Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Library Survey, 2016-17: Requests

About Student Suggested Purchases

We really appreciate the large number of requests included in this year's survey. Student participation is very important in developing a library collection as no one knows what you want better than you.

The Thrift Library will work with the faculty to select and buy at least three new books for each of your requests, either this semester or over the summer. Most will be on the shelves before you return in August. Some are already on order.

NOTE: Some of the suggestions were overly broad. You can improve your suggestions by narrowing them down. For instance, instead of suggesting more Children's Books, suggest a particular author or title or topic (American Revolution for 4th graders, Science experiments for 6th graders, etc.)

Student Requests

Have you ever researched a topic and NOT found enough information? If so, please tell us the topic and we will add more to our collection. PLEASE BE SPECIFIC! Global warming, suicide, and Socrates are all good topics. But Children's Books, Psychology, and American History are all too broad.  

“Thanks so much for your suggestions. We really appreciate it. If you’re ever having trouble finding something when you’re doing research, please let us know. We’re happy to help.”?


ART    Trying to do research on contemporary artists can be difficult in the library. Some are obscure or unpublished, but being able to find more online resources for contemporary artists and designers would be helpful for the Conptemporary Art class that all art students have to take.    

  • We are always happy to help with individual research assistance. OneSearch is a valuable resource, besides the Art databases in general. This will be a area of priority for  future titles to add to our collection.

ART    Drug Culture in art    

  • An interesting topic to explore. Are you searching for information about the current culture or maybe from the past? There is more information about the drug culture and art from the 1960s but we will search for more current resources as they are available.

ART    Contemporary Artists    

  • There have been a few new books added to the collection since the beginning of Spring semester. If you have specific artists or book titles please let us know so we may order. 

ART    Graphic Designer monographs    

  • Are there any specific title suggestions or artists that you would like to see added to our collection? We welcome requests from our students.

CHR    I had a research project on Evelyn Underhill and couldn't find enough information. There was one biography but it mainly talked about everyone in her life except for her.    

  • We will order Evelyn Underhill : Modern Guide to the Ancient Quest for the Holy, Dialectics and the Sublime in Underhill's Mysticism, and Modernist Women Writers and Spirituality : A Piercing Darkness.

CHR    The goodness of God    

  • We will order What's So Great About God : A Reasonable Defense of the Goodness of God in a World Filled with Suffering, God, Goodness and Philosophy, and  God and Goodness : A Natural Theological Perspective .

CHR    Work on increasing your Christian studies journal articles. Also, we need a new computer for the LOGOS software, and we need updated software. It is nearly impossible to do adequate research on that computer with that software.    

  • Our primary source of Chrisitan studies journals is ATLAS. Although no one does a better job than ATLAS, it full text content is limited vs. all that is out there. Consequently the need to find article sin ATLAS, and order them through Inteerlibrary Loan. ILL is free.
  • We will investigate LOGOS and fix or replace.

CHR    Biblical inerrancy (both Christian and non-Christian perspectives)    

  • We will order - PRO - Vital Issues in the Inerrancy Debate, The Erosion of Inerrancy in Evangelicalism : Responding to New Challenges to Biblical Authority, Interdisciplinary Perspectives on the Authority of Scripture : and Historical, Biblical, and Theoretical Perspectives. And CON - Subjectivity and Irreligion : Atheism and Agnosticism in Kant, Schopenhauer and Nietzsche , In the Beginning : Science Faces God in the Book of Genesis, Evidence of Editing : Growth and Change of Texts in the Hebrew Bible, and The New Atheism : Taking a Stand for Science and Reason.

CHR    Problem of Hell    

  • We will buy Rethinking Hell : Readings in Evangelical Conditionalism, Hell and Its Afterlife : Historical and Contemporary Perspectives, and The Problem of Hell : A Philosophical Anthology.

CHR    Besides Bart Ehrman, while researching the validity of the Bible there aren't many sources that counter Christian claims that the Bible is true and trustworthy.    

