Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Digital Libraries?
Digital libraries can host a variety of material, from sound recordings to scans of handwritten notes from the margins of books. Through the power of the internet, digital libraries enable researchers from anywhere in the world to access information.
Digital Libraries - General Collections
Digital Public Library of America
Many universities, public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations have digitized materials, but these digital collections often exist in silos. The DPLA brings these different viewpoints, experiences, and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage.
The European Library
Collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries. Users can cross-search and reuse over 19,167,066 digital items and 120,569,830 bibliographic records.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
The Internet Archive, a non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress has made digitized versions of collection materials available online since 1994, concentrating on its most rare collections and those unavailable anywhere else.
List of State Digital Libraries
A compilation of state and regional digital projects and collaborations created by the Library of Congress
New York Public Library Digital Collections
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Their flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. They are applying what they have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond.
South Carolina Digital Library
The South Carolina Digital Library provides free access to historic materials, such as photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, objects, etc. illustrating the history and culture of South Carolina from over 40 cultural heritage institutions across the state. Over 200,000 items have been added so far.
This free, online repository of 700-plus professional development videos aimed at teachers or credential students in pre-K-12 is created and maintained by the same nonprofit organization that produces the Teaching Channel Presents, a weekly one-hour program that appears on PBS.