Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Add to History References
Anabaptitst - BX4929-BX4946
Calvanism - BX9401-BX9595
Church - BV590-BV640
Church history - BR
- Primitive and early church, ca. 30-600
- - Sources
- 2nd century
- 3rd century
- 4th century - BR305-BR217
- 5th century - BR219-BR225
- 6th century
- 7th century -
- Middle ages, 600-1500
- 8th century - BR238-BR242
- 9th century
- 10th century
- 11th century
- 12th century
- 13th century
- 14th century
- 15th century
- Modern period, 1500 - BR290-BR481
- 16th century
- 17th century - BR440
- 18th century - BR470
- 19th century - BR477
- 20th century - BR479-BR481
- 21st century
- Chronology - CD81
- Historiography - BR138
also BX938 (Catholic Church)
- Philosophy - BR138
Church orders, Ancient
Reformation - BR300-BR420 (Christianity)
This page begins with a few general history sources, then divides Christian/Church History into the following time periods: Primitive and Early Church, Medieval Period, Reformation & Post-Reformation, and Modern/Contemporary
History - General
Church History in Plain Language by With more than 275,000 copies sold, this is the story of the Church for today's readers. The third edition of Shelley's classic one-volume history of the church brings the story of Christianity into the twenty-first century. This latest edition of the book takes a close look at the rapid growth of evangelical and Pentecostal Christianity in the southern hemisphere, addresses the decline in traditional mainline denominations, examines the influence of technology on the spread of the gospel, and discusses how Christianity intersects with other religions in countries all over the world. The concise book provides an easy-to-read guide to church history with intellectual substance. The new edition of Church History in Plain Language promises to be the new standard for readable Church History. Features include: Includes contemporary developments related to the spread of the gospel Discusses how technology has an impact on how the church worships and grows Covers the explosion of Christianity in the Southern hemisphere
Call Number: BR150 .S52 2008
Dictionary of the Christian Church by An essential resource for students of church history First published in 1997 as The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition this unique, one-volume reference work has put information on all aspects of the Christian church at generations of reader s fingertips. Its extensive cross-referenced A Z entries offer unmatched coverage of a wide-ranging spectrum of topics. A roster of acknowledged experts in their fields penned the Dictionary of the Christian Church s entries. These authors, representing Christian traditions from around the world, offer informed, even-handed treatment of the many subjects addressed in the DCC. Whether one is seeking information on the Bible, religious orders, theologians or philosophers, archaeology or spirituality, the Dictionary of the Christian Church is the resource to consult. No library should be without this affordable edition of an authoritative work. Ideal for clergy, seminarians, students, and anyone interested in topics pertaining to the church Thousands of entries are cross-referenced to ease data retrieval Scholarly yet accessible Priced right for home and church libraries "
Call Number: BR95 .O8 2007
Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience by With a range of topics as diverse as Native American religions and religion and film, this set traces the effects of particular religions on American history and the influence of American culture on the growth of religions and religious movements.
Call Number: BL2525 .E53 1988
Encyclopedia of the Early Church by The Encyclopedia of the Early Church is a two-volume reference work providing concise and precise information on all topics concerning the first eight centuries of Christianity. Valuable to historians, archaeologists, philosophers, and philologists as well as theologians, this work extends the knowledge of how Christianity evolved to become the most important influence in the history of Western civilization. Tracing the growth of the church from its tiny beginnings in an upper room to its dominance of Europe, western Asia, and northern Africa in the eighth century, scholars from many disciplines produced articles ranging from a few sentences to ten thousand words on all the major and most of the minor people, works, ideas, and issues of the formative period of Christianity. The first major encyclopedia to cover the life, thought, and growth of Christianity, this work offers full treatment of doctrines, creeds, and heresies, of iconography and art history, of archaeology and geography, and of monasticism and asceticism.