  • See Biblical inerrancy - two lines above. 

CHR    Yes, I could barely find anything on th Governmental theory of the atonement.    

  • We will buy The Meaning of Jesus' Death : Reviewing the New Testament's Interpretations; The Nature of the Atonement : Four Views, Christus Victor: An Historical Study of the Three Main Types of the Idea of Atonement, and .Atonement Theories: A Way through the Maze

CHR    Todays pastors    

  • We will buy Do You Want to Save The Church? : A Handbook for Pastors and Lay People, An Introduction to Ministry : A Primer for Renewed Life and Leadership in Mainline Protestant Congregations, The New Pastor's Handbook : Help and Encouragement for the First Years of Ministry , 

CHR    Christian ministers biographies    

  • We will pass this request on to the CHR department and ask for their suggestions.

CHR    The fight between God and Satan    

  • We will add God at War : The Bible & Spiritual Conflict, God's Devil : The Incredible Story of How Satan's Rebellion Serves God's Purposes, and Reviving Old Scratch : Demons and the Devil for Doubters and the Disenchanted.

CHR    Christian leadership    

  • We will buy Spiritual Leadership : Why Leaders Lead and Who Seekers Follow, Problems of Christian Leadership, and Relational Leadership : A Biblical Model for Influence and Service 

CHR    Andrew Fuller    

  • We will order Andrew Fuller: Holy Faith, Worthy Gospel, World Mission and Andrew Fuller: Model Pastor-Theologian, and The Armies of the Lamb: the Spirituality of Andrew Fuller.

CHR    Atheism    

  • We will buy Godless : How an Evangelical Preacher Became One of America's Leading Atheists, Atheism What Everyone Needs to Know by Michael Ruse, and The End of Faith: Religion, Terror, and the Future of Reason. 

CHR    John Newton;    

  • Amazing Grace: The Story of America's Most Beloved Song , Out of the Depths , and Newton on the Christian Life: To Live Is Christ.  

Military     Military history/strategy/tactics  

  • Military history/ strategy/tactics is a HUGE topic.  The Reader's Companion to Military History is a good starting point. Could you be more specific? What time period? What place?

COMM    Media and Society in communications were not available in the library.  

  • Our One-Search tool is a great way to search for this topic. Many full-text articles, books and ebooks are available on this timely topic. Don't forget to ask a librarian to help if you are having difficulty locating resources! 

COMM    Social media    

  • Try One-Search to find many full-text articles, books and ebooks on social media. Research Starters is a great way to get a scholarly overview of social media in general.

COMM    Communication topics like updated social media studies would be helpful. Overall more relevant communication studies.   

  • See above for suggestions for social media studies resources.

EDU    3rd grade level engaging books    

  • We have some popular titles for third graders, such as the Magic Tree House Series and Junie B. Jones. However, we would love particular suggestions if you have certain titles in mind. 

EDU    Homeschooling statistics - mostly in SC    

  • We will order more homeschooling books. Some of the statistics you need would likely be in articles in databases and on government websites.

EDU    Just for a paper on natural and traditional playgrounds, I couldn't find what I was looking for.    

  • We will order a few books such as Last Child in the Woods: Saving Our Children from Nature-Deficit Disorder and  Balanced and Barefoot: How Unrestricted Outdoor Play Makes for Strong, Confident, and Capable Children. We also already have an e-book that may be useful: The Science of Play : How to Build Playgrounds That Enhance Children's Development. There are also some articles in the library databases on this subject.  However, overall, there may not yet be a lot of scholarly articles on this narrow topic.

EDU    Teaching strategies for literacy    

  • We have a number of books on this topic. Some of them are even on our reserve shelves.  Please contact us if you have a particular additional titles you would like us to purchase.

EDU    Homelessness in Education    

  • We will order more titles on this topic.

EDU    Yes, education books.    

  • Education is a very broad field.  Do you have particular research areas in mind?  If so, please contact us and we would be happy to purchase additional titles.

