Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisitions

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

The 2021-22 Student Library Survey

The 2021-22 Student Library Survey is complete and makes fascinating reading. 

  • Fourth highest score ever 4.43.
  • Highest Category - STAFF - 4.56
  • Lowest Category - I UNDERSTAND HOW TO - 4.34

Find out what students think about

  • Library Hours - Would you believe it is going up?
  • Content within my major
  • What do they use most? The physical library or its online resources? You might be surprised.

When newspapers disappear, what happens to the archives?

What happens to the archives when a newspaper dies?

 

Andrew Egan writes: “Newspapers and print journalism in general have been dying a slow death for more than 20 years now. While causes and the current state of the industry are very much in debate, there is little argument that print journalism is currently in a dire state. The Hussman School of Journalism at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill counted some 1,800 American newspapers that have closed since 2004. What happens to these archives once the business is no longer profitable?”...

Tedium, Nov. 24

Health Profession's eJournal Package Upgraded

The Thrift Library recently took advantage of an offer by OVID / LWW to upgrade two of its most expensive eJournal subscriptions to a "package of nine.

  • Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise 
  • Strength and Conditioning Journal

 Original Cost - $5,929.80 ($3,000 per title)

Seven Added Titles:

  • ACSM’s Health & Fitness Journal
  • American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
  • Clinical Journal of Sports Medicine
  • Current Sports Medicine Reports
  • Exercise and Sport Sciences Review
  • Journal of Strength & Conditioning Research
  • Translational Journal of the American College of Sports Medicine

New total - $8,679.00 ($1,000 per title)

Using OneSearch to Create Permalinks

What is a Permalink? A permalink is a hyperlink that is permanent. Many of the library's databases have the ability to create permalinks. If so, it is much safer to use the database supplied link rather than the one at the top of your screen. THAT one may or may not be working net time you click on it.

OneSearch Permalink - The OneSearch Permalink is the gold standard for AU faculty and students. Instead of returning you to the article or eBook, it returns you to the within OneSearch.

Why is this important? In many cases OneSearch will find the same resource in many databases, sometimes as many as ten. This is problematic for three reasons:

  • In some cases the databases use different titles than the ones we use. 
  • In some cases they do not identify themselves once inside, even when creating autocitations.
  • Although most links created from within databases work off campus, not all do. (See the guide below for more info on creating OpenAthens links.)
  • It is quite possible that some of these databases may come and go over the years to come 

Using OneSearch to create a permalink to the bibliographic record rather than the resource is quicker, easier, and more reliable.

HOWEVER! - We are not recommending you use OpenAthens permalinks in citations. Most styles call for a link directly other resources, not OneSearch.  See the Keep It Legit: Citing Sources and Preventing Plagiarism - Power Point below for more info on citing sources.

Kanopy Announces Upgrades

  • A search and browse overhaul which means users can find the films they need quickly and accurately.
  • An improved citation tool that makes writing proper annotations a snap.
  • A new Live Transcript tool that is helpful for accessibility. It plays the transcript simultaneously while the video runs and makes for easy excerpting. 
  • A new placement of the Public Performance Rights graphic indicator that lets professors and librarians easily know which films are eligible for event screenings

Two Free New Databases from DISCUS

Drama for Students: (15 plays per vol.)

  • For middle school students through adults
  • Collection includes Volumes 1-38 and is a guide to understanding the most studied plays.
  • Features discussion and analysis of plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures.
  • Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical overviews, plots, and historical context.
  • Provides suggested readings on similar themes and topics, as well as classroom aides.

 

Novels for Students:

  • For middle school students through adults
  • Collection includes Volumes 1-66 and is a guide to understanding novels from various cultures and time periods.
  • Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes, critical overviews, and style as well as the work’s cultural and historical significance.
  • Provides suggested readings on similar themes and topics, as well as classroom aides.

FYI - Much of this content was purchased years ago and may be found in OneSearch as well as other Gale Databases, These two new databases add additional years of content and make content going back to vol. 1 available in one place. 

Gale Literature 

Gale Literature Criticism

Gale Literature Resource Center 

Mometrix

 

 

  • GMAT
  • GRE
  • NCLEX RN
  • PRAXIS Core and 13 PRAXIS II Areas
  • SHRM CP Exam Prep

Change in Hours Coming!

The library will close Thursday, April 7 at 5 pm for the Easter Holiday and reopen at 7:30 AM Monday, April 18.

Beginning Monday April 18 it will stay open till 1:00 AM for the next two weeks.

To stay up to date on the library's hours, click on the Library Calendar, located on the Library's home page.