Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Library Newsletter

Christmas Reading

Want something to read over Christmas?

Or watch on DVD?

Or listen to on CD? 

We will extend the checkout period till classes begin in January.

Ask-a-Librarian - Contact the library via phone, text, email, chat, Don't forget FAQs.

Got Questions?  Ask-a-Librarian.

Tuesday, November 24, 2020 10 am - 4 pm
Wednesday, November 25, 2020 Closed
Thursday, November 26, 2020 Closed
Friday, November 27, 2020 Closed
Saturday, November 28, 2020 Closed
Sunday, November 29, 2020 3:00 - 8:00
Monday, November 30, 2020 10:00 - 8:00
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 10:00 - 8:00
Wednesday, December 2, 2020 10:00 - 8:00
Thursday, December 3, 2020 10:00 - 8:00
Friday, December 4, 2020 10:00 - 4:00
Dec. 5 - Jan. 18 Closed
Start normal schedule Jan 19

              Image provided by Britannica ImageQuest.

Going home? Want to keep your library books over the break?. That's fine with us.

Not only does the library want you to retain all the books you currently have out that you need, it wants you to check out more.

  • Want to get started on spring semester early? Check out some books.
  • Want to catch up on some recreational fiction? Check out some books.
  • Want to explore a topic you’ve never had time for? Check out some books.

If you get a renewal notice, you can either renew online or simply ignore it. No fine will be levied.

Here is how you can renew online.

Don't want to carry books home and back. Don't forget ebooks. We have over a half million.

International Education Week, Nov. 16-20

Check out our book display next to the library's fireplace.

Online Magazines in the Thrift Library Collection

    undefined   undefined undefined undefined undefined undefined undefined undefined undefined undefined undefined undefined  undefined undefined undefined undefined undefined undefined undefinedundefined undefined undefined undefined undefined  undefined

That troll

 

                                                                                                                                                                                      Internet Troll Icon by Wikipedia.

Study Rooms Get Expanded Seating

Due to social distancing (the six foot rule) all study room seating was reduced to two per room this summer. This was done in part because study rooms are equipped with a single table and there was no way to place more than two people six feet apart on the same table.

Then we got clever. What if we had more tables? So we put out an appeal and the Physical Plant found three more tables.

Now Study Rooms 101, 103, and 106 have two tables and four chairs, and everyone still gets to sit six feet apart.

How can you stay safe in a study room?

  • Stay six feet apart.
  • Wipe down the tables after use.
  • Limit use to two hours – or less.
  • Keep the door open to encourage good ventilation.
  • Take a break half way through your session.
  • Wash hands after use.
  • Never exceed the occupation limit.

Former Missionary Donates to Special Collection – Come See Our Display

 

The Thrift Library was recently gifted a collection of memorabila by former missionary, Rev. John Dill of the Southern Baptist Convention, currently working here in Anderson with the Saluda  Baptist Association as Director of Missions.

Rev. Dill donated items from his years in the Philippines and travels in Zambia.

Come by and see them.

Changes in PASCAL Delivers

PASCAL Delivers has been integrated into OneSearch. If you find a bibliographic record for a physical book held by another college library in SC, click "sign in" and enter your AU email address and password. Those credentials will allow you to request the physical book to be sent to AU within 5 to 7 days.

Impacts on Services due to COVID-19: 

  • Due to campus restrictions at most institutions, Pick-up Anywhere and Visiting Patron services will not be available for the fall 2020 or spring 2021 semester.
  • To reduce the spread of COVID-19 and protect users, some delivery and processing procedures have changed. PASCAL libraries are making every effort to fulfill the community’s needs during this time; however, items will take longer to arrive and, in some cases, may be inaccessible. Please allow 5-7 business days for delivery to your home library. Thank you for your patience!

Thrift Library App - Updated and Improved - Search library resources, reserve study rooms, check our hours and calendar, contact the library and view maps.

Free Textbooks - Fall 2020

undefined

The library has acquired 139 eTextbooks for the Fall Semester, the largest number ever. Want to save our student's $173,000? Post the provided links in Canvas and let your students know they have free textbooks at their disposal.

Library Home Page gets a makeover

undefinedTaking advantage of the New OneSearch and its integration of multiple library functions, the library has simplified its Home Page.

Gone are:

  • Find a Journal - Replaced by Journal Search
  • Multiple Research links - Combined into a single Research Assistance jump page
  • Library Catalog - Integrated into the NEW OneSearch
  • eBook databases - Integrated into the NEW OneSearch

OneSearch has been greatly expanded and improved

Find books, eBooks, articles, media, databases, journals, research guides, and more. 

  • It's more than a Library Catalog. 
  • More than a search engine.
  • More than Find A Journal.
  • its everything combined onto one platform.

COVID-19 Library Policies - Fall 2020 - Touchless Checkout, Digital Reserves, Ask-A-Librarian, Online Library Instruction – things are going to look a little different this fall.

Social distancing

  • Lounge seating will be spread out.
  • Most tables will limited to 2 users.
  • 1 passenger on elevator.

Study Rooms 

  • Maximum of two users.
  • Maximum of two hours.
  • Mandatory 10 minutes between reservations.
  • Masks required in an enclosed space.