EDU    Yes, educational topics    

  • Education is a very broad field.  Do you have particular research areas in mind?  If so, please contact us and we would be happy to purchase additional titles.

EDU    special education 2015- present    

  • We will order Special Education: Best Practices in Focus (2015) , How Autism Is Reshaping Special Education : The Unbundling of IDEA  (2017),  and Educating Special Students : An Introduction to Provision for Learners with Disabilities and Disorders  (2017)

ENG    British Literature - more articles or books on Mary Shelley and Tennyson.    

  • We have 30 books on Shelley, and 47 on Tennyson, and that’s just physical books. But if have particular titles you would like to suggest, we will purchase.

ENG    Shakespeare DVDs. While good, the collection lacks good or easy to use copies of several famous plays, such as MacBeth.    

  • We will order a few more. Is there a particular production of Macbeth or other Shakespeare plays that you would like?

ENG    I have had to research topics in British literature and some authors like William Blake have little information.    

  • We have a number of books on William Blake, some of which are on our Reserve Shelves. You could also find literary criticism on Blake in databases such as Literary Criticism Online, Bloom's Literature, Infobase and Literary Reference Center. If none of those resources have what you're looking for, please let us know. We're happy to help.

ENG /EDU    Foot Binding in Ancient China, educational psychology topics such as moral development, constructivism, and motivation within the classroom?    

  • We have several books on this topic in print and in our ebrary database, including Cinderella's Sisters : A Revisionist History of Footbinding, Splendid Slippers, and Aching for Beauty : Footbinding in China.  There are also some articles in our databases.  We will order a few more titles in print.  We also have a number of educational psychology books and articles in our databases. Some of our books are on reserve. If you have trouble finding any of these, please let us know. If there are particular titles you'd like us to purchase, we'd be happy to do so. We'll order a few more that were recently published on these topics.

GEN    A lot of our books are very old! And it would be nice if all teachers had their required books in reserve at the library.    

  • Agreed. We will be weeding a lot of old books this summer.
  • We are happy to place materials on reserve whenever requested.

GEN    Online it seems searching under academic journals for specific things is more difficult.    

  • It is. Keep at it. You will get better.

GEN    why should yoga be considered an aerobic workout?    

  • Don’t know.

GEN    Yes, I do not remember the topics but there have been several.    Ok

HIS    JFK assassination    

  • We have several ebooks on this topic. We'll purchase a few more print books.

HIS    There was not a lot of information on China's Foot Binding history and information on this topic.    

  • We have several books on this topic in print and in our ebrary database, including Cinderella's Sisters : A Revisionist History of Footbinding, Splendid Slippers, and Aching for Beauty : Footbinding in China.  There are also some articles in our databases.  We will order a few more titles in print. 

HIS    In my research on the Liberation of Paris in World War II I wished there had been more sources on France in WWII. I think it would be nice to have more books on the individual countries involved in WWII.    

  • We have some ebooks on EBSCOhost. We will purchase more print books. 

HP    medical history    

  • We will add Physicians, Plagues and Progress : The History of Western Medicine From Antiquity to Antibiotics , From Anesthesia to X-Rays: Innovations and Discoveries That Changed Medicine Forever, Medical History : Some Perspectives, and Strange Medicine : A Shocking History of Real Medical Practices Through the Ages.

HP    yes cardiac arrest and upper extremeties    

  • Fast Facts for the Cardiac Surgery Nurse is good, but nursing information goes out of date so quickly that we recommend our databases over books.

