Thrift Library: BUS 401 & 560: International Business: Home

OneSearch

NEW

Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays. Scholarly journals & business news. Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies. (Gale)
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
3,500 Full-text journals in accounting, finance, banking, marketing, management and much more. In addition to accessing essential full-text journals, business students can delve into case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, as well as interviews with executives and analysts. (Ebsco)
Hospitality and Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. (Ebsco)
This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.

Part 1: Country profile:

General country profile (brief history, religion, politics, economy and geography) https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/resources/the-world-factbook/index.html
http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/ (info on crime, quality of life...)
Hofstede country profile http://geert-hofstede.com/countries.html
Business dos & don’ts in your country
Areas of cultural conflict with USA business culture

Part 2: Marketing research:

Marketing research information / Industry metrics (if you are looking to take ChickFilA to India you would want to look at the fast food or restaurant industry in India. You want to see growth trends over the past years and market share) The online library is a good resource to find things, especially MERGENT ONLINE http://www.mergentonline.com.acproxy.ac.edu/basicsearch.php
4 P’s of Marketing for your product (Price, Promotion, Place & Product)
Assessment of competition

Part 3: Operations

Definition of production or service. Explain what the product and service is and how you will set up the business. How will you get your products…
HR profile for top, middle and line management… Who will you hire (what nationality)? Why?

Part 4: Entry strategy

Entry strategy you will adopt. Why?
Assessment of macro risks. What are the economic, political and religious risks.
Do you suggest making the investment into that country or not?

Jeffrey Moore

Email Me

Contact:

(864) 322-3088