It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Paul by Jerome Murphy-O'ConnorHere Jerome Murphy-O'Connor presents a completely new, and much more vivid and dramatic account of the life of Paul than has ever previously been attempted. From his childhood in Tarsus and his years as a student in Jerusalem to the successes and failures of his ministry, this biography has nopeer in terms of its detailed reconstructions of Paul's movements and motives.Traditionally, the Acts of the Apostles has provided the framework for the lives of Paul. In recent years, however, the historical value of the Acts has been called into question. Despite the accuracy of many details, they have been linked in ways which reflect the interests of Luke rather thanobjective reality. Critical assessment is called for if they are to be incorporated into a life of Paul.The prime source for a reconstruction of the Apostle's life must be his own writings. Recent advances in the study of the letters have brought to light new depths which enables them to be used for biographical purposes. The originality of this book lies in the combination of these two approaches,which are reinforced by close attention to the social and cultural aspects of Paul's ministry as revealed by archaeology and contemporary texts--and it transforms a fountain of theological ideas into a human being.
Call Number: BS2506 .M855 1997 and as eBook
The Blackwell Companion to Paul by Stephen Westerholm (Editor)The Blackwell Companion to Paul presents a distinctive dual focus approach that encompasses both the historical Paul and the history of Paul's influence. In doing so, expert contributors successfully address the interests of students of early Christianity and those of Christian theology. Offers a complete overview of the life, writings and legacy of one of the key figures of Christianity The essays compass the major themes of Paul's life and work, as well as his impact through the centuries on theology, Church teaching, social beliefs, art, literature, and contemporary intellectual thought Edited by one of the leading figures in the field of Pauline Studies The contributors include a range of world-renowned academics
Call Number: BS2651 .B53 2011 and as eBook
Martin Luther, 1483-1506
Martin Luther by Martin Brecht; James L. Schaaf (Translator)This first volume in Martin Brecht's three-volume biography recounts Luther's youth and young adulthood up to the period of the Diet of Worms. Brecht, in a clear, eloquent translation by James Schaaf, discusses Luther's education at the University of Erfurt, his monastic life, his canonical trial in 1519, the Leipzig debate, and his earliest contributions to the beginning of the Reformation. Illustrations enrich the text.
Call Number: BR325 .B69313 1993
Roger Williams, 1603-1683
Roger Williams by Edwin S. GaustadRoger Williams chronicles the life of one of the most remarkable forefathers in American history. A true revolutionary, this devout Puritan championed Native American rights; wrote treatises on equal rights, flag desecration, and the separation of church and state; established the firstAmerican settlement based on total religious toleration--and he lived more than a century before independence, when America was still a vast wilderness! Williams went on to adopt adult baptism and founded the first Baptist church in America. He became president of Rhode Island colony in 1654, servedas captain in the defense of Providence during King Philip's War, and continued to write and preach passionately for religious tolerance and Native American rights until his death in 1683.
Nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. (Gale)
Now users can take notes easily without opening a separate program. The "Highlights and Notes" tool allows you to select text from a document, highlight the important sections, add your own notes, and save to a new "Highlighted Articles" page. Within the same session, the highlighted sections can be easily viewed, printed, downloaded, or sent via email (no user account within the database is required). (Gale)
Baptist Theologians by Timothy F. George; David S. Dockery
Call Number: BX6331.2.B29 1990
A Dictionary of Christian Biography by Henry Wace (Editor); William C. Piercy (Editor)Smith and Wace's magisterial A Dictionary of Christian Biography provides an account of the figures and personalities of the early Christian Church. Its four volumes and more than 4,000 pages provide authoritative accounts of every person connected with the early Christian Church, the literature connected with them, and the controversies relating to doctrine or discipline in which they were engaged. Articles range from extended entries on major figures such as Constantine I, Isidore of Seville, Justinian and Tertullianus, to entries on the Doctrine of Faith, the Apochryphal Gospels, Predestination, the Coptic Church, and the Doctrine of the Holy Ghost. Lesser known figures such as Esimphaeus, King of the Homeritae in the Yemen, and Alfredus, the seventh century Bishop of Narbonne are included. The result is a comprehensive Who was Who of the early Church and a major contribution to our understanding of what was done, believed and thought in the early ages of Christianity. With a new introduction by Michael Ledger-Lomas, a leading authority on the history of Christianity, this handsome large format edition forms a unique and valuable resource.
