Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisitions

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

Need Help Spending Your Budget? You Got It!

Librarians call the process of evaluating the collection, making a plan to improve it, selecting the right titles to buy, and then buying them in the right format - Collection Development. It even includes weeding the collection, and it’s never ending.

The Thrift Library has subdivided its budgets into many categories based in part on AU’s colleges and schools, but also on Library of Congress Classifications and our ability to track usage over time. For lack of a better term we call these arbitrary categories “Departments” and tracking of spending / acquisitions is shared monthly via the DeptBud Report.

You will notice in this month’s report an overall balance of 46% in Acquisitions Spending – not bad for this time of the year, but we need you to spend more. (NOTE: These are acquisitions, NOT subscriptions.)

During Feb. the library will email lists of recommended eBooks for your review. If you see anything you want, just copy and paste them into an email and we will purchase.

Money. [Photography]. Retrieved from Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest.
https://quest.eb.com/search/139_1926586/1/139_1926586/cite

Recommended Web Sites

The 1,000 web sites provided here were selected by AU faculty and library subject specialists to provide reliable online sources. Many sites were selected to support specific library and classroom assignments.         

Video Content - 330,000 titles, and Growing

While some of our video databases are annual subscriptions, others provide access to individual titles on a pay-as-you-go basis - usually for around $150 per year. All of this is done at no cost to departments.

Library Liaisons

Kent Millwood
231-2049

       Fred Guyette         231-2050

Betsy Elsner
231-5745

Business

Criminal Justice

Education
Interior Design
Theatre
Art
Christian Studies
English 
History
Language
Music
Political Science
  Communications
  Health Professions
  Psychology
  Science
  Sociology
Engineering
     

Need a Digital Copy for Canvas? The Library Can Help

If the content is available digitally (usually in the form of an eBook) then the library will purchase the title and share the url with you so you can place it on Canvas.

We also purchase articles and purchase or subscribe to streaming video.

EBooks may be available in 1 user, 3 user, or unlimited formats. If a title is only available for single users, your students will have to take turns using it in much the same way they would take turns using a physical book on reserve. This works well with articles and chapters, not so well with books, and not at all well with textbooks.

Need a chapter scanned? Or two? Or three? The library will be glad to do that for you and email the PDF for you to post in Canvas. Here are the rules.

  • It is legal to scan/copy one chapter or up to 10% of a book and place the scan in Canvas or the photocopy on reserve in the library.
  • If you need three chapters, the library will purchase up to three copies and make three scans/copies.

Test Drive This Month's Sporty Databases - Trials

Human Kinetics Dance Technique 

Featuring more than 500 videos and 850 audio clips alongside ebooks and images, Human Kinetics Dance Technique is a dynamic collection that presents instruction-focused material and fills in the gaps of dance in digital learning. On trial until March 2!

 

 

 

Credit - EMCO Gears Classic. [Photographer]. Retrieved from Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. https://quest.eb.com/search/115_2765856/1/115_2765856/cite