Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Building An Annotated Bibliography: Annotated Bibliography

Header

Annotated Bibliography Header Golden color

What are they

A bibliography is a list of materials (books, articles, web sites etc.) on a particular topic, organized alphabetically, that are referred to in a scholarly work (like your paper).   The standard bibliography includes the citation information of the materials: author(s), date of publication, title, and publisher’s information, as well as other information depending on the type of source.  Each citation style (MLA, APA, etc..) determines what information is included and in what format it should  be written.An annotated bibliography takes a bibliography or citation list and adds a paragraph or more that describes, summarizes and evaluates each work.  It is designed to give an account of the research that has been done on a given topic. Remember, the purpose is to not write an abstract, which purely summarizes the materials, but to annotate by offering both descriptive and critical analysis of the source.  It should expose the author's point of view, clarity and appropriateness of expression, and authority.  There are 4 general types of Annotated Bibliographies: Descriptive, Evaluative, Informative, and Combination.

4 types of annotated Bibliographies Info-Graphic: screen readers see transcripts box

What an Annotate Bib Should Include

Annotated Bibliographies should include Info-Graphic for screen readers see transcripts box

Web Help & Tutorials

General Citation Styles

Liaison to English Department

Fred Guyette's picture
Fred Guyette
Contact:
Thrift Library
Anderson University
316 Boulevard
Anderson, SC 29621
864-231-2050

Elements in an Annotated Bibliography

see box below for transcripts

Credits: Credits: Many Thanks to Spartanburg Community College and USC Upsate for permission to reuse information from their LibGuides!