MGT 343 - Management of Human Resources: Recommended Reading

The Big Book of HR provides any business owner, manager, or HR professional with the most current information to get the most from their talent - from strategic HR-related issues to the smallest tactical detail of managing people.

This Elgar Introduction provides an overview of some of the key theories that inform human resource management and employment relations as a field of study.

Acts as an introduction to the subject for undergraduate students on HRM courses, as well as for postgraduate students on MBA programmes, and it will also be a valuable reference source for line managers. A companion website supports this text with further materials.

The book provides a basic understanding of the HRD models, processes, and history; critical theoretical and philosophical foundations of the field; learning and performance paradigms and models; HRD's role in high-level organizational and systems-level issues; training and development and organization development--including examples of best practices along with variations in core thinking, processes, interventions, and tools; and much more.

Addresses more than 200 questions that every employer needs to deal with, from recruiting and hiring to discipline and downsizing, compensation and benefits to training and employee relations.

Combining up-to-date research, innovative content and practical perspectives, this book is the benchmark by which all other strategic HRM reference works should be measured.

Combines both global and interdisciplinary perspectives. The handbook focuses on familiarising the reader with the fundamentals of applied human resource management whilst contextualizing practice within wider theoretical considerations.

Human Resource Management (HRM) could very well be the key contributor to organization profitability and competitive advantage in the 21st century.

The field of Strategic Human Resource Management (SHRM) has burgeoned over the past thirty years. Over this time there has been a shift towards a strategic conception which posited workers as 'assets' rather than 'costs'. These 'human resources' were reconceptualised as a key source of competitive advantage. As such, these assets were to be treated seriously: selected with care, trained and developed, and above all, induced to offer commitment. The concept of 'human capital' came to the fore, and in the decades following these developments, research output has been voluminous.

Topics covered include: Cost control issues Cost analysis and decision making Cost management systems Environmentalnbsp;cost management With chapters from an international team of contributors, this prestigious companion will prove an indispensible addition to any library with aspirationsnbsp;of keeping up-to-date with the world of accounting.

Evaluate and prioritize the skills needed to sustain performance • Build an agile workforce through flexible Capability Planning • Determine how the organization can stimulate and reward behaviors that matter • Apply a proven succession planning strategy that leverages employee engagement and drives top-line revenue growth • Recognize risks and formulate responses that avoid surprises • Support decision making by predicting the actions that will yield the best returns.

The book examines how to carry out an effective project intended to make an improvement in a context where human resources, training and development are central concerns. Each chapter discusses an aspect of project management and includes examples drawn from human resource, training and development settings.

This book provides the tools and techniques to assess, design, deliver and evaluate training that is right for every employee.

How to Measure Training Results presents practical tools for collecting and measuring six types of data critical to an overall evaluatin of training. This timely resource: Includes dozens of reproducible tools and processes for training evaluation Shows how to measure both financial and intangible/non-financial results

"In order for training to be effective, it has to be based on the needs of both the organization and its employees. This book gives trainers the information and step-by-step instructions they need to determine the training requirements of everyone from newly hired, recently promoted, or just-transferred employees, to those who need training as a result of changes in operations, technology, or systems in the company.

The author's approach offers a model for HR and training departments that is relevant and sufficiently sophisticated for today's workplaces. As with all his books, Bryan Hopkins combines a complete understanding of learning and organisational theory with pragmatic examples, ensuring a book that will be read and applied in equal measure.

This title aims to help organisations implement ROI successfully, by providing techniques, tools, strategies and reproducible items. It examines every key barrier to implementation and suggest strategies for overcoming, minimising, or removing the barriers.

Organisations have processes, systems, policies, infrastructure, information technology, human and financial resources and a host of other elements in place. What will assist them in achieving a competitive advantage? A knowledgeable, skilled workforce.

Don't squander your most valuable resource! Collectively, your workers are your company's most important and most valuable asset. To make the most of this asset, nothing beats quantitative performance and investment measurement.

Personnel selection is changing. Whilst traditional face-to-face interviews are still common, the range of assessment processes that inform the selection of candidates is increasingly diverse, taking advantage not only of new technologies, but also using new methods and strategies, such as assessment centres and personality testing.

Provides a comprehensive, step-by-step process for measuring return on investment in human resources programs. Based on the classic ROI definition of earnings divided by investment,

What are the human costs of ambidexterity? In this volume, the contributors examine how employees deal with following routines at the same time as they are expected to break them. They do this in a range of contexts including precarious work, online communities, workers in the automotive industry, and consumers of pop-management.

This book is packed full of actionable insights to help you source, recruit, acquire, engage, retain, promote, and manage the exceptional talent your organization needs.

This manual shows the importance of understanding an organization's business strategy, goals, and competitive environment to identify what talents the firm will need. The combination of strategic forecasting and labor-market planning outlined in this resource shows how to increase an organization's ability to improve its capabilities, reduce its costs, and survive any economic environment.

Shows how to identify staffing needs and opportunities through qualitative and quantitative measures, and presents several effective, nontraditional approaches to strategic staffing. Bechet includes factors as diverse as promotions, retirements, "decruiting" (the active management of staff out of an organization), termination, and even retention. Featuring full case studies and dozens of examples, the book is both enlightening and practical.

The Employee Performance Handbook is a complete how-to guide for employee discipline. Packed with practical and legal advice, this book offers smart strategies that will help you improve employee performance and avoid legal trouble. You'll learn how to: identify problems early on decide when discipline is necessary choose the right response to a problem engage employees in improving performance collaborate with employees to come up with solutions fire employees when necessary protect against wrongful termination lawsuits With Downloadable Forms You can download sample policies, sample forms, checklists, skills-building exercises, and more, at nolo.com (details inside).

In this radically updated new edition Michael Armstrong looks at the results of major research in this area. He considers how evidence-based material informs understanding of the position performance management has reached and provides practical guidance on how this evidence can be interpreted and applied.Armstrong's Handbook of Performance Management includes 9 brand new chapters covering important developments in this area including: critiques of performance management; coaching; new performance management models and a performance management toolkit. Additional online resources are provided for both lecturers and students.

This new volume contains selected papers that were presented at the 2013 conference on performance measurement and management control focusing on behavioral implications and human actions associated with the use of performance measurement and management control systems.

You need to be aware of the issues to consider and steps to take to effectively evaluate your organization's compensation competitiveness in the external market. One way to do that, when other data is unavailable, is to conduct a custom compensation survey. This book shows how such a survey might be conducted, analyzed and presented successfully.

Knock 'em Dead Resume Templates shows you how to write a killer resume and includes 105 ready-to-use Microsoft Word resume templates.