Profile: Kenzie Barnett: Home

Education

• Master of Library and Information Science, University of South Carolina, 2023
• Bachelor of Art: History (minor in English), Anderson University, 2020

Experience

• I found my calling for libraries having worked as a student worker during my undergraduate, and felt pulled towards archives and special collections due to my longstanding interest in history. The library is always changing and growing, and I am excited to do so along with it, especially as I work on setting up the archives and special collection for the community. 

• I was hired to work as a full-time employee at Thrift Library in 2021, where I initially began as the Library Technician. I was promoted to Research and Instruction Archivist in 2023 after gaining my master's degree. (Fun fact: I also served as a student worker at Thrift Library from 2017-2020.) 
• One of my favorite things about working at Thrift Library is it's basis of knowledge and acquisition of it. I am constantly able to learn new things and have new experiences, as well as helping others do the same! I really enjoy getting to learn new things and understand the world a little better. Not only that, but I also get to play a role to help others in a similar position while sharing what I know. The library is a place for communal knowledge after all. People get excited about learning and sharing which seems to be a key element at the library which I am honored to get to be a part of in helping. 
• I enjoy reading, going to museums, and writing. In my free time, I either like to curl up with a good book or go on an adventure with close friends or family. Professionally, I really enjoy getting to interact with the objects in the collection as well as learning new stories to make history come alive! It is wonderful to hear people's memories and researching the past to learn more. It is always great to watch people find new "treasures" from the archive and get excited about learning. 
• I am currently between churches but am happy to take recommendations. Where God leads, I will go! 
• I can be found on Linkedin and do occasionally make appearances in articles about AU as I work with others to promote the archives and special collection. 

Professional Organizations

Institutional Representative for Society of American Archivist (SAA)

Member of Association of Christian Librarians (ACL)

List how you can help students, faculty and staff. Suggestions:

►Locate existing or new subject-specific resources to add to support your course curriculum

►Help you navigate our subject-specific databases

►Locate permalinks for you to post in Canvas

►Promote usage of the archives and special collections

►Give tours of the archival area and special collection rooms

►Promote engagement with archival work

►Investigate copyright restrictions

►Design research guides for specific assignments

►Give a presentation to your classes

►Help with their research projects