Call Number: BR95.W3 1994
Fifty Key Christian Thinkers by George Newlands; Peter McEnhillFifty Key Christian Thinkers provides both valuable information and stimulating debate on the lives and work of fifty of the most important Christian theologians. This guide provides an overview of Christian theology from the emergence of the faith 2000 years ago to the present day. Among the figures profiled in this accessible guide are: * St Paul * Barth * Aquinas * Boethius * Niebuhr * Calvin * Luther * Feuerbach * Kierkegaard * Origen
Call Number: eBook in Taylor & Francis Online
Publication Date: 2004
Great Leaders of the Christian Church by John D. Woodbridge (Editor)A truly unique work, spanning the centuries of the Christian Church, introducing the reader to heroes of the faith. Great Leaders of the Christian Church provides a contributing authors' list which in itself is a "Who's Who" of leaders in the Church today.
Call Number: BR1700.2.G74 1988
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints by David Hugh FarmerFar more than a dry hagiographical account of the lives of saints, this entertaining and authoritative dictionary breathes life into its subjects and is as browsable as it is informative.First published in 1978, the Oxford Dictionary of Saints offers more than 1,700 fascinating and informative entries covering the lives, cults, and artistic associations of saints from around the world, from the famous to the obscure, the rich to the poor, and the academic to the uneducated. From allwalks of life and from all periods of history and from around the world, the wide varieties of personalities and achievements of the canonized are reflected. An updated introduction explains the steps towards becoming a saint, the processes of beatification and canonization.This revised fifth edition includes appendices containing five maps of pilgrimage sites, a list of saints' patronages and iconographical emblems, and a calendar of principal feasts, as well as a new appendix on pilgrimages.
Call Number: BR1710.F34 1982
Religious Leaders of America by J. Gordon Melton (Editor)This reference by scholar J. Gordon Melton provides more than 1200 detailed biographical profiles of the contemporary and historical men and women responsible for influencing American religion. Each biographical profile begins with the name, birth date and place, death date and place (if applicable), and affiliation/occupation of the religious leader.
Call Number: BL72.M458 1991
Who's Who in Christianity by Lavinia Cohn-SherbokWho's Who in Christianity is an invaluable reference guide to the leading men and women who have influenced the course of Christian history, including the founding fathers, saints, popes, monarchs, philanthropists, theologians, missionaries and heretics. The book encompasses both Eastern and Western churches and the lives and opinions of personalities who have shaped the past twenty Christian centuries, from Jesus of Galilee to Pope John Paul II, and from Paul of Tarsus to Mother Teresa.
Call Number: eBook in Credo Reference
Publication Date: 2003
Wycliffe Biographical Dictionary of the Church by Elgin Moyer; Earle Cairns
Call Number: BR1700.2.M66 1982
Augustine of Hippo by Henry ChadwickThe life and works of Augustine of Hippo (354-430) have shaped the development of the Christian Church, sparking controversy and influencing the ideas of theologians through subsequent centuries. His words are still frequently quoted in devotions throughout the global Church today. His keythemes retain a striking contemporary relevance - what is the place of the Church in the world? What is the relation between nature and grace?Augustine's intellectual development is recounted with clarity and warmth in this newly rediscovered biography of Augustine, as interpreted by the acclaimed church historian, the late Professor Henry Chadwick. Augustine's intellectual journey from schoolboy and student to Bishop and champion ofWestern Christendom in a period of intense political upheaval, is narrated in Chadwick's characteristically rigorous yet sympathetic style.With a foreword reflecting on Professor Chadwick's distinctive approach to Augustine by Professor Peter Brown.
Call Number: BR1720.A9 C473 2009
Dietrich Bonhoeffer, 1906-1945
Dietrich Bonhoeffer, 1906-1945 by Ferdinand Schlingensiepen
Call Number: BX4827.B57 S3413 2010
C. S. Lewis
C. S. Lewis's Mere Christianity by George M. MarsdenThe life and times of C. S. Lewis's modern spiritual classic Mere Christianity, C. S. Lewis's eloquent and winsome defense of the Christian faith, originated as a series of BBC radio talks broadcast during the dark days of World War Two. Here is the story of the extraordinary life and afterlife of this influential and much-beloved book. George Marsden describes how Lewis gradually went from being an atheist to a committed Anglican--famously converting to Christianity in 1931 after conversing into the night with his friends J. R. R. Tolkien and Hugh Dyson--and how Lewis delivered his wartime talks to a traumatized British nation in the midst of an all-out war for survival. Marsden recounts how versions of those talks were collected together in 1952 under the title Mere Christianity, and how the book went on to become one of the most widely read presentations of essential Christianity ever published, particularly among American evangelicals. He examines its role in the conversion experiences of such figures as Charles Colson, who read the book while facing arrest for his role in the Watergate scandal. Marsden explores its relationship with Lewis's Narnia books and other writings, and explains why Lewis's plainspoken case for Christianity continues to have its critics and ardent admirers to this day. With uncommon clarity and grace, Marsden provides invaluable new insights into this modern spiritual classic.