Call Number: BR66.5 .D5813 1992
The Oxford Illustrated History of Christianity by This richly illustrated book tells the story of Christianity from its origins to the present day. Written by a team of scholars, all authorities in their fields, it spans 2000 years of colourful incident to give a uniquely authoritative history of Christianity for the general reader.Every aspect of the faith is explored. The introduction discusses Christian interpretations of the historical process, and the links and tensions between religious and artistic inspiration. The first section runs from the earliest Christian communities to 1800, and includes chapters on EasternChristendom, Christianity and Islam, the Reformation, the Enlightenment, and the expansion of Christianity. The second section is divided by geographical area, and covers the period 1800 to the present day. There are special studies of Britain and Europe, North and South America, Africa, India andthe Far East, and the Orthodox Churches of Eastern Europe. The final section, `Christianity Today and Tomorrow' considers questions of Christian theology, conscience, and belief, and explores new images of the Christian community, ending with a glimpse of the future of the faith. Throughout, thebook reflects the changing world in which Christians have found themselves, and gives full weight to events and movements where the Christian response has been challenged and re-evaluated.There are over 350 illustrations, including 32 full colour plates, all specifically chosen to complement the broad-ranging text. The book also contains ten maps, a chronology, annotated guides to further reading, and a full index.Authoritative, comprehensive, and highly readable, this book captures the richness and vitality of Christian art and thought in a wide variety of cultures and times.
Call Number: BR145.2 .O86 1990
Turning Points by Evangelicalism\u2019s premier historian provides a general introduction to church history.
Call Number: BR145.2 .N65 2000
Primitive and early church, ca. 30-600
The Ante-Nicene Fathers by The Ante-Nicene Fathers ranges from the Apostolic Fathers to various third and fourth century sources including the liturgies and ancient Syriac documents. It was intended to comprise translations into English of all the extant works of the Fathers (with the exception of the more bulky works of Origen) down to the date of the first General Council held at Nicaea in 325 A.D. This American edition by Arthur Cleveland Coxe is a revision of the original series edited by Alexander Roberts and Sir James Donaldson and published in Edinburgh. The revision involves a major rearrangement to conform to the historical sequence, the addition of brief introductions and notes indicating variances in readings, specifying references to scripture or literature, clarifying obscure passages, and noting corruptions or distortions of patristic testimony (as forged in the Decretals). The basic aim of the translations has been to strive for literary exactness, placing the English reader as nearly as possible on an equal footing with those who are able to read the original.Volume Titles: Volume 1: Apostolic Fathers, Justin Martyr, InrenaeusVolume 2: Hermas, Tatian, Athenagoras, Theophilus, Clement of AlexandriaVolume 3: TertullianVolume 4: Tertullian (IV), Minucius Felix, Commodian, OrigenVolume 5: Hippolytus, Cyprian, Caius, Novatian, AppendixVolume 6: Gregory Thaumaturgus, Dionysius the Great, Julius Africanus, Anatolius and Minor Writers, Methodius, ArnobiusVolume 7: Lactantius, Venantius, Asterius, Victorinus, Dionysius, Apostolic Teaching and Constitutions, Homily, and LiturgiesVolume 8: Twelve Patriarchs, Excerpts and Epistles, The Clementina, Aprocryphal Gospels andActs, Syriac DocumentsVolume 9: Gospel of Peter, Diatessaron, Testament of Abraham, Epistles of Clement, Origen and Miscellaneous WorksVolume 10: Bibliography, General Index, Annotated Index of Authors and Works
Call Number: BR60 .A5 1974b
Augustus to Constantine by
Call Number: BR165 .G66 1990
The Earliest Christian Artifacts by Much attention has been paid to the words of the earliest Christian canonical and extracanonical texts, yet Larry Hurtado points out that an even more telling story is being overlooked -- the story of the physical texts themselves. Widely recognized for his outstanding scholarship, Hurtado combines his comprehensive knowledge of Christian origins with an archivist's eye to make sense of these earliest objects of the faith. He introduces readers to the staurogram, possibly the first representation of the cross, the nomina sacra, a textual abbreviation system, and the puzzling Christian preference for book-like texts over scrolls. Drawing on studies by papyrologists and palaeographers as well as New Testament scholars -- and including photographic plates of selected manuscripts -- The Earliest Christian Artifacts astutely introduces the distinctive physical features of early Christian manuscripts, illustrating their relevance for wider inquiry into the complex origins of Christianity.
