Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Sermon Recordings
The Thrift Library has a large collection of recorded sermons in both Cassette and CD-ROM.
Go to OneSearch and search under "Preaching". Then limit to "Sound Recording".
Christian biography - BR1690-BR1725
Christian communities - BV4405-BV4406
Christian sects - BR157
SEE ALSO Individual sects, i.e. -
- Anglican Communion
- Baptist Church
- Catholic Church
- Church of God (Cleveland, Tenn.)
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints - See Also Mormons
- Churches of Christ
- Episcopal Church
- Fundamentalist churches
- Jehovah's Witnesses
- Lutheran Church
- Methodist Church
- Mormon Church
- Protestant Churches
- Society of Friends
Christian denominations - SEE Christian sects
Christianity - BR1-BR129
Clergy - BV659-BV683
- Appointment, call, and elections - BV664
Denominations - SEE
- Christian sects
Protestant churches - BX4800-BX9890
Protestantism - BX4800-BX4861
Protestants - BX4800-BX9890
Christian Churches of America by This is a guide to the major Christian denominations in America, and their similarities and differences.
Call Number: BR516.5 .B33 1983
The Churching of America, 1776-2005 by Although many Americans assume that religious participation has declined in America, Finke and Stark present a different picture. In 1776, fewer than 1 in 5 Americans were active in church affairs. Today, church membership includes about 6 out of 10 people. But, as Finke and Stark show, not all denominations benefited. They explain how and why the early nineteenth-century churches began their descent, while two newcomer sects, the Baptists and the Methodists, gained ground. They also analyze why the Methodists then began a long, downward slide, why the Baptists continued to succeed, how the Catholic Church met the competition of ardent Protestant missionaries, and why the Catholic commitment has declined since Vatican II. The authors also explain why ecumenical movements always fail In short, Americans are not abandoning religion; they have been moving away from established denominations. A "church-sect process" is always under way, Finke and Stark argue, as successful churches lose their organizational vigor and are replaced by less worldly groups. Some observers assert that the rise in churching rates indicates increased participation, not increased belief. Finke and Stark challenge this as well. They find that those groups that have gained the greatest numbers have demanded that their followers accept traditional doctrines and otherworldliness. They argue that religious organizations can thrive only when they comfort souls and demand sacrifice. When theology becomes too logical, or too secular, it loses people.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2005-04-30
Dictionary of Christianity in America by
Call Number: BR515 .D53 1990
Encyclopedia of Protestantism by Encyclopedia of Protestantism explores the movement that began in Europe in the 16th century, established itself in opposition to the Roman Catholic Church, spread around the world, and today lives on in thousands of individual denominations and parachurch organizations. A comprehensive encyclopedia on Protestantism, this invaluable reference covers its history, concepts, people, events, and major organizations worldwide.
Call Number: eBook on EBSCOhost
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Religion in the South by "The publication of the Encyclopedia of Religion in the South in 1984 signaled the rise in the scholarly interest in the study of religion in the South. Religion has always been part of the cultural heritage of that region, but scholarly investigation had been sporadic. Since the original publication of the ERS, however, the South has changed significantly in that Christianity is no longer the primary religion observed. Other religions like Judaism, Buddhism, and Hinduism have begun to have very important voices in Southern life. This one-volume reference, the only one of its kind, takes this expansion into consideration by updating older relevant articles and by adding new ones. After more than twenty years, the only reference book in the field of religion in the South has been totally revised and updated. Each article has been updated and the bibliography has been expanded. The ERS has also been expanded to include more than sixty new articles on religion in the South. New articles have been added on such topics as Elvis Presley, Appalachian music, Buddhism, Bill Clinton, Jerry Falwell, Fannie Lou Hamer, Zora Neale Hurston, Stonewall Jackson, popular religion, Pat Robertson, the PTL, sports and religion in the South, theme parks, and much more."--BOOK JACKET.
Call Number: BR535 .E52 1984
Handbook of Denominations in the United States, 14th Edition by The Handbook of Denominations in the United States has long been the gold standard for reference works about religious bodies in America. The purpose of this Handbook is to provide accurate and objective information about the most significant Christian traditions and denominations in the United States today. It contains descriptions of over 200 distinct Christian denominations as well as overviews of the several major Christian traditions to which they belong--based on shared historical and theological roots and commitments. The information for each denomination has been provided by the religious organizations themselves and focuses on the denominations' doctrines, statistics, and histories.The 14th edition is completely updated with current statistics, new denominations, and recent trends. The book has been made more useful and manageable by moving very small groups into broader articles while giving more detail and description to the large and influential denominations.
