Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisitions

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

ArtStor Subject Guides

Library Content Keeps Growing: Big, Bigger... GIGANTIC?

By now everyone knows that the Thrift Library, and all other academic library's in SC migrated to a new and greatly improved library platform share by everyone. Now, not only can you see the 100,000 physical items in the Thrift Library, you can see the 12 million physical items across the state. That doesn't include the library's half million eBooks.

But it gets better. 

 Among all the other good things that came about via the change is the addition of large numbers of free, open education books and textbooks. With the hep of PASCAL, the library has been going about and finding entire collections to add. Dozens, hundreds, thousands at a time.

Yoiu can find these in OneSearch by limiting your search on the left to Open Access.

New Credo Reference Titles

Art

  • A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes
  • A to Z of American Women in the Visual Arts, Second Edition is an informative reference work that covers American women in the world of the visual arts from the eighteenth century to the present day.
  • A to Z of Women: American Women in the Visual Arts
  • Blackwell Companions to Art History: A Companion to Modern Art     

Business

  • A to Z of Women: American Women Business Leaders and Entrepreneurs 
  • Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Finance Book
  • Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Job Hunting Book
  • Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Marketing & PR Book
  • The Handy Accounting Answer Book
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, and Economic History

Criminal Justice

  • American Social and Political Movements of the 20th Century: Rethinking the American Prison Movement
  • Concepts in Crime and Society
  • Wiley Handbooks in Criminology and Criminal Justice: The Handbook of Homicide            

Education

  • Bloomberg Video Collection - The Bloomberg Video Collection is a curated set of educational videos and QuickTakes covering current topics of importance today.
  • Wiley Handbooks in Education: The Wiley International Handbook of History Teaching and Learning

English

  • Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable – Updated
  • The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature
  • The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales
  • The Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations
  • The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms

Health Professions

  • Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health – Updated
  • Health Reference Series: Global Pandemics and Epidemics and How They Relate to You 
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness / 2nd ed- Updated
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology

History

  • Africa: War and Conflict in the Twentieth Century         
  • From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women – Updated
  • Latin American History and Culture: Encyclopedia of Colonial Latin America (1550s to 1820s)       
  • Latin American History and Culture: Encyclopedia of Early Modern Latin America (1820s to 1900)              
  • Latin American History and Culture: Encyclopedia of Pre-Colonial Latin America (Prehistory to 1550s)
  • Routledge Histories: The Routledge History of the American South          
  • Routledge Histories: The Routledge History of World Peace Since 1750
  • The American Women's Almanac: 500 Years of Making History  
  • The Oxford Companion to British History
  • The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
  • The Oxford Companion to International Relations
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History
  • The Routledge Handbook of Asian American Studies
  • Timelines in American History: Slavery in America Timeline
  • Timelines in American History: Suffrage in America Timeline

MUSIC

  • