Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Singing in French : a Manual of French Diction and French Vocal Repertoire by
Call Number: MT883 .G88 1979
Publication Date: 1979-04-01
List of Musical Examples. Foreword by Pierre Bernac. Preface. 1. An Introduction to Singing in French. 2. Singing the Sounds of the French Language. 3. Liaison. 4. How to Phoneticize and Prepare the Text of a Song or Aria. 5. The Application of Diction Techniques to Other Aspects of Singing. 6. A Catalogue of French Vocal Repertoire. Appendix. Index of Vowel-letters, Single and in Combination. Index of Consonant-letters, Single and in Combination. Pronunciation of Proper Nouns Occurring in the Repertoire. Bibliography. Answer Key. Recording Illustrations (Flex-Record).
Francophone Music Criticism
This website provides a portal to two collections of resources for researchers interested in music criticism and in the more general musical culture of the nineteenth century in France. 1) repository of digitized, searchable reviews relating to French music and ballet in the nineteenth century. Texts are grouped into collections devoted to particular works, events, series, performers or authors, resulting in a significant corpus of texts never before available on open access. 2) bibliographical resources, work in progress and information of a more general nature, contributed by members of the Network and mounted in the hope that users will contribute updates.
List of Radio Stations in France
A list of dozens of French radio stations playing everything from top-40 to talk radio.
French Canadian programming from the CBC.
Beur FM is a French local radio station catering mainly to France's Maghrebi communities including Algerians, Moroccans and Tunisians. Beur FM broadcasts in three languages: French and Arabic, including Arab Maghrebi dialects and Berber languages.
RTS: Radio télévision suisse
The Radio télévision suisse is a Swiss public broadcasting organization. Several channels available, including news, music, and podcasts.
Sound Recordings from Gallica
All types of sound recordings from singing to lectures to everyday sounds.
Fine Arts from the Francophone World
French Primitivism and the Ends of Empire, 1945-1975 by
Call Number: N6848.5.P7 S54 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
For over a century, the idea of primitivism has motivated artistic modernism. Focusing on the three decades after World War II, known in France as "les trentes glorieuses" despite the loss of most of the country's colonial empire, this probing and expansive book argues that primitivism played a key role in a French society marked by both economic growth and political turmoil. In a series of chapters that consider significant aspects of French culture--including the creation of new museums of French folklore and of African and Oceanic arts and the development of tourism against the backdrop of nuclear testing in French Polynesia--Daniel J. Sherman shows how primitivism, a collective fantasy born of the colonial encounter, proved adaptable to a postcolonial, inward-looking age of mass consumption. Following the likes of Claude Lévi-Strauss, Andrée Putman, and Jean Dubuffet through decorating magazines, museum galleries, and Tahiti's pristine lagoons, this interdisciplinary study provides a new perspective on primitivism as a cultural phenomenon and offers fresh insights into the eccentric edges of contemporary French history.
Nineteenth Century French Art by
Call Number: N6847 .N55 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-09
Almost twenty years after the creation of the Musee d’Orsay, the 19th century seems more than ever to be the “Golden Age” of French art. It boasts names such as Ingres and Delacroix, Manet and Puvis de Chavannes, Gustave Eiffel and Charles Garnier. French art became a universally accepted benchmark, spreading the discoveries of Impressionism, the Haussmann models, and the daring of art nouveau far beyond its borders, and receiving in return, in the form of the countless artists who flocked to its hub, numerous influences from abroad. Other key movements associated with the19th century include Romanticism; Neo-Classicism, “orientalism,” and japonisme; Realism; the Barbizon School and plein-air painting; Neo-Impression, Cloissonism, and the Nabis; and Symbolism.This complete, chronological history is illustrated by more than 400 illustrations and covers painting, sculpture, and architecture, as well as the advent of photography, its impact on painting, and its emergence as an art form of its own.
