Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisitions

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

Take a 360-degree virtual tour of Jane Austen's House, from American Libraries Direct

Take a 360-degree virtual tour of Jane Austen's House

Drawing room of Jane Austen's House

 

Pan 3Sixty has created a virtual tour of Jane Austen’s House, a cottage in the village of Chawton, Hampshire (UK), where she lived for the last eight years of her life (1809–1817). Here she revised, wrote, and had published all her major works: Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey, and Persuasion. The tour includes narration and 360-degree views of the rooms and grounds of the house plus information on household items, clothing, jewelry, and other personal objects....   Pan 3Sixty  

IGI-Global Database - with books created by AU's Benjamin Deaton, Everon Maxey and Jeffrey Moore

This year the Thrift Library is participating in an Evidence Based trial of IGI-Global Database. This is where we place a deposit with the vendor in order to gain access to the entire database. At the end of the trial, the deposit is applied to the titles that are used the most. Content is discoverable through either the database or OneSearch.

Titles include:

  • Destination Management and Marketing: Breakthroughs in Research and Practice
  • Encyclopedia of Organizational Knowledge, Administration, and Technology
  • Handbook of Research on Modern Educational Technologies
  • The Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology
  • Handbook of Research on Creating Meaningful Experiences in Online Courses 
  • Handbook of Research on Human Development in the Digital Age. Includes "Mobile Technology and Learning," by Benjamin Deaton.
  • Handbook of Research on Mobile Technology, Constructivism, and Meaningful Learning. Includes "Identifying Effective Uses of Mobiles for Encouraging 21st Century Skills," by Benjamin Deaton.
  • Training Initiatives and Strategies for the Modern Workforce, includes "Impetus for Culture Transformation," by Everon Maxey and Jeffrey Moore.

All About Vaccines

Wiley's New Directions Series Goes Digital. Find them in OneSearch. One Year Moratorium.

     

  • New directions for adult and continuing education (Online) 1990+
  • New directions for community colleges (Online) 1973+
  • New directions for higher education. c1973+
  • New directions for institutional research.  1974+
  • New directions for student services. 1978+
  • New directions for teaching and learning (Online) 1980+

Want to keep your students in college, improve grades, and increase enrollment? Try free textbooks!

The high costs of textbooks lead to 

  • Poorer grades
  • Class withdrawal
  • Lower retention
  • Choosing one class over another
  • Choosing one major over another
  • Lower admissions

The Thrift Library offers two ways of helping you lower or even eliminate the high cost of textbooks.

1) Match your assigned textbook to an eBook available for unlimited users. 

2) Help you find an alternative eTextbook.

  • This may be a normal textbook available as an eTextbook, or
  • It may be a FREE OER title (Open Education Title)