A study, within the context of social, cultural, and political developments, of important themes and topics in the visual arts from the 1960's to the present.
Art:21. art in the twenty-first century / [videorecording] : Season four by Art21
Call Number: DVD N6512 .A6685 2007 (Seas.4)
Publication Date: 2007
Contents
Romance (55 min.) -- Protest (55 min.) -- Ecology (55 min.) Paradox (55 min.).
Summary
"Meet contemporary artists at work and speaking in their own words- direct, accessible, and unfiltered ... This unique four-hour series spotlights 17 artists working in the United States today, and invites viewers behind the working in scenes to see artists at work in their homes, communities, and unexpected sites- from an old-growth forest to a military base to a film set. The artists, including painters, photographers, sculptors, and video artists, demonstrate the breadth of artistic practice across the country and explore questions that are both timeless and timely- about politics, mortality, love, nature, science, order, chaos, and more"--Container.
Art 21, art in the 21st century. [videorecording] / Season 6 by Art21
Call Number: DVD N6512 .A6685 2012 (Seas.6)
Publication Date: 2011
Contents
Change: Catherine Opie, El Anatsui, Ai Weiwei -- Bondaries: David Altamejd, Tabaimo, assume vivid astro focus, Lynda Benglis -- History: Glenn Ligon, Mary Reid Kelley, Marina Abramović -- Balance: Raskstraw Downes, Robert Mangold, Sarah Sze.
Summary
Contemporary art reflects the ideas of our time, and artists are the creative role models grappling with today's most timely questions. What is the nature of reality? How do we respond to a world in flux? Why do some historical events shape the way we think today, and why have some been forgotten? Explore these ideas and many more in Season Six of Art in the Twenty-First Century.
The award winning Britannica Online delivers fast and easy access to high quality and comprehensive information. The rich combination of Encyclopaedia Britannica, plus Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines, and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting in-depth research- all from one database.
Features 1,990 full text reference books designed for secondary schools, public libraries, and undergraduate research plus full text to 150 history periodicals. Further, the database contains nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 37,400 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. (Ebsco)
Periodicals include America's Civil War, American Heritage, American Historical Review, American History, Archaeology, Aviation History, British Heritage, Chinese America: History & Perspectives, Civil War Times, Foreign Affairs, German History, History, History Review, History Today (back to January 1975), History: Reviews of New Books, Kansas History, Journal of American History, Manitoba History, Military History, Naval History, North Carolina Historical Review, Virginia Magazine of History & Biography, Wild West, World War II and more.
UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. All materials on UbuWeb are being made available for noncommercial and educational use only. All rights belong to the author(s). UbuWeb is completely free.
UEN's Digital Media Service is a digital media repository filled with video and other educational media free for Utah's educators, students and citizen learners. The Digital Media Service allows you to search for content, preview it and then download the media for on demand use. The digital repository includes: videos licensed by the Utah Instructional Media Consortium, local programs from KUED-7, National PBS programs, as well as media from other trusted education partners.
The George Lucas Educational Foundation is dedicated to improving the K-12 learning process by documenting, disseminating, and advocating innovative, replicable, and evidence-based strategies that prepare students to thrive in their future education, careers, and adult lives.
Specializing in unique moving image and sound collections from Utah and the West, the Audio-Visual Archive is located on the Fourth Floor of the library and is part of the Multimedia division of Special Collections. The collections include student and independent films, oral histories, home movies, local news, sports and many other rare and fascinating materials representative of the region's rich cultural and social history.
This link opens in a new window