World of Art French Painting in the Golden Age by
Call Number: ND546 .A59 2003
Publication Date: 2003-11-17
The seventeenth century has always been considered the golden agethe grand siecleof French culture. The reigns of Louis XIII and Louis XIV witnessed an unprecedented flowering of literature and philosophy, of music, architecture, sculpture, and painting. Some of the greatest names in the history of art belong to this period: Nicolas Poussin and Claude Lorraine, as well as Georges de La Tour, the Le Nain brothers, and Charles Le Brun. Yet the subject matter and formal conventions most prized at the time make it difficult for the modern viewer to appreciate their aims, to differentiate them, and to judge success or failure. Thanks to new, sympathetic research, it is now possible to set the major figures within the framework of the concerns and theoretical debates of the seventeenth century itself. Christopher Allen brilliantly enables us to see beyond mere form to the meanings that the artists intended us to enjoy. 180 illustrations, 80 in color.
Joyeux Noël Merry Christmas by
Call Number: PN1997.2.J69 J69 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Based on a true event that occurred on the Western Front during World War I, German, French, and Scottish soldiers call an unauthorized truce on Christmas Eve, meeting each other in No Man's Land to peacefully celebrate.
La Bataille d'Alger - The Battle of Algiers by
Call Number: DVDs PN1997 .B347 2004
Publication Date: 1966
Dramatizes the harrowing events of 1957, a key year in Algeria's struggle for independence from France. Recreates the tumultuous Algerian uprising against the occupying French in the 1950s. As violence escalates on both sides, the French torture prisoners for information and the Algerians resort to terrorism in their quest for independence. Children shoot soldiers at point-blank range, women plant bombs in cafés. The French win the battle, but ultimately lose the war as the Algerian people demonstrate that they will no longer be suppressed.
disc. 1. The battle of Algiers (121 min.) -- disc. 2. Pontecorvo and the film -- disc. 3. The film and history.
Call Number: DVDs PQ1842 .M65 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Molière is a down-and-out actor and playwright who is up to his ears in debt. The wealthy Jourdain offers to cover that debt so that Molière's theatrical talents might help Jourdain win the heart of a certain widowed marquise.
Ousmane Sembene: Everything at Once by
In this rare interview shot on 16mm film in 1992 and edited in 2011 with super-8 archives, master Senegalese author and filmmaker Ousmane Sembene spoke with French filmmaker Christine Delorme about his film Guelwaar, a comedy based on a true story concerning the conflict between the Muslim and Christian communities in Senegal. Often considered the father of African film, Sembene's candid reflections on religion, culture, literacy, the role of women, and the future of Africa shed light on topics as critical today as they were in 1992.
Ousmane Sembène by
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2010-05-06
Samba Gadjigo presents a unique personal portrait and intellectual history of novelist and filmmaker Ousmane Sembène. Though Sembène has persistently deflected attention away from his personality, his life, and his past, Gadjigo has had unprecedented access to the artist and his family. This book is the first comprehensive biography of Sembène and contributes a critical appraisal of his life and art in the context of the political and social influences on his work. Beginning with Sembène's life in Casamance, Senegal, and ending with his militant career as a dockworker in Marseilles, Gadjigo places Sembène into the context of African colonial and postcolonial culture and charts his achievements in film and literature. This landmark book reveals the inner workings of one of Africa's most distinguished and controversial figures.
Call Number: DVDs PQ2617.O6 R5 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Originally an absurdist play by Eugene Ionesco, Rhinoceros tells the story of a French town plagued by rhinoceroses. These are not ordinary rhinoceroses, but people who have been victims of "rhinoceritis." Or is it something else entirely? But, why are they turning into rhinoceroses and what is Ionesco trying to tell us about society?
The Institut Lumière is a French organization, based in Lyon, for the promotion and preservation of aspects of French film making. The Institut Lumière is a museum that honors the contribution to filmmaking by Auguste and Louis Lumière - inventors of the cinématographe and fathers of the cinema.
Les premières vidéos présentées dans Gallica, produites entre 1954 et 2004, illustrent toutes les disciplines de l’enseignement scolaire : la littérature et la philosophie, l’histoire et la géographie, ainsi que l’enseignement des arts et l’économie.