Call Number: BR62 .H87 2006
The Routledge Companion to Early Christian Thought by The shape and course which Christian thought has taken over its history is largely due to the contributions of individuals and communities in the second and third centuries. Bringing together a remarkable team of distinguished scholars, The Routledge Companion to Early Christian Thought is the ideal companion for those seeking to understand the way in which Early Christian thought developed within its broader cultural milieu and was communicated through its literature, especially as it was directed toward theological concerns. Divided into three parts, the Companion: asks how Christianity's development was impacted by its interaction with cultural, philosophical, and religious elements within the broader context of the second and third centuries. examines the way in which Early Christian thought was manifest in key individuals and literature in these centuries. analyses Early Christian thought as it was directed toward theological concerns such as God, Christ, Redemption, Scripture, and the community and its worship.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
The Early Church by An introduction to the history of the Christian church from its inception to approximately 600 C.E., this volume seeks to balance the traditional presentation of notable figures, councils, and controversies with the telling of the story of the ordinary Christian during this era. An important feature of this work is its attendance to the stories of ordinary lay Christians--particularly women--and what Christian faith meant within the overall context of their lives. Other emphases include the church's changing role in society during this period (and the fateful consequences those changes have had for modern Christians) and the development of early Christian spirituality.Employing a socio-institutional approach, Hinson divides his material into five major periods:(1) Beginnings to 70 C.E. (2) 70-180, during which Christianity broadcast itself throughout the Roman Empire and beyond (3) 175-313, wherein the church achieved new status and came under official scrutiny as a threat to the empire (4) 313-400, in which the church faced the major challenge of Christianizing the empire now embracing it (5) 400-600, when the Germanic "invasions" led to a rift between East and West and posed new challenges to the church's survival and growth.
Call Number: BR162.2 .H564 1996
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by 2014 Midwest Publishing Association Award of Excellence (Scholarly/Reference)2014 Readers' Choice Awards Honorable MentionThe Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity covers eight centuries of the Christian church and comprises 3,220 entries by a team of 266 scholars from 26 countries representing a variety of Christian traditions. It draws upon such fields as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, cultural studies, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.This three-volume encyclopedia offers unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the people, places and ideas of ancient Christianity, including:cultural currentsevents and movementsphilosophyiconography and architecturearchaeologytexts and translationstheological termsdoctrinesliturgyspiritualitymonasticismChristian sectsheresiescontroversiescouncilsThe encyclopedia's A-to-Z coverage extends from "Aaron (iconography)" to "Zosimus, pope" and chronologically from Christianity's origins to Bede (d. 735) in the West and John of Damascus (d. ca. 749) in the Greek East, with detailed emphasis on the first four centuries of Christian history. Its geographical range reaches across:North AfricaMauretaniaNumidiaAfrica Proconsularis ByzacenaLibyaEgyptNubiaEthiopiaAsiaAdiabeneArmeniaBithynia & PontusGeorgiaCappadociaLycia and PamphyliaPhrygiaSyriaMesopotamiaArabiaPalestinePersiaChinaEuropeGaulSpain & PortugalItalyGermanyBritain and IrelandScotlandPannoniaDalmatiaMacedoniaMoesiaThraceCyprusCreteThis edition updates and expands on previous Italian and English-language editions with the addition of more than 500 new articles (added to the current Italian or English edition), including the following 30 articles exclusive to IVP's edition:apostolic seeCapuaCarmen de synodo TicinensiChinacosmopolitanismdeathdiakonia/diaconateDialogi de sancta Trinitate IV-Vdoorkeeper (porter)dynamis/energeiaeternityforgivenessfreedom/free willgoodHierotheusincubatioinfinity/infinitudelibelli miraculorumloveMara bar Serapion (letter of)oikeiosisold agepresanctifiedSerapeion (Serapeum)subdeaconTheosebiaTriumphus Christi heroicusTychonunityVirgo ParensExtensive cross-referencing provides ease in exploring related articles, and helpful bibliographies, including primary sources (texts, critical editions, translations) and key secondary sources (books and journal articles), give access to the very latest in-depth scholarship in countless disciplines of study.IVP's new Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity (2014) is translated from Nuovo dizionario patristico e di antichita cristiane (2006-2008), produced by the Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum, the world's foremost center for partristic studies, under the direction of Professor Angelo Di Berardino, and it greatly updates and expands the 1992 Encyclopedia of the Early Church (Oxford University Press/James Clarke).
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: eBook in Taylor and Francis Online
Publication Date: 2016
A History of Christianity by Readings in the history of the early and medieval church
LIBRARY HAS: v.1 only
Call Number: BR141 .H53
Early Church Fathers, Nicene and Post Nicene 1st Series by Series I of the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers consists of eight volumes of the writings of St. Augustine, the greatest and most influential of the early Church Fathers, and six volumes of the treatises and homilies of St. Chrysostom. The series is edited by the eminent church historian Philip Schaff (1819-1893), professor at Union Theological Seminary, New York.Volume Titles: Volume 1: Augustine: Prolegomena, Confessions, Letters Volume 2: Augustine: City of God, Christian Doctrine Volume 3: Augustine: On the Holy Trinity, Doctrinal Treatises, Moral Treatises Volume 4: Augustine: Anti-Manichaean, Anti-Donatist Writings Volume 5: Augustine: Anti-Pelagian Writings Volume 6: Augustine: Sermon on the Mount, Harmony of the Gospels, Homilies on the Gospels Volume 7: Augustine: Gospel of John, First Epistle of John, Soliliques Volume 8: Augustine: Expositions on the Psalms Volume 9: Chrysostom: On the Priesthood, Ascetic Treatises, Select Homilies and Letters, Homilies on the Statues Volume 10: Chrysostom: Homilies on the Gospel of St. Matthew Volume 11: Chrysostom: Homilies of the Acts of the Apostles and the Epistle to the Romans Volume 12: Chrysostom: Homilies on Corinthians, 1st and 2nd Volume 13: Chrysostom: Homilies on Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, Thessalonians, Timothy, Titus, and Philemon Volume 14: Chrysostom: Homilies on the Gospel of John, Hebrews
Call Number: BR60 .S4 1974
Early Church Fathers, Nicene and Post-Nicene by The Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers: Second Series contains in fourteen volumes the works of the Greek Fathers from Eusebius to John of Damascus and the Latin Fathers from Hilary to Gregory the Great. Several of the writings appear for the first time in English. The first three volumes are a complete collection of the historical writings of the Fathers, whose permanent value as the primary sources is universally acknowledged. Other volumes contain the works of eminent figures in early Christian history, such as Athanasius, Jerome, and Ambrose. The series concludes with the canons and decrees of the seven ecumenical councils, as well as canons of local synod with ecumenical acceptance. The Second Series is edited by Philip Schaff, eminent church historian and professor at Union Theological Seminary, NY, and Henry Wace, Principal of Kings College, London. Volume Titles: Volume 1: Eusebius: Church History, Life of Constantine the Great, Oration in Praise of Constantine Volume 2: Socrates, Sozomenus: Church Histories Volume 3: Theodoret, Jerome, Gennadius, Rufinus: Historical Writings Volume 4: Anthanasius: Selects Works and Letters Volume 5: Gregory of Nyssa: Dogmatic Treatises, etc. Volume 6: Jerome: Letters and Select Works Volume 7: Cyril of Jerusalem, Gregory Nazianzen Volume 8: Basil: Letters and Select Works Volume 9: Hilary of Poitiers, John of Damascus Volume 10: Ambrose: Select Works and Letters Volume 11: Sulpitius Severus, Vincent of Lerins, John Cassian Volume 12: Leo the Great, Gregory the Great Volume 13: Gregory the Great, Ephraim Syrus, Aphrahat Volume 14: The Seven Ecumenical Councils
Call Number: BR60 .S4 1976
- Middle ages, ca. 600-1500
Church history -- Middle Ages, 600-1500.
The Age of Reform, 1250-1550 by "A masterful . . . intellectual and religious history of late medieval and Reformation Europe."--Christianity Today "A learned, humane, and expressive book."--Gerald Strauss, Renaissance Quarterly The seeds of the swift and sweeping religious movement that reshaped European thought in the 1500s were sown in the late Middle Ages. In this book, Steven Ozment traces the growth and dissemination of dissenting intellectual trends through three centuries to their explosive burgeoning in the Reformations--both Protestant and Catholic--of the sixteenth century. He elucidates with great clarity the complex philosophical and theological issues that inspired antagonistic schools, traditions, and movements from Aquinas to Calvin. This masterly synthesis of the intellectual and religious history of the period illuminates the impact of late medieval ideas on early modern society.
Call Number: BR270 .O9
Publication Date: 1981
Anchorites, Wombs and Tombs by Until recently, the figure of the medieval anchorite and the underlying ideological concepts that framed her day-to-day existence have escaped detailed examination, despite the anchorite?s importance to the study of medieval culture. This collection brings together leading scholars in the field of gender and anchoritic studies in order to examine anchoritic enclosure from a variety of different perspectives. In so doing, Anchorites, Wombs, and Tombs offers illuminating conclusions about how the phenomenon of anchoritism was affected by, and in turn, influenced contemporary notions of gender difference.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Christendom at the Crossroads by In Christendom at the Crossroads, the introductory book in the Westminster History of Christian Thought series, J. A. Sheppard explores the development of Christian theology in the medieval period. Expertly leading readers through the major theological controversies and issues of the era, Sheppard highlights why those particular questions were so important for Christian believers at that time. Designed particularly for undergraduate courses in theology and religion, the Westminster History of Christian Thought series offers reliable and accessible introductions to Christian thought for each major period in Christian history--the early church, the medieval era, the Reformation, the modern age, and the contemporary period--and concludes with a volume on American religious thought.
Call Number: BR162.3 .S48 2005
Publication Date: 2005-06-20
Christianity and Paganism, 350-750 by Using sermons, exorcisms, letters, biographies of the saints, inscriptions, autobiographical and legal documents--some of which are translated nowhere else--J. N. Hillgarth shows how the Christian church went about the formidable task of converting western Europe. The book covers such topics as the relationship between the Church and the Roman state, Christian attitudes toward the barbarians, and the missions to northern Europe. It documents as well the cult of relics in popular Christianity and the emergence of consciously Christian monarchies.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 1985
Dominion of God by Brett Whalen explores the compelling belief that Christendom would spread to every corner of the earth before the end of time. During the High Middle Ages - an era of crusade, mission, and European expansion - ;the Western followers of Rome imagined the future conversion of Jews, Muslims, pagans, and Eastern Christians into one fold of God's people, assembled under the authority of the Roman Church.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
East and West: the Making of a Rift in the Church by The greatest Christian split of all has been that between east and west, between Roman Catholic and eastern Orthodox, which is still apparent today. Henry Chadwick provides a compelling and balanced account of the emergence of divisions between Rome and Constantinople. Starting with the roots of the divergence in Apostolic times, he takes the story right up to the Council of Florence in the fifteenth century.
Call Number: BX303 .C43 2005
A History of Medieval Heresy and Inquisition by In this concise and balanced survey of heresy and inquisition in the Middle Ages, Jennifer Kolpacoff Deane explores the increasingly bitter encounters between piety, reform, dissent, and the institutional Church between 1100 and 1500. Although the loaded terms of "heresy" and "orthodoxy" employed by ecclesiastical officials suggest a clear division between right and wrong, that division was in fact vigorously contested by medieval people at all levels of society. Deane investigates key issues that sparked confrontations between Christians, including access to scripture, apostolic models of poverty and preaching, the Eucharist and sacramental power, and clerical corruption and wealth. She traces the means by which Church elites developed an increasingly complex set of inquisitorial procedures and resources to identify, label, and repress "heresy," examines the various regional eruptions of such confrontations across medieval Europe, and considers the judicial processes that brought many to the stake. The book ranges from the "Good Christians" of Languedoc and Lombardy and the pan-European "Poor," to Spiritual Franciscans, lay religious women, anticlerical and vernacular movements in England and Bohemia, mysticism, magical practices, and witchcraft. Throughout, Deane considers how the new inquisitorial bureaucracies not only fueled anxiety over heresy, but actually generated fictional "heresies" through their own texts and techniques. Incorporating recent research and debates in the field, her analysis brings to life a compelling issue that profoundly influenced the medieval world.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
The History of the English Church and People by
Call Number: BR746 .B5 1968b
Publication Date: 1955
A History of the Medieval Church by First published in 1969. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: eBook on ebrary
Publication Date: 1969
Thomas Aquinas's Summa Theologiae by The life and times of the most important theological work of medieval Christendom This concise book tells the story of the most important theological work of the Middle Ages, the vast Summa theologiae of Thomas Aquinas, which holds a unique place in Western religion and philosophy. Written between 1266 and 1273, the Summa was conceived by Aquinas as an instructional guide for teachers and novices and a compendium of all the approved teachings of the Catholic Church. It synthesizes an astonishing range of scholarship, covering hundreds of topics and containing more than a million and a half words--and was still unfinished at the time of Aquinas's death. Here, Bernard McGinn, one of today's most acclaimed scholars of medieval Christianity, vividly describes the world that shaped Aquinas, then turns to the Dominican friar's life and career, examining Aquinas's reasons for writing his masterpiece, its subject matter, and the novel way he organized it. McGinn gives readers a brief tour of the Summa itself, and then discusses its reception over the past seven hundred years. He looks at the influence of the Summa on such giants of medieval Christendom as Meister Eckhart, its ridicule during the Enlightenment, the rise and fall of Neothomism in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the role of the Summa in the post-Vatican II church, and the book's enduring relevance today. Tracing the remarkable life of this iconic work, McGinn's wide-ranging account provides insight into Aquinas's own understanding of the Summa as a communication of the theological wisdom that has been given to humanity in revelation.