ID    Barn Construction & Design, Hospitality Design    

  • We found 5 books on barns will order three more - Barn: Preservation and Adaptation, The Evolution of a Vernacular Icon Hardcover, Barn Again: Restored and New Barns for the 21st Century, At Home in The American Barn. We found a half dozen books on hospitality design but will order four more - The Best of Hospitality Architecture and Design vols. 1 & 2, Tihany: Iconic Hotel and Restaurant Interiors, Hotel Buildings: Construction and Design Manual 

ID    Yes, Bungalow styles and its various sub styles like Art Moderne    

  • We will order Arts & Crafts Home Plans: Showcasing 85 Home Plans in the Craftsman, Prairie and Bungalow Styles, 500 Cottages, Bungalows: Design Ideas for Renovating, Remodeling, and Build, and The New Bungalow Kitchen and also American Modern, 1925-1940: Design for a New Age, Streamline: American Art Deco, and Deco & Streamline Architecture in L.A. a Moderne City Survey

ID / ART    Topics that I had not found engough information on; interior design during the Victorian era, building methods of the industrial revolution, the Vienna Secession, traditional Korean interiors, and Prairie style (as in F. L. Wright and the Prairie School of architects).    

  • "Regarding interior design in the Victorian era, try searching under both Victoriana in interior decoration AND Interior decoration History 20th century. But we will order some more. We will order Building: 3,000 Years of Design, Engineering, and Construction,  Historical Building Construction: Design, Materials, and Technology, and Historic Preservation Technology: A Primer, also Art in Vienna 1898–1918: Klimt, Kokoschka, Schiele and their contemporaries, Viennese Secession, and Josef Hoffmann: Interiors, 1902-1913 also Hanok: The Korean House, Hanoak: Traditional Korean Homes, and Hanok - The Traditional Residence Of Koreans, and Frank Lloyd Wright: The Rooms: Interiors and Decorative Arts, Prairie Style: Houses and Gardens by Frank Lloyd Wright and the Prairie School ,Frank Lloyd Wright's Prairie Houses (Wright at a Glance Series)."

MUS    History of Popular Music    

  • We have plenty of books of a general nature on this topic but need more direction from you  if you wish us to buy specific subtopics - there are so many.

MUS    Music history and music theory. Specifically reharmonizing and early music history.    

  • Although we have over 2,000 books music history and music theory - "reharmonziing" is a tough one.  Didn’t find ANY books specifically on that. Looks like the best you can hope for would be a chapter in a music theory book or an article. But we will keep looking.

MUS    Music therapy techniques    

  • We have 69 books on music therapy and 7 on music therapy methods (techniques). If you could contact us and tell what specific music therapy techniques you could not find in our collection, we will buy.

NO    N/A    Good to know.
NO    no    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    N/A    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    none    Good to know.
NO    I have not    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    N/A    Good to know.
NO    Never had this problem before!    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No.    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    no    Good to know.
NO    Has not happened    Good to know.
NO    I have found all research material on the library's online database    Good to know.
NO    No, I have always found enough information.    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    I have not had any problems finding information.    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No, I have always found information on a topic of research.    Good to know.
NO    Not yet    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    no    Good to know.
NO    No.    Good to know.
NO    No Knowledge of.    Good to know.
NO    I have not    Good to know.
NO    na    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    Na    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    N/A    Good to know.
NO    Nope    Good to know.
NO    No.    Good to know.
NO    Yes    Good to know.
NO    No, I haven't. I have found adequate information.    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    N/A    Good to know.
NO    None    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    N/A    Good to know.
NO    no, i have found information on everything i have researched.    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    I have always been able to find what I need.    Good to know.
NO    N/a    Good to know.
NO    no    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    I have always found an adequate amount of information.    Good to know.
NO    no    Good to know.
NO    I have always found enough information in my areas of study.    Good to know.
NO    I have always found what I needed.    Good to know.
NO    N/A    Good to know.
NO    No    Good to know.
NO    no    Good to know.
NO    All items that I have been required to utilize have been available.    Good to know.
NO    NA    Good to know.

PSY    Yes. Primary sources for psychological research.    

  • Primary sources for psychological research or any other scientific research are original research articles. Check out the Psychology research guide as a good place to start, then try our One-search tool to search key terms from your topic and looking for research articles in scholarly journals.

PSY    Psychological tests and measures. *please* get the PSYCHTests database :)    

  • We would love to get a subscription to PSYCTests! Have put it on the wish list for databases for budget cycle. Funding is an issue! 

