Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ebooks

Issues / Problems

Your access to eBooks will differ depending on eBook type, vendor, the pathway by which you access the eBooks, the internet search engine you use, and your equipment.

eBook Type – Some eBooks are self contained titles (usually in a PDF ore EPUB format). Others exist as searchable chapters or short articles within a database, and are not intended to be read from cover to cover. Indeed, their content may be completely intermingled with the content of other eBooks, or even non-eBooks - including articles from periodicals, audio and video recordings, images, and web pages.

Platform Issues – Some platforms allow checkout (or downloading) and some do not. Many allow downloading, but with restrictions. Viewing, searching, copying, note taking, downloading, etc., are all determined by the platform and can vary significantly.

Internet search engines – Each give a slightly different experience:

Equipment – Obviously, viewing an eBook on a wide-screen monitor is a profoundly different experience than on a mobile phone. Tablets try to strike a perfect medium, but still have issues. Apples and PCs operate differently, and sometimes don’t play well with resources that have been optimized for a different operating system.

  • Some iPads cannot open downloaded eBooks stored in a PDF format such as those found in eBooks on EBSCOhost. There is a “work around” available through some second party apps. Here is one possible fix.

If you encounter an eBook issue please contact the library for help. 

How Do You Know How Many Users Are Allowed

If there are too many people using an eBook at one time, it will tell you. The only solution is to try back later.

The number of simultaneous users allowed varies from one eBook to another and may be 1 user, 3 users, or unlimited users. There is even a category called Concurrent Users which allows a specific number of uses per year - such as 365.

How do you find out?

Open the record of the eBook by clicking on its title and examine the descriptive information below the title.

EBSCOhost

 

ProQuest Ebook Central

To Download or not to Download, That Is the Question

It is better NOT to download an entire eBook because

  1. In MOST cases, downloading is NOT downloading! Downloading is BORROWING! This deprives everyone else from reading the book until the expiration of the borrowing period - often two weeks.
  2. Downloading is complicated and varies from one eBook database to another. We have more than forty.

In most cases you must first:

  • Install Adobe Digital Editions on your computer.
  • Purchase and Install Blue Fire Reader to your tablet or smart phone
  • Create an account in the eBook database.
  • And more...
  • Steps of procedure will vary from database to database - and we have more than forty

 

What About Downloading Chapters?

Some databases allow chapter downloading or downloading a limited number of pages without special software. Usually you can keep these downloads. If so, just follow the online instructions.

 

How Do I Know If I Am Downloading (Borrowing) vs. Normal Downloading?

Downloading to keep is easy. Downloading to borrow is hard. If the database wants you to log in first, it's probably borrowing.

Detailed Instructions

Most other eBook databases allow you to download entire titles, chapters, or articles as PDF. ‚Äč

You MAY first have to create a personal account and log in.

No app required.

Finding the Hyperlink in ProQuest

  1. Open the record by clicking on the title.
  2. Scroll down to Share Link to Book. 
  3. Click on it to view the eBook or right click to copy link.

                     


Finding the Hyperlink in OneSearch or EBooks in EBSCOHost