Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisitions

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

NEW - Citing Sources Power Point - APA - Chicago - MLA -Turabian - AMA

What is the most difficult part of a citation for an electronic resource?

The access statement.

Should it be a hyperlink, a permalink, or a DOI? Or should you leave it off entirely? Watch the Cite it Right! PowerPoint and find out how to cite electronic resources, how to find missing DOIs, and what to do if there is no DOI.

Can the Library Support Your New Course?

Anderson’s class offerings continue to grow. Some months over a dozen new courses are announced in Curriculog and voted on in Faculty Meetings.

Does the library have the resources you will need to teach your new course?

Nine times out of ten the answer is yes. With over 200 databases, the library has a robust amount of books and articles on all topics. But still, there is that one time out of ten to consider. How do you know?

Look at the library assignments you intend to require. Then do them. If you can’t find the resources you need, then neither can your students. Then partner with the library to acquire the needed materials.

And remember, don’t wait till the last minute! New resources require new money, which means the library has to ask for budget increases, which have to be approved, and which do not arrive until the following budget year. Plan for an 18 month wait. 

Magic School Bag - 80 Year Old Mystery Solved - Read All About It!

You may have heard of Lily Strickland, Anderson, SC's most celebrated composer, but have you heard of her collaboration with Nezahet Nurettin Eğe?

Almost no one knew until Mrs. Eğe's daughter, Dr. Güneş N. Eğe, contacted the Thrift Library during the summer of 2021 to see if we had a copy of the Magic School Bag, a lost 80+ year old Musical Fantasy in our special collections. 

We didn't, but when we reached out to Converse College, which holds the other half of Mr. Strickland's collection of art, music, and memorabilia, they did.

And so began the mysterious saga of the missing Magic School Bag.

Thanks to Kenzie Barnett for her hard work working with all parties and creating a wonderful web page     

Streaming Video - Alexander Street - Ambrose - Credo Reference - Films on Demand - Kanopy - Learn 360 - Swank

Each year the library subscribes to dozens of streaming video titles upon the request of the faculty. Subscription periods last for12 months and can begin and end at any time during the semester. They do not auto renew and the library does not track them.

If you wish to use a streaming video for more than a year - tell the library when you make your initial request and we will

  • Attempt to purchase
  • Add it to our calendar to renew.

FYI - Some titles come and go. There is no guarantee a streaming video can be renewed.

Database of the Month - ScienceDirect

New and Updated Credo Reference Titles

Business

Accounting History and the Rise of Civilization is a brief history of accounting, focusing on the long-term importance of accounting on issues from information accumulation and analysis around money and finance, business and government, and continuing success as technology and innovation expands.

COVID-19 and Travel: Impacts, Responses and Outcomes - Examines how this crisis unfolded and its devastating impacts on the travel, tourism and hospitality industries.

Doing Business 2020: Comparing Business Regulation in 190 Economies is the 17th in a series of annual studies investigating the regulations that enhance business activity and those that constrain it. It provides quantitative indicators covering 12 areas of the business environment in 190 economies.

A Guide to International Economics provides a concise and rigorous approach to the understanding of international trade and finance without relying on mathematical models or graphs

Handbook of US Consumer Economics presents a deep understanding on key, current topics and a primer on the landscape of contemporary research on the U.S. consumer.

The History of Economic Thought: A Concise Treatise for Business, Law, and Public Policy - The subject of this book is the history of economic thought, including the less-commonly discussed schools of binary and socio-economics. Readers will benefit by coming away from the book with a better understanding of the context within which economic arguments are made.

Opinions Throughout History: Globalization - Each chapter discusses both primary and secondary documents such as newspaper and magazine articles, speeches, court decisions, and other legislation. Accompanied by expert commentary and analysis, this volume will guide the reader through the process of how each document affected the changing attitudes on this important issue of public interest.

Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Management Book - From managing and motivating people and teams to performance management and appraisals, The Ultimate Management Book is a dynamic collection of tools, techniques, and strategies for success.

The Value of a Dollar: 1860-2019 - A century and a half of America's consumer economy in one easy-to-use volume, The Value of a Dollar records the prices of thousands of items purchased from the Civil War to the present, along with facts about investment options and income opportunities.

World Development Report 2020: Trading for Development in the Age of Global Value Chains - Global value chains (GVCs) powered the surge of international trade after 1990 and now account for almost half of all trade. This shift enabled an unprecedented economic convergence: poor countries grew rapidly and began to catch up with richer countries. Since the 2008 global financial crisis, however, the growth of trade has been sluggish and the expansion of GVCs has stalled. Meanwhile, serious threats have emerged to the model of trade-led growth. This book examines whether there is still a path to development through GVCs and trade

Criminal Justice

The Britannica Guide to Law Enforcement and Intelligence Gathering presents an engaging overview of the history of law enforcement and intelligence organizations, as well as the tools and techniques that they use.

Opinions Throughout History: The Death Penalty looks at the evolution of this debate within the context of major events in the history of American criminal justice, from the nation's first execution, in the famed Jamestown Colony of Virginia, to the cells of America's modern death rows. Tracing this history through the courts, the legislature, and the academic, religious, and popular debates that have surrounded the issue, this volume will reveal how American ideas about execution have evolved and continue to change.

Opinions Throughout History: Guns in America - From the Revolutionary War to the national crisis brought about by mass shootings in the 21st century, Guns in America provides a historical look at the controversial debate over gun rights and gun control

Serial Killers: The Minds, Methods, and Mayhem of History's Notorious Murderers delves into the global phenomenon of serial and spree murderers.

Education

A History of Western Philosophy of Educationthe first comprehensive overview of philosophy of education from ancient times to the present day, covering 2,500 years of history.

The Routledge Research Companion to Popular Music Education is the first book-length publication that brings together a diverse range of scholarship in this emerging field. Perspectives include the historical, sociological, pedagogical, musicological, axiological, reflexive, critical, philosophical and ideological.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies navigates our understanding of the historical, political, social and cultural dimensions of childhood

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education demonstrates the impact higher education has had on global economies and universities across the world.

Wiley Handbooks in Education: The Wiley Handbook on Violence in Education: Forms, Factors, and Preventions - With contributions from noted experts in a wide-range of scholarly and professional fields, The Wiley Handbook on Violence in Education offers original research and essays that address the troubling issue of violence in education.

English

Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World: A Companion to Late Antique Literature - With contributions from leading scholars in the field, A Companion to Late Antique Literature presents a broad review of late antique literature. The Companion covers notable Greek and Latin texts of the period and provides a varied overview of literature written in six other late antique languages.

Useful Verbs and Tenses - This book considers the basics of English verbs and tenses, including a summary of the different tenses; auxiliaries; questions and negatives; passive; conditionals; phrasal verbs; infinitive; participles; reported speech; subjunctive; common verbs and their phrasal verbs; irregular verbs.

Health Professions

Fast Facts about Medical Cannabis and Opioids: Minimizing Opioid Use Through Cannabis delves into the epidemiology behind chronic pain, what the endocannabinoid system is, and how it works. It examines the complex interactions of opiates, cannabinoids, and the central nervous system, and answers key questions about different types of medical cannabis to promote open, honest conversations.         

Health Reference Series: Guide to Buying Health Insurance Sourcebook provides information about understanding the importance and need for health insurance, medical billing, and a detailed study about private and public-health insurance in the United States including key factors for choosing a private plan, COBRA requirements and benefits, Affordable care act, Medicare, Medicaid, and CHIP coverage along with shopping for health insurance with pre-existing medical conditions, healthcare reforms in the United States, and more.

Opinions Throughout History: Diseases & Epidemics traces the history of some of the most impactful diseases in human history, such as smallpox, measles, the bubonic plague, and HIV, and looks at how these viruses and bacterial plagues affected American politics and culture. The book will also explore the rise and spread of the anti-vaccination and science skepticism movements and their relationship to American and global public health.