Call Number: eBook in Credo Reference
Publication Date: 2014
Poets, Saints, and Visionaries of the Great Schism, 1378-1417 by For almost forty years, from 1378 to 1417, the Western Church was divided into rival camps headed by two--and eventually three--competing popes. The so-called Schism provoked a profound and long-lasting anxiety throughout Europe--an anxiety that reverberated throughout clerical circles and among the ordinary faithful. In Poets, Saints, and Visionaries of the Great Schism, Renate Blumenfeld-Kosinski looks beyond the political and ecclesiastical storm and finds an outpouring of artistic, literary, and visionary responses to one of the great calamities of the late Middle Ages. Modern historians have analyzed the Great Schism mostly from the perspective of church politics. Blumenfeld-Kosinski shifts our attention to several groups that have not before been considered together: saintly men and women (such as Catherine of Siena, Pedro of Aragon, Vincent Ferrer, and Constance de Rabastens), politically aware and committed poets (such as Philippe de Mézières and Christine de Pizan), and prophets (for example, the mysterious Telesphorus of Cosenza and the authors of the anonymous Prophecies of the Last Popes). Not surprisingly, these groups often saw the Schism as an apocalyptic sign of the end times. Images abounded of the divided Church as a two-headed monster or suffering widow. A twelfth-century "prelude" looks at the schism of 1159 and the role the famous visionaries Hildegard of Bingen and Elisabeth of Schönau played in this earlier crisis in order to define common threads of "mystical activism" as well as the profound differences with the later Great Schism. Poets, Saints, and Visionaries of the Great Schism will be of interest to students and scholars of medieval and early modern history, religious studies, and literature.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006
Story of Christianty by The Story of Christianity, Volume 1, is an informative, interesting, and consistently readable narrative history. It brings alive the people, dramatic events, and ideas that shaped the first fifteen centuries of Europe, such as the Spanish and Portuguese conquest of the New World. Historian Justo Gonzalez shows how various social, political, and economic movements affected Christianity's internal growth. Gonzalez skillfully weaves in relevant details from the lives of prominent figures from the apostles to John Wycliffe, tracing out core theological issues and developments as reflected in the lives and struggles of leading thinkers within the various traditions of the church. "The history of the church, while showing all the characteristics fo human history, is much more than the history of an institution or movement," Gonzalez stresses. "It is a history of the deeds of the spirit in and through the men and women who have gone before in the faith." The Story of Christianity demonstrates at each point what new challenges and opportunities faced the church, and how Christians struggled with the various options open to them, thereby shaping the future direction of the church. The Story of Christianity will serve as a fascinating introduction to the panoramic history of Christianity for students and teachers of church history, for pastors, and for general readers.
Call Number: BR142 .G66 1984 Vol.1
Women Pilgrims in Late Medieval England by This thought-provoking book explores medieval perceptions of pilgrimage, gender and space. It examines real life evidence for the widespread presence of women pilgrims, as well as secular and literary texts concerning pilgrimage and women pilgrims represented in the visual arts. Women pilgrims were inextricably linked with sexuality and their presence on the pilgrimage trails was viewed as tainting sacred space.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2000
Reformation & Post-Reformation
From Martin Luther to the Puritans
The Sermons of Martin Luther by A collection of 175 of Luther's famous sermons, covering topics like false prophets, humility, and trust.