No coffee (unless someone invents a way to drink it through their mask.)

Three day quarantine - All library materials will be quarantined for three days upon return. Student workers shelve them using gloves.

Open Stacks - Users will be able to browse the stacks and select materials.

Touchless Checkout - The library's two check out stations at the Front Desk will have sneeze shields installed with bar code readers placed facing the front. Patrons hold their AU IDs under the reader, then scan the barcodes on their books. Reciepts are emailed. 

Digital Course Reserves - Faculty are asked to switch from physical reserves to digital reserves. To successfully accomplish this, please contact your library liaison ASAP so that we can identify, purchase, and provide links for use in Canvas.

Public Computers

  • Computers have been spread out across the library. We actually have more. 
  • Please wipe keyboard and mouse before use with disinfectant wipes.

Ask-A-Librarian - This service tripled in 2019-20.. We will continue to promote its use 7 days a week as the preferred method of assistance.

Online Library Instruction - Although we can visit your class, we would prefer to do it online via zoom, LibGuides, canned videos, etc.

Mail Out - Students and faculty located more than 30 minutes from campus may request mail out of library materials. The library pays for outgoing mail. The user pays to return materials. Contact the library via phone or email.

Scan and Deliver - Another option is to request chapter scanning of books. Note: Copyright laws forbid scanning entire books, but one chapter per book is ok.

Covid - Personal Advice During the Coronavirus

"Blessed by be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God." II Corinthians 1:3-4.

Online Resoures - How can the Thrift Library help you online? Watch our introductory video.

A rescue boat with many oarsmen is out on a stormy sea to help a ship in distress. [Photograph]. Retrieved from Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest.
https://quest.eb.com/search/125_1224344/1/125_1224344/cite

Need a Textbook?

During the short time before online classes began the Thrift Library searched for every textbook for every class and tried to obtain an eBook for unlimited users. 

FYI - We had already done that before the beginning of Spring semester and shared urls with faculty to load into Canvas - about one in ten titles. Unsurprisingly the second search was not very successful. We only found two additional titles, which we then shared with faculty to add to Canvas.

Bottom line - If a textbook is available for purchase for unlimited online users, we have bought it and made it available through the Library Catalog. Your instructor should have also posted the link in Canvas.

If you want to double check you can search the Library Catalog or the list in the box below.

eTextbooks Spring 2020

eTextbooks Spring 2020

        

 

 

Titles are in alphabetical order. Remember to look for your title under A, An, and The

Impact

Impact

undefined

Cost saved = (Cost of one physical textbook) X (Number of classes using that title) X (average class size (20))

Fall 2020 marks the largest percentage of textbooks ever supplied by the library - about  14%.
*The number of pre-owned titles varies by semester and can greatly lower the library's cost.
**The library was unable to obtain a list of textbooks in time to make purchases for the summer of 2020.

Exam Hours - What did we learn from the great experiment of Spring 2019? What did we learn from Fall 2019?

Its Here! The New York Times. On your phone and iPad its an App. On your computer it's a webpage.

 Subscribe to the New York Times, on your computer, iPad, and smartphone.

Just download the app, push the button, and voila, the New York Times, when and where you want it. 

  •  Content all the way back to volume 1.
  • Alerts. - Doing a paper on Brexit? Set up an alert. Just interested in the new Star Wars movie? Set up an alert. 
  • A supporting website for classroom teachers and students.

Watch Our New 4 min. Online Resources Video

How do you find the Thrift Library's

200+ databases

Half million eBooks, 

50,000 online journals,

263,000 streaming videos

2 million streaming audios?

Start with our new introductory video created by AU student - Bates Whitaker.

 

What do you mean it's all FREE? Are you kidding me?

Image Credit -   United States: c. 1956..A woman expresses shock and surprise at what her friend has just said.. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016. https://quest.eb.com/search/183_367389/1/183_367389/cite. Accessed 2 Nov 2019.

Thrift LIbrary App - It's Free

One Button - Record your speeches and presentations with the push of a button

Thrift Library Equipment - We keep buying more

 
 Charging cables and adapters for iPads, Smart Phones (Apple and Android), Apple pencils, etc.

Thrift Library Video

New Mac Print stations at Thrift Library

Printing: Color = 25 cents a print   B&W = 5 cents a print

Scanning to your AU email = FREE!

Copying = same as printing cost

 

 

Printing on Main Floor of the Library

 

Printing on second floor of library! Near the stairs as well as in Bunton.

Follow Thrifty the Library Squirrel @thriftlib on the Insta!

Microphones, cameras, stands, cables, devices - The library has what you need to create media

                  

Upgraded Database - Business Source Ultimate

  3,507 active full-text journals and magazines

  2,112 active full-text peer-reviewed journals

  20% Bigger than its predecessor Business Source Complete. 

  Includes many EconLit Full Text Titles

ProQuest Ebook Central is bigger and better!

BEP - Business Expert Press - 50 eBooks

HEB eBooks on Fulcrum

NEW - 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, available online and in print

New Database - Tumble Book Library - Animated Children's Books