Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History Resources in the Upstate
Anderson County Museum
The Anderson County Museum collects, preserves, and interprets artifacts that document the history of Anderson County
Clemson University Archives and Special Collections
Research materials relating to the study of South Carolina and the history of Clemson University are housed and preserved at their facility to fulfill their role as a link in the network of institutions responsible for maintaining the documentary record of South Carolina.
Furman University Archives and Special Collections
Special Collections and Archives contains six distinct sections: Furman University Archives, Manuscript Collections, South Carolina Baptist Historical Collection, South Carolina Poetry Archives, Special Collections for Music, and Book Collections (Baptist, Furman, and Special Collections).
Exhibits explore the development of life and culture in the upstate of South Carolina from pre-columbian Native American cultures through the growth and industrialization at the dawn of the twentieth century.
Oconee Heritage Center
Located in Walhalla, South Carolina, the Oconee Heritage Center (OHC) brings history back to life through museum exhibits, educational programs, festivals and much more. The OHC is housed in the historic Tobacco Warehouse (1892) and first opened in 2004.
Pickens County Museum of Art and History
The collection interprets the history of Pickens County and the Carolina Upcountry through art, antiquities and artifacts. Here you can learn, among other things, that Pickens County was once home to the lower towns of the Cherokee and that the name "Pickens" comes from General Andrew Pickens, a Revolutionary War hero.
South Carolina Department of Archives and History
An independent state agency, caretaker to 325 years of government records and historic documents. Our mission is to preserve and promote the documentary and cultural heritage of the Palmetto State through archival care and preservation, records management, public access, preservation of historic sites, and education.
Upcountry History Museum
Interactive exhibits showcase the diverse history of the Upcountry and include touch screen displays, oral histories, multimedia presentations and replicated buildings.