SCI    The Christian response to global warming.

  • I wrote my senior paper on this topic and had to do an inter-library loan.    Always glad to know that students are using our Inter-Library Loan process! A great (and free for students, faculty and staff) way to get resources that you need.  Hoping that you used OneSearch to find articles and books that Thrift Library has on the topic. I used the terms "global warming and christianity" and hit almost 40,000 articles, books, ebooks on the subject.   

SCI    Bioenergy Sources there are online databases but few physical books    Y

  • es, we have a physical space issue at Thrift, so since scientific research is constantly changing and being updated, we tend to invest in ebooks and electronic journal access instead of physical print books. A search in OneSearch yields more than 3300 ebooks on bioenergy. Ask a librarian to help you find those resources - we are here to help!

SCI / HP    Many scientific journals such as Journal of Biological Chem or Pubmed have very limited access; abstracts are usually not enough, and a subscription to either would be helpful to the science majors. 

  • Thanks for the suggestion! Journal of Biological Chemistry is freely available through PubMed, but has a 12 month embargo on access to full-text articles.  (Publishers set these limitations) Subscription fees to many scientific journals run well into the thousands per title, so the library has to keep within a budget. Please check out the access that AU has through our Find a Journal tool. Search for journals by title under biology, then limit to biochemistry, and you will see 107 fulltext journal titles. Science Direct is also a good database for doing biochemical research.  If you find articles that you can't access, don't hesitate to submit an Inter-Library Loan form to us and we can get the article you need (free of charge)!

SOC    Arguments on the One Child Policy with China.    

  • See comments below under SOC China's one child policy.

SOC    China'a one child policy    

  • We have multiple books on this topic, such as Just One Child: Science and Policy in Deng's China;  One Child: The Story of China's Most Radical Experiment; China's hidden children : abandonment, adoption, and the human costs of the one-child policy; Only Hope: Coming of Age Under China's One-Child Policy. There are also articles in our databases and you can use our NY Times apps to read current stories on this issue since China revoked their one-child policy.

SOC    Women's Rights and feminism    

  • We will order three of each.

SOC    African coming of age    

  • This topic is extremely difficult to address through books. Articles via OneSearch would be easer to find.

SOC    China's one-child policy    

  • We have multiple books on this topic, such as Just One Child: Science and Policy in Deng's China;  One Child: The Story of China's Most Radical Experiment; China's hidden children : abandonment, adoption, and the human costs of the one-child policy; Only Hope: Coming of Age Under China's One-Child Policy. There are also articles in our databases and you can use our NY TImes apps to read current stories on this issue since China revoked their one-child policy.

THEA    I would like more plays to be added to the theatrical section. There are many new playwrights taking the world by storm, and I want our library to be up to date with current work!    

  • We will order more current plays. Please let us to know if you have particular favorites you'd like us to purchase. We're happy to do so.

THEA    Children's improv    

  • We will order more children's improv.

 

Requests

You can suggest purchases throughout the year. Just contact the library at library@andersonuniversity.edu

or click on Comments link at the bottom of this box.

Please remember to include your name and email address if you would like a response.

A Suggestion for You - eBooks

Don't forget eBooks when doing research.

The Library Catalog only contains the eBooks we own. Another 400,000 eBooks are available through OneSearch and ProQuest eBook Central.

Also, eBooks are much more current that the overall book collection

Tips

In some cases the library found abundant, current resources on the suggestions gathered by the survey. Here are some ways to improve your searching.

1) Change your search from the Library Catalog to OneSearch. You will find far more eBooks.

2) Use the eBooks you find. It may be intimidating at first, but they are identical to the books on our shelves.

3) Use alternative search terms. Your topic may be called something else.

4)  Use multiple terms. Combine them with the word "Or".

5) Broaden your topic. Your topic may be a subtopic (a chapter) located in a book about something bigger.

6) Change your search from Books to Articles. Very specific topics and very current topics are better supported through articles.