government, Politics & Law

Individual Database Descriptions

 
Law Journal Library
________________________________________
Academic journals provide a wealth of information, as in-depth analyses of important decisions. Unlike other online databases, HeinOnline’s Law Journal Library is comprehensive, beginning with the first issue ever published of more than 2,600 periodicals and going through the most current issue allowed based on contracts with publishers.
 
World Constitutions Database
________________________________________
This library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for all countries. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Factbook, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.
 
Women and the Law
________________________________________
This collection brings together books, biographies, and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law. It provides a convenient platform for users to research the progression of women’s roles and rights in society over the past 200 years. Also included are more than 70 titles from Emory University Law School’s Feminism and Legal Theory Project, which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender.
 
Criminal Justice in America: U.S. Attorney General Opinions, Reports, and Publications
________________________________________
This database includes the official reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General (both the Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States as well as the Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States Department of Justice). Also included are guides, handbooks, hearings, and other materials related to the study of criminal justice in the United States.
 
Religion and the Law
________________________________________
HeinOnline’s Religion and the Law consists of more than 2,100 titles and more than 1,000,000 pages that include books, periodicals, and bibliographies. The database includes the Christian Legal Society publications, an assortment of Canon Law, and rare historical bibles. Featuring works, History of the Church and State, Religion and Freedom, Jewish Law, Religion and Politics, the Bible in Public Schools, and more.
 
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
________________________________________
The Serial Set is considered an essential publication for unveiling American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, and more. The documents include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics, including reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. During the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, executive-branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.
 
U.S. Congressional Documents
________________________________________
The U.S. Congressional Documents database features the complete Congressional Record bound volume set from its inception in 1873 as well as the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873). Also available and updated daily are the Congressional Record Dailies from 1980 to the present. Every page is fully searchable and all content is in an image-based PDF format, thus preserving the authenticity of the original documents.
 
Federal Register/Code of Federal Regulations
________________________________________
HeinOnline’s Federal Register coverage is comprehensive and begins from inception (1936). The Federal Register is updated daily in HeinOnline, which means you can always access material from the previous business day. Also include is the Code of Federal Regulations with coverage from inception (1938) to current. Additional documents include the United States Government Manual from inception (1935) and the Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.
 
U.S. Presidential Library
________________________________________
The U.S. Presidential is a primary source for locating and searching for presidential documents, including the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the President, and more! In addition to the primary material, it contains other significant presidential documents, speeches, select hearings and reports, as well as links to outside sources.
 
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
________________________________________
HeinOnline’s GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions database contains reports on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of federal programs conducted by the United States Government Accountability Office (GAO). All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications are included (documents that are restricted or classified are not). GAO Comptroller General Decisions contain decisions and opinions issued by the Comptroller General in areas of federal law such as appropriations, bid protests, and federal agency rulemaking.
 
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions & Appeals
________________________________________
The U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals Library is a complete collection of the official case law of some of the United States’ most important government institutions. This case law, also known as decision law, is the body of reported judicial opinions that are published by each agency and thereby become precedent and the basis for future decisions.
 
U.S. Supreme Court Library
________________________________________
This database contains complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court are included in this database.
 
U.S. Case Law
________________________________________
Fastcase Basic, which is included free of charge with HeinOnline Academic, offers the ability to access U.S. state and federal case law via inline hyperlinks or by entering a case citation from the Citation tab on the HeinOnline Welcome Page or inside any HeinOnline database. Like HeinOnline’s “Citations on a Page” feature, case citations referenced in the text of any document in HeinOnline will link to the case in Fastcase. Links will be highlighted in blue, and clicking on the link will pull in the full text from Fastcase.
 
Foreign Relations of the United States
________________________________________
The Foreign Relations of the United States series began in 1861 during the Lincoln administration and now comprises of more than 900 volumes. It presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The volumes contain documents from various presidential libraries, the Departments of State and Defense, the National Security Council, the CIA and other foreign affairs agencies, as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy.
 