Call Number: BL2525 .M425 2018
Mainline Christians and U. S. Public Policy by This insightful reference work explores the relationship between mainline Christian denominations and U.S. politics and public policy, from colonial times to the present. Mainline Christian Values and U.S. Public Policy: A Reference Handbook provides a revealing and unbiased look at the emergence of Christian denominations as a political force, primarily from the late 19th century to the present. The book examines the origins, development, current organization and activities, and future prospects of nine mainline U.S. denominations: the American Baptist Churches in the U.S.A., the Catholic Church, the Christian Church, the Episcopal Church, the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, the Presbyterian Church, the Reformed Church in America, the United Church of Christ, and the United Methodist Church. Readers will encounter a surprising variety of Christian voices offering a range of positions on the Iraq War, abortion, same-sex marriage, global warming, stem-cell research, the death penalty, and other controversial issues. Includes numerous quotations and primary source documents issued by mainline denomination leaders and activists on a wide range of issues Provides a chronology of the events that shaped the present beliefs, values, and concerns of nine mainline Christian denominations from colonial times to the present
Call Number: BR515 .U88 2007 and E-Book
Profiles in Belief by v. 1. Roman Catholic, Old Catholic, Eastern Orthodox.--v. 2. Protestant denominations.--v. 3. Holiness and pentecostal.--v. 4. Evangelical, Fundamentalist, and other Christian bodies.
Call Number: BR510 P53 1977
The A to Z of the Baptists by With 110 million members worldwide, Baptists are surpassed only by Roman Catholic and Orthodox groups as the largest segment of Christians. The term 'Baptist' has its origins with the Anabaptists, the denomination historically linked to the English Separatist movement of the 16th century. Although Baptist churches are located throughout the world, the largest group of Baptists lives in the Southern United States, and the Baptist faith has historically exerted a powerful influence in that region of the country. The A to Z of the Baptists relates the history of the Baptist Church through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on important events, doctrines, and the church founders, leaders, and other prominent figures who have made notable contributions. This volume commemorates the 400th anniversary of the founding of the Baptist movement in 1609.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
The Churches of Christ by This volume tells the story of the Churches of Christ, one of three major denominations that emerged in the United States from a religious movement led by Alexander Campbell and Barton W. Stone in the early 19th century. Beginning as an effort to provide a basis on which all Christians in America could unite, the leaders of the movement relied on the faith and practice of the primitive church. Ironically, this unity movement eventually divided precisely along the lines of its original agenda, as the Churches of Christ rallied around the restorationist banner while the Disciples of Christ gathered around the ecumenical cause. Yet, having begun as a countercultural sect, the Churches of Christ emerged in the 20th century as a culture-affirming denomination. This brief history, together with biographical sketches of major leaders, provides a complete overview of the denomination in America. The book begins with a concise yet detailed history of the denomination's beginnings in the early 19th century. Tracing the influence of such leaders as Stone and Campbell, the authors chronicle the triumphs and conflicts of the denomination through the 19th century and its reemergence and renewal in the 20th century. The biographical dictionary of leaders in the Churches of Christ rounds out the second half of the book, and a chronology of important events in the history of the denomination offers a quick reference guide. A detailed bibliographic essay concludes the book and points readers to further readings about the Churches of Christ.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2001
On Being Presbyterian by A lay-friendly introduction to Presbyterian beliefs, practices, and history. Helps readers grasp what it means to be a (conservative) Presbyterian in a postmodern age.
Call Number: BX 8968.52.L83 2006
The Story of American Methodism by A comprehensive one-volume history of American Methodism, tracing the development of a new church in a new nation from its beginnings with the Wesleys in England to the changes and challenges of later twentieth-century America. Black Methodism, the contributions of women, theological trends across 200 years--all emerge in clear detail. This book also includes the story of the Evangelical United Brethren Church as part of Methodism, as well as the cultural and religious pluralism of the country today.
Call Number: BX8235 .N65
Publication Date: 1974