Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisitions

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

Big Buys

 

Some of our eBook databases can only be described as "Big Buys." These are the ones where we buy in bulk to save big. A typical eBook will cost between $100-$200. A typical Big Buy eBook will cost 1/10th that... or less.

Duke - We buy everything Duke publishes every year (usually 100 - to 110 titles). This means you never need to request a  book from Duke. We already have it.

SpringerLink - Each year we purchase approximately 10,000 titles for around $12,000. We now have over 100,000 titles.

Project MUSE - While Project MUSE is not a Big Buy, it might as well be. Instead of buying every eBook added each year, we pay to access every book in the collections - "thousands of books from more than 100 distinguished scholarly publishers in a wide range of subjects within the humanities and social sciences," then we purchase just the ones we use the most.

While you can search each database separately, and you might want to in order to enjoy the experience, it's not necessary. Every eBook in Duke and SpringerLink and Project MUSE show up in OneSearch.

It's Unlimited! But is it really "unlimited?" Probably not.

As the library buys more and more "unlimited user" eBooks for use as textbooks it has encountered more and more variations on the concept of "unlimited." Not only do rules vary from database to database (and we have over 40 eBook databases), they can even vary from eBook to eBook within a database.

Here is what "unlimited users" really means - An unlimited number of users can read the book online simultaneously.

R-E-A-D. That's it.

It does not mean unlimited downloading or unlimited printing or unlimited emailing or saving. In fact, it probably limits all those things - often to a single chapter or a limited number of pages such as 60 or 100. Moreover, you may have to create a personal account and log in to do these things.

Don't be confused by the word "Download."  (SEE GRAPHIC TOP RIGHT) For instance, when the eBooks on EBSCOhost database or the ProQuest eBook Central database says "Download", it really mean "Borrow." Even worse, you have to install special software to borrow. AND once you have borrowed it, no one else can read it until the borrowing period expires - often two weeks.

There are exceptions. While some eBook databases are download friendly, including SpringerLink, Taylor & Francis, Project MUSE, Credo Reference, Gale eBooks, and a few more, most are not.

Bottom line - R-E-A-D. Don't download.

Project MUSE Updated

One of the library's best buys is Project MUSE containing 60,000 eBooks. Now it's even better.

Instead of going directly to the database to discover content, Project MUSE has been loaded into OneSearch. When you click on one of its 80,000 titles, OneSearch takes you to the Project MUSE eBook. Once there you have access to all the bells and whistles pertaining to the database.

  • Content footnotes and references are presented “in-line” with the associated text in a journal article or book chapter. 
  • A highly responsive design meets a variety of device options.
  • DRM free. Keep what you download.

Personalized MUSE Accounts

Users who create a MyMUSE account may save and view prior searches, build a personal library of their favorite MUSE materials (books, chapters, journals, issues, or articles), generate citations for all or selected items in their library, search within their personal library, and view their activity history on MUSE. With an account, a user may also set up alerts for their favorite journals, publishers, and subjects on MUSE, and choose to receive the alerts via email or RSS, or see them in an attractive dashboard format on the site. Accessibility was a prime consideration in the new platform design, and users may set preferences in their account to customize the interface for optimal accessibility.

OneSearch Gets New Research Feature

OneSearch has added a new research function. Now when you find a useful article, it will tell you which other sources are cited in the work and which sources cite the work.

Making Video Databases Accessible to All User

The ability of the library's 200 plus databases to support students with hearing, vision or other disabilities varies widely. Most do a reasonably good job and improvements are being made on an ongoing basis. The latest improvement comes from Ambrose Video. By reviewing its improvements you can see what all databases are striving for and consider what more you can do to make your teaching  accessible to everyone.

Ambrose Improvements:

Highlights of site-wide enhancements for WCAG 2.2 compliance

                1. Consideration for Visual, Physical, and Cognitive impairments

                2. Page Contrast choices: Default, Night Mode, High Contrast (Black/White, Black/Yellow, Yellow/Black

                3. Keyboard Navigation using “Skip Menus” and Landmarks

                4. Fixed or Wide Page Layout

                5. Font size increase/decrease and Fixed Width Font

                6. Full implementation of ARIA for Navigation Landmarks, Screen Readers, Form Hints, and Messages

 Video Playback

                1. Overall improvement of video playback for WCAG compliance

                2. Closed Captions, allowing user settings for size/style/color

                3. Chapter Selection

                4. Variable Playback speed

                5. Keyboard navigation

                6. “Read-along” playback of transcript while video is playing (created from captions)

                7. Growing number of Audio Described programs

Happy Hobbit Day

                            Hobbit Day is Sept 22. Do you know your Hobbits? Take this fun quiz.

PS - We have all the Tolkien books and all the DVDs. Don't have a DVD player? Check out an external DVD drive with its own USB cable.