History of International Law
________________________________________
This database contains more than 1,400 titles and 1,000,000 pages dating back to 1690 on subjects such as: Hague Conferences and Conventions, International Arbitration, Law of the Sea, the Nuremberg Trials, War & Peace, and much more. Included are classic books from famous authors such as Hans Kelsen, Samuel Pufendork and James Brown Scott, significant serials such as the International Law Studies Series [U.S. Naval War College], International Conciliation, and Studies in Transnational Legal Policy, and links to scholarly articles that discuss the history of international law.
 
U.S. Treaties & Agreements
________________________________________
This database includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in force, expired, or not yet officially published. It contains more than 18,000 records of treaties and agreements to which the United States has been a party, and also offers a very powerful indexing tool that is unsurpassed by any other online U.S. treaty database. In addition to including the actual page-images of all published and in-force treaties and agreements, this collection includes thousands of unpublished treaties and agreements that have been identified through the records of the United States National Archives and Records Administration, United States Senate Treaty Documents, the Freedom of Information Act, and several other official U.S. government sources.
 
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
________________________________________
The U.S. Federal Legislative History Library contains two primary sections. The first section, the U.S. Federal Legislative History Title Collection, contains more than 2,400 comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers. These titles can be browsed by publication title, public law number or the popular name of the public law. From the title listing, researchers can quickly link to the public law in the U.S. Statutes at Large, or link to the entry within the Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories database.
 
U.S. Statutes at Large
________________________________________
The United States Statutes at Large is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress. Every law, public and private, ever enacted by Congress is published in the Statutes at Large in order of the date of its passage. Until 1948, all treaties and international agreements approved by the Senate were also published in the set. This database includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, and features multiple browsing and searching options to enhance the online value over the paper volumes.
 
U.S. Code
________________________________________
The United States Code (U.S.C.) is a compilation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent federal laws of the United States based on what is printed in the Statutes at Large. HeinOnline’s coverage is from inception (1925-1926) to current.
 
Legal Classics Library
________________________________________
The Legal Classics database offers more than 12,000 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history, including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Frederick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Louis Brandeis, Benjamin N. Cardozo, Edwardo Coke and many more! In addition to many “classics”, this collection includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world. The collection focuses on constitutional law, comparative law, political science, and other classic topics and includes works dating back to the 1500s
 
Pentagon Papers
________________________________________
Officially titled United States – Vietnam Relations, 1945-1967: A Study Prepared by the Department of Defense. These “Pentagon Papers” are a United States Department of Defense history of the United States’ political-military involvement in Vietnam from 1945 to 1967.
 
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
________________________________________
Gun regulation in the United States is arguably among the most controversial and heavily-debated topics in American history. The Second Amendment to the United States Constitution states: A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed. Our goal is to facilitate productive discussions and help bring all sides of this argument together to effect positive change and prevent more senseless loss of life.
 
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
________________________________________
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery. To give one example, as late as 1901 Chief Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court had to decide if a man, both of whose parents had been slaves, could be the legitimate heir of his father, because under southern law, slaves could never be legally married.
 
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
________________________________________
The President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection Act of 1992 is a public law passed by the United States Congress. It directed the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) to create a collection of records known as the President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection. The JFK Act stated that the collection should consist of all U.S. government documents relating to the 1963 assassination of President John F. Kennedy, including any state or local law enforcement materials. Furthermore, the Act required that each assassination record be made public no later than 25 years after the date of enactment, unless the President of the United States has reason to withhold the documents. In October of 2017, President Donald Trump directed the National Archives to release materials that were previously withheld. These consisted of nearly 50,000 documents, including more than 19,000 additional documents with the latest release in April 2018. The newly available information contained FBI, CIA, and other agency documents. Some documents will remain classified until 2021.

Training Videos

HeinOnline Research Guides