History

Black Firsts: 500 Years of Trailblazing Achievements and Ground-Breaking Events - Remarkable people, places, and events in black history are gathered in Black Firsts: 500 Years of Trailblazing Achievements and Ground-Breaking Events.

Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World: A Companion to the City of Rome - A Companion to the City of Rome presents a series of original essays from top experts that offer an authoritative and up-to-date overview of current research on the development of the city of Rome from its origins until circa AD 600.

Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World: A Companion to Late Antique Literature - With contributions from leading scholars in the field, A Companion to Late Antique Literature presents a broad review of late antique literature. The Companion covers notable Greek and Latin texts of the period and provides a varied overview of literature written in six other late antique languages.

Encyclopedia of Historical Treaties and Alliances, Second Edition brings together extensive excerpts from the treaties of hundreds of international agreements.

Historic Documents of 2018 is renowned for the well-written and informative background, history, and context it provides for each document. Each volume begins with an insightful essay that sets the year's events in context, and each document or group of documents is preceded by a comprehensive introduction that provides background information on the event.           

Historic Documents of 2019 is renowned for the well-written and informative background, history, and context it provides for each document. Each volume begins with an insightful essay that sets the year's events in context, and each document or group of documents is preceded by a comprehensive introduction that provides background information on the event.           

Plagues, Pandemics and Viruses: From the Plague of Athens to Covid 19 is an enlightening, and sometimes frightening, recounting of the destruction wrought by disease, but it also looks at what man has done and can do to overcome even the deadliest and bleakest of contagions.

Routledge Histories: The Routledge History of Gender, War, and the U.S. Military is the first examination of the interdisciplinary, intersecting fields of gender studies and the history of the United States military.

Routledge Histories: The Routledge History of the Renaissance - Drawing together the latest research in the field, The Routledge History of the Renaissance treats the Renaissance not as a static concept, but as one of ongoing change within an international framework. It takes as its unifying theme the idea of exchange and interchange through the movement of goods, ideas, disease and people, across social, religious, political and physical boundaries

Music

The Routledge Research Companion to Popular Music Education is the first book-length publication that brings together a diverse range of scholarship in this emerging field. Perspectives include the historical, sociological, pedagogical, musicological, axiological, reflexive, critical, philosophical and ideological.

Political Science

The Edinburgh Companion to Political Realism - Political realism is a highly diverse body of international relations theory. This substantial reference work examines political realism in terms of its history, its scientific methodology and its normative role in international affairs.

Encyclopedia of Historical Treaties and Alliances, Second Edition brings together extensive excerpts from the treaties of hundreds of international agreements.

Political Handbook of the World 2016-2017 provides timely, thorough, and accurate political information with more in-depth coverage of current political controversies and political parties than any other reference guide.

Political Handbook of the World 2018-2019 provides timely, thorough, and accurate political information with more in-depth coverage of current political controversies and political parties than any other reference guide.

The SAGE Handbook of Asian Foreign Policy provides the reader with a clear, balanced and comprehensive overview on Asia's foreign policy and accompanying theoretical trends.

Psychology        

The Psych 101 Series: Forensic Psychology 101 - This is a concise, engaging overview of forensic psychology, spanning its origins as a discipline through the many varied opportunities for employment today.

Science

CABI Invasives Series: Invasive Alien Plants: Impacts on Development and options for Management - This book, for the first time, brings together a wide range of invasive plant specialists from the Asia-Pacific region to share their experience in addressing the problem and delivering solutions.

Collins Stargazing: Beginners Guide to Astronomy - Offering complete advice from the ground up, Stargazing is the perfect manual for beginners to astronomy -- introducing the world of telescopes, planets, stars, dark skies and celestial maps.

Encyclopedia of Microbiology, Fourth Edition gathers both basic and applied dimensions in this dynamic field that includes virtually all environments on Earth.

