Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisitions

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

eTextbooks for Spring 2022

This spring the Thrift Library reached a huge milestone in eTextbook support saving our students over a million dollars!

  • Most textbooks provided!
  • Most students and classes!
  • Most money saved!

Association of Christian Librarians eBook Packages

Occasionally the library purchases eBooks in quantity at discount. This year the library purchased three packages of eBooks totaling 181 titles for an average cost of only $24.00.

  • Leadership
  • Biblical Studies
  • Missions / Ministry

MLA Handbook Plus

The MLA Handbook Plus had been added to the library's databases thanks to a discounted price negotiated by PASCAL

OpenAthens

Most people don't know how the water gets to their sink or the electricity to their lights. They just open the tap or flip the switch and it either works or doesn't. Linking to databases, articles and eBooks is a similar situation - but - linking is a lot less reliable than your water or your lights. A lot can go wrong, from you computer or phone, to the database vender, to the individual resource.

Every resource has an address, a url, that functions much like a very long phone number. And it has just got longer. 

The Thrift Library recently upgraded from one linking company, EZProxy, to another, OpenAthens. In most cases everything works behind the scenes. You just click and go. The urls will look very different, and they will be longer, but they will get you to the same place.

The aspect of OpenAthens urls that will affect you is their use in Canvas. Copying and pasting an OpenAthens url directly into Canvas works fine. But if you need to create an OpenAthens url you will need to use the OpenAthens Link Generator, otherwise your resource will not work from of campus.

Library Instruction

Now is the time to schedule library instruction for Spring Semester.

  • Face-to-Face
  • Zoom
  • Pre-recorded

The library can customize instruction to fit your needs.

Andrea Raines Publishes Open Access Textbook With the Help of Karen Hardin and Chad Treado

Congratulations Andrea, Karin, and Chad for producing Anderson University's first eTextbook on the Pressbook platform. This publication was made possible in part by a microgrant from PASCAL.

This initiative supports the university strategic plan to “explore and propose ways to reduce the cost of textbooks.”

Should the textbook be adopted by colleges and universities across SC, it has the potential to save students well over a million dollars and AU students alone over $30,000.

Cambridge, Oxford, Sage, Wiley EBA Collection

The Thrift Library will participate in a PASCAL-brokered eBook deal over the next four years. Each of the publisher's below will contribute thousands of eBooks discoverable within OneSearch for a modest subscription cost - less than $500 per publisher. During that time the library will have unlimited access to these titles. At the end of each year the library will be able to analyze user statistics and select the most used titles for purchase.

It will not be necessary to go to individual databases to find and use these titles. All will be fully discoverable / readable / downloadable from within OneSearch.

Titles in Collection
Cambridge 12,500
Oxford 19,600
Sage 5,800
Wiley 23,000
Total 60,900