Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionary of Christianity in America by
Call Number: BR515 .D53 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Dictionary of the Christian Church by An essential resource for students of church history First published in 1997 as The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition this unique, one-volume reference work has put information on all aspects of the Christian church at generations of reader s fingertips. Its extensive cross-referenced A Z entries offer unmatched coverage of a wide-ranging spectrum of topics. A roster of acknowledged experts in their fields penned the Dictionary of the Christian Church s entries. These authors, representing Christian traditions from around the world, offer informed, even-handed treatment of the many subjects addressed in the DCC. Whether one is seeking information on the Bible, religious orders, theologians or philosophers, archaeology or spirituality, the Dictionary of the Christian Church is the resource to consult. No library should be without this affordable edition of an authoritative work. Ideal for clergy, seminarians, students, and anyone interested in topics pertaining to the church Thousands of entries are cross-referenced to ease data retrieval Scholarly yet accessible Priced right for home and church libraries "
Call Number: BR95 .O8 2007
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by Uniquely authoritative and wide-ranging in its scope, The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is the indispensable one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,000 cross-referenced A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of thisvast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics.In this revision, innumerable small changes have been made to take into account shifts in scholarly opinion, recent developments, such as the Church of England's new prayer book (Common Worship), RC canonizations, ecumenical advances and mergers, and, where possible, statistics. A number of existingarticles have been rewritten to reflect new evidence or understanding, for example the Holy Sepulchre entry, and there are a few new articles, on Desmond Tutu and Padre Pio, for example. Perhaps most significantly, a great number of the bibliographies have been updated.Established since its first appearance in 1957 as an essential resource for ordinands, clergy, and members of religious orders; ODCC is an invaluable tool for academics, teachers, and students of church history and theology, as well as for the general reader.THEOLOGY- the development of doctrines throughout the ages, with their philosophical background and the different traditions of the major Churches- spirituality and heresy- history of the Reformation and Counter-ReformationPATRISTIC SCHOLARSHIP: Fathers of the Church, on whose work later theology is founded, are covered in detail, for example- the Nag Hammadi papyri and their significance for our understanding of Gnosticism- the problems of Marcarius of Egypt and Macarius/Simeon are explored- the recently discovered sermons of Augustine are mentioned, with their places of publication listedCHURCHES AND DENOMINATIONS- the beliefs and structures of both the mainstream and lesser-known denominations such as Amish, Muggletonians, Shakers, and Wee Frees- lengthy articles on the history of Christianity throughout the world, in countries such as Angola, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, the Philippines, Poland, Spain, the United States, Vietnam, and ZaireTHE CHURCH CALENDAR AND ORGANIZATION- feast and saints' days- Sacraments- church services, offices, rites, and practices- canon law including Catholic revision- councils and synods- religious ordersTHE BIBLE- individual Biblical Books- major figures from Abraham, Moses, and King David to St Paul and the Evangelists- schools of Biblical criticism and entries on their chief exponentsBIOGRAPHICAL ENTRIES- these are wide ranging and include saints, popes, patriarchs, and archbishops- emperors, kings, and other rulers- mystics, heretics, and reformers- theologians and philosophers, with a summary of their opinions- artists, poets, and musicians
Call Number: BR95 .O8 2005 and as eBook
The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Theology by
Call Number: BR95 .W494 1983