Call Number: BR332 .S5 2000
The King's Reformation by Henry VIII’s reformation remains among the most crucial yet misunderstood events in English history. In this substantial new account G. W. Bernard presents the king as neither confused nor a pawn in the hands of manipulative factions. Henry, a monarch who ruled as well as reigned, is revealed instead as the determining mover of religious policy throughout this momentous period.In Henry’s campaign to secure a divorce from Catherine of Aragon, which led him to break with Rome, his strategy, as Bernard shows, was more consistent and more radical than historians have allowed. Henry refused to introduce Lutheranism, but rather harnessed the rhetoric of the continental reformation in support of his royal supremacy. Convinced that the church needed urgent reform, in particular the purging of superstition and idolatry, Henry’s dissolution of the monasteries and the dismantling of the shrines were much more than a venal attempt to raise money. The king sought a middle way between Rome and Zurich, between Catholicism and its associated superstitions on one hand and the subversive radicalism of the reformers on the other. With a ruthlessness that verged on tyranny, Henry VIII determined the pace of change in the most important twenty years of England’s religious development.
Call Number: DA332 .B45 2005
Mayflower by From the perilous ocean crossing to the shared bounty of the first Thanksgiving, the Pilgrim settlement of New England has become enshrined as our most sacred national myth. Yet, as bestselling author Nathaniel Philbrick reveals in his spellbinding new book, the true story of the Pilgrims is much more than the well-known tale of piety and sacrifice; it is a fifty-five-year epic that is at once tragic, heroic, exhilarating, and profound. The Mayflower's religious refugees arrived in Plymouth Harbor during a period of crisis for Native Americans as disease spread by European fishermen devastated their populations. Initially the two groups--the Wampanoags, under the charismatic and calculating chief Massasoit, and the Pilgrims, whose pugnacious military officer Miles Standish was barely five feet tall--maintained a fragile working relationship. But within decades, New England would erupt into King Philip's War, a savagely bloody conflict that nearly wiped out English colonists and natives alike and forever altered the face of the fledgling colonies and the country that would grow from them. With towering figures like William Bradford and the distinctly American hero Benjamin Church at the center of his narrative, Philbrick has fashioned a fresh and compelling portrait of the dawn of American history--a history dominated right from the start by issues of race, violence, and religion.
Call Number: F68 .P44 2006
Puritans and Puritanism in Europe and America by This exhaustive treatment of the Puritan movement covers its doctrines, its people, its effects on politics and culture, and its enduring legacy in modern Britain and America. Puritanism began in the 1530s as a reform movement within the Church of England. It endured into the 18th century. In between, it powerfully influenced the course of political events both in Britain and in the United States. Puritanism shaped the American colonies, particularly New England. It was a key ingredient in literature, from authors as diverse as John Milton and Nathaniel Hawthorne. Although Puritanism as a formal movement has been gone for more than 300 years, its influence continues on the mores and norms of America and Britain. This ambitious work contains nearly 700 entries covering people, events, ideas, and doctrines--the whole of Puritanism. Exhaustive and authoritative, it draws on the work of more than 80 leading scholars in the field. Impeccable scholarship combines with eminent readability to make this a valuable work for all readers and researchers from secondary school up. Nearly 700 entries cover the entire spectrum of Puritanism: people, places, events, doctrines, culture, and politics More than 80 leading scholars provide authoritative information in readable, accessible form Primary source documents, from essays by influential Puritan leaders to excerpts from diaries of everyday people, illuminate the concerns of Puritans in their own words Numerous illustrations include portraits of Puritan figures, photographs of historic sites, and images of historical events A glossary gives quick reference for such unfamiliar terms as antinomianism, conventicles, familist, and Socinian
Call Number: BX9323 .P85 2006
The Reformation Era by Although religious unrest had been brewing in Western Europe long before Martin Luther nailed his Ninety-Five Theses to the door of the Castle Church in Wittenberg, Germany, historians view this event as the tipping point that shattered the unity of the Medieval Catholic civilization. Disillusioned by Church bureaucracy and awakened by the rise of Renaissance Humanism, Western Europe was primed for an alternative to the old order. Protestant reformers called for a return to scripture and a focus on individual faith, and the Catholic Church responded with a new focus on spirituality that culminated in the Council of Trent. In modern spiritual revivals, religious debates, and newer Church reforms, we can still see the legacy of the era Linder calls Midwife to the Modern World. The event that Linder calls Midwife to the Modern World still resonates today, in modern spiritual revivals, religious debates, and newer Church reforms. Illuminated by primary source documents from the period, a timeline, a glossary, and biographies of key figures, this volume is an ideal reference source for any student of the past, and the present.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
The Reformation in Germany and Switzerland by The Reformation in Germany and Switzerland is a collection of documents for A-level students and undergraduates and forms part of the series, Cambridge Topics in History. It combines new interpretations which emphasise the importance of popular response, belief and practice with the traditional approach to the origins and progress of the Reformation in Germany and Switzerland. Avoiding a Luther-centred view, it gives equal attention to other important figures as well as the political dimensions of the Reformation and elements of social protest. For the first time in any collection of documents, it focuses on the longer-term success or failure of the implementation of the Reformation aand includes many original documents translated here for the first time from previously unpublished archival sources.