Introduction to Animal and Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology, fourth edition, This bestselling book continues to provide a comprehensive description of the anatomy and physiology of dogs and cats. The book builds on these foundations with detailed descriptions of exotic small species including birds, and domestic farm animals, including cows, sheep and pigs, as well as the horse.

The OECD Science, Technology and Innovation Outlook 2018 is the twelfth edition in a series that biennially reviews key trends in science, technology and innovation (STI) policy in OECD countries and a number of major partner economies.

Opinions Throughout History: Robotics & Artificial Intelligence - This volume explores automatons, computing, mechanical engineering, automation in the Industrial Revolution, digital technology, the search for artificial intelligence, and technological singularity--a hypothetical future point when technological growth becomes uncontrollable and irreversible, resulting in unfathomable changes to human civilization.

A Pocket Guide to Sharks of the World - An updated and comprehensive guide identifying all of the world's sharks.

 Sociology           

Core Concepts in Sociology is a comprehensive guide to the essential concepts relevant to the current study of the discipline and wider social science.

Diversity: Understanding and Navigating Discrimination in America - Understanding and Navigating Discrimination in America is a resource guide to help people identify and understand challenging conversations about race and discrimination.

Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History provides a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide. Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others.

Opinions Throughout History: The Death Penalty looks at the evolution of this debate within the context of major events in the history of American criminal justice, from the nation's first execution, in the famed Jamestown Colony of Virginia, to the cells of America's modern death rows. Tracing this history through the courts, the legislature, and the academic, religious, and popular debates that have surrounded the issue, this volume will reveal how American ideas about execution have evolved and continue to change.

The Multimedia Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World provides a vibrant collection of entries dealing with contemporary women's issues around the world.

Opinions Throughout History: Guns in America - From the Revolutionary War to the national crisis brought about by mass shootings in the 21st century, Guns in America provides a historical look at the controversial debate over gun rights and gun control

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies - This encyclopedia takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries address a wide range of topics, from broad concepts, to specific subjects, to key historical figures, events, and organizations. Entries focus on diverse lives, identities, and contexts, including the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries.

The SAGE Handbook of Family Communication provides a comprehensive examination of family communication theory and research. Chapters by leading scholars in family communication expand the definition of family, address recent shifts in culture, and cover important new topics, including families in crisis, families and governmental policies, social media, and extended families.

Social Work Leaders Through History: Lives and Lessons - Vividly portraying the personal and professional lives of social work luminaries from the 19th to the present century, this text links their groundbreaking contributions in social work to current CSWE core competencies. The book focuses on leaders who shaped the field across modern American history - the Progressive Era, the Great Society, the New Deal, the Postwar period, and others - and examines their lives in the context of the social and historical environment, their contributions to social work, and lessons from their experiences that are still relevant to social work today.

Misc.    

Disability Series: Communication Disabilities Sourcebook explains what voice, speech, and language are, and how communication problems may develop in a person. Various types of communication disabilities and their impact on the personal, social, and economic well-being of a person are discussed. It offers information about recovery models and rehabilitation techniques along with the rights and benefits of people with communication disabilities.           

Encyclopedia of Mythological Objects - Containing detailed entries on the magical and mythical items from the different folklore, legends, and religions the world over, this encyclopedia is the first of its kind. Each item is described in as much detail as the original source material provided, including information on its origin, who was its wielder, and the extent of its magical abilities.

Handy Answer: The Handy Western Philosophy Answer Book: The Ancient Greek Influence on Modern Understanding makes esoteric ideas and the jumble of names easy to understand, enriching readers' lives.

International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, Second Edition embraces diversity by design and captures the ways in which humans share places and view differences based on gender, race, nationality, location and other factors - in other words, the things that make people and places different. 

The Routledge Dance Studies Reader has been expanded and updated, giving readers essential texts 

The Routledge History of American Sport provides the first comprehensive overview of historical research in American sport from the early Colonial period to the present day.