Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisitions

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is replacing Historical Abstracts with Full Text.

CQ Researcher is very much a multidisciplinary database and a wonderful place to start your research.

eTextbooks for fall 2021

The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR)

The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) is the first and only comprehensive reference work devoted to the Bible and its reception.
Since the publication of its first two volumes in 2009, EBR has continued to break new ground and is an indispensable reference work not only for theology and religious studies, but also for the humanities, the arts, cultural studies, and the social sciences. As its foundation, the encyclopedia contains the most up-to-date information on the origins and development of the Bible in the canons of Judaism and Christianity. It then documents the history of biblical interpretation and reception, not only in Christianity and Judaism, but also in Islam and other non-Western religious traditions and movements.

BrainPop Jr. Discontinued

 DISCUS, the State Library, had decided to discontinue BrainPop Jr, effective July 31.

New Databases to be provided FREE from DISCUS, the SC State Library

Discus has exciting news about collection changes for the upcoming school year. After much review, Discus will be adding four new resources and discontinuing theBrainPOP Jr subscription. A variety of databases from many vendors were considered before finalizing decisions to add these amazing resources. The State Library will be adding the following online resources to the Discus platform:

  • PebbleGo Animals (Capstone)*
  • PebbleGo Next Biographies(Capstone)*
  • African American History(Infobase)
  • Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center (Infobase)
  • Poetry for Students
  • Short Stories for Students

 *Note: For current PebbleGo subscriber schools and school districts, the Capstone representatives are ready to assist with your subscription options. A Capstone representative will be in touch in the near future or you may contact Joanna Boon, Capstone Library Representative, directly by email at joanna.boon@outlook.com or by phone (864) 887-2815.

 

New Database Highlights:

Capstone’s PebbleGo and PebbleGo SpanishAnimals

From frogs to great white sharks, students will find a lot of creatures and critters to discover inPebbleGo Animals! Learn about Animal Behavior, Classification and Habitats, Birds, Dinosaurs, Insects, Pets, and so much more.

  • For K-3 students
  • Wonderful online resource for early readers
  • Correlates with SC Standards
  • Includes articles, videos, and range maps for the youngest researchers
  • Lesson plans and activities are available for educators

 

Capstone’s PebbleGo Next - Biographies

This extensive list of Actors, American Indians, Explorers, Scientists, and Women are a few categories found in this content rich resource. Young learners will find the navigation simple yet engaging and a wealth of information for research projects.

  • For grades 3-5
  • Includes read aloud technology
  • Images, video, and audio are included with each article
  • Correlates with SC Standards

 

African American History

Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture.

  • For grades 5-13
  • Students can investigate and dig deeper into topics by examining different perspectives of key events
  • Includes videos, images, timelines, biographies, maps and primary documents
  • Subjects include: Abolitionist Movement, Great Black Migrations, Civil Rights Act of 1964, and African-American Heritage, and others

 

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center - FYI - We already had Ferguson's. Now we will get it for free.

Whether students are choosing a career path, entering the workforce, or professionals changing careers, Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center supports users every step of the way!

  • Includes Career Interest Assessments to identify work-interest
  • Explore careers on more than 140 industries and more than 1,000 professions
  • Education planning, school search, and financial aid databases are available for undergraduate, graduate, and vocational and tech schools in the U.S. and Canada
  • View professional career advice and insight from working professionals across many industries

 

Poetry for Students:

  • For middle school students through adults
  • Collection includes Volumes 1-62 and is a guide to understanding the most studied poems.
  • Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures.
  • Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form, and construction.
  • Provides information on media adaptations, suggested readings on similar themes and topics, as well as classroom aides.

 

Short Stories for Students:

  • For middle school students through adults
  • Collection includes Volumes 1-51 and is a guide to understanding the most studied short stories.
  • Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods.
  • Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes, and structure as well as the story’s culture and historical significance.
  • Provides information on media adaptions, suggested readings on similar themes and topics, as well as classroom aides.

 

Stay up to date on upcoming training opportunities through our training calendar:https://www.scdiscus.org/training-calendar and by subscribing to our training newsletter:https://www.scdiscus.org/contact-us

Anderson Alumni Wins Writing Award

Congratulations to 2017 graduate Maris Lawyer, a creative writing major, for wining the 2020 SC Novel Award.

Check out her story in the Synthesis, the magazine of the AU College of Arts and Sciences, produced by students in the communication major.

Business Expert Press - 110 eBooks

  • This collection of over 1,000 eBooks on all aspects of business is on trial for one year.
  • Some titles suitable for use as textbooks
  • All offer unlimited users.
  • Unlimited printing.
  • And can be downloaded and kept forever.
  • Search Business Expert Press database or discover the same content within OneSearch.

Free OER Textbooks in Current Use

Over the past year the following databases were canceled, swapped, discontinued.

  • Gale Presents: Peterson’s Career Prep - Was free from DISCUS the state library. They are substituting Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center. We already had Fergusons, but now it will be free.
  • Historical Abstracts with Full Text - Replaced with CQ Almanac.
  • Cochran Library - Replaced with McGraw Hill Medical Access Medicine, Access Physiotherapy, and F.A Davis Physiotherapy.

Of the library's 214 databases almost half are provided free by PASCAL or DISCUS. The majority of the library's remaining databases are discounted through our memberships with PASCAL, the Carolina Consortium, the Association of Christian Librarians, and other entities.

Digital Commons from bepress

Over the summer the library investigated the possibility of adding Digital Commons by bepress, an institutional repository which could benefit the entire campus. Unfortunately, this group purchase by the Association of Christian Librarians fell through. Not enough libraries signed on.

We will continue to explore the possibility of adding an affordable institutional repository.