Call Number: DD176.A2 J64 1993
Story of Christianty by
Call Number: BR142 .G66 1984 vol. 2
Publication Date: 1985-01-15
Reformation to the Present Day
The Reformation World by This beautifully illustrated book is the most ambitious one-volume survey of the Reformation yet. A timely and much-needed account, it looks at every aspect of the Reformation world and considers new historical research which has led to the expansion of the subject both thematically and geographically. The strength of The Reformation Worldis its breadth and originality, with material drawn from many different countries, including archival material only recently made available to scholars in central Europe. Topics included are: * the Church before the Reformation * Luther and Germany * the Reformation outside Germany * Calvinism and the Second Reformation * the Reformation and society * arts and architecture * the printed book and visual media.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2002
Modern, ca. 1600 to present
From the Puritans to the present.
The A to Z of the Puritans by Members of the Church of England until the mid-16th century, the Puritans thought the Church had become too political and needed to be 'purified.' While many Puritans believed the Church was capable of reform, a large number decided that separating from the Church was their only remaining course of action. Thus the mass migration of Puritans (known as Pilgrims) to America took place. Although Puritanism died in England around 1689 and in America in 1758, Puritan beliefs, such as self-reliance, frugality, industry, and energy remain standards of the American ideal. The A to Z of Puritans tells the story of Puritanism from its origins until its eventual demise. This is done through a chronology, an introduction, a bibliography, and several hundred cross-referenced dictionary entries on important people, places, and events.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
The Early Preaching of Karl Barth by Westminster John Knox Press is proud to present this special collection of fourteen of Karl Barth's World War I-era sermons--the only English language collection of Barth's sermons preached between 1917 and 1920 when he was a parish pastor in Safenwil, Switzerland. This volume offers a fascinating glimpse into Barth's interpretation of Scripture during a time of great historical significance. Renowned preacher William H. Willimon provides expert commentary on the theological and homiletical substance of each selection and points to the many ways in which Barth's early preaching can enrich the work of preachers today.
Call Number: BX9426.B3 S4713 2009
Pressing into the Kingdom by This is a collection of sermons on "seeking salvation"--the crux of Reformed evangelism for the Reformers and Puritans. This is Edwards at his evangelistic best, urging people to use the means of grace for their salvation so that God might grant them repentance.
Call Number: BT753 .E39 1998
Reformation to the present day / Justo L. González.
Call Number: BR142 .G66 1984 vol. 2
Story of Christianity Series.
Shakers, Mormons, and Religious Worlds by Among America's more interesting new religious movements, the Shakers and the Mormons came to be thought of as separate and distinct from mainstream Protestantism. Using archives and historical materials from the 19th century, Stephen C. Taysom shows how these groups actively maintained boundaries and created their own thriving, but insular communities. Taysom discovers a core of innovation deployed by both the Shakers and the Mormons through which they embraced their status as outsiders. Their marginalization was critical to their initial success. As he skillfully negotiates the differences between Shakers and Mormons, Taysom illuminates the characteristics which set these groups apart and helped them to become true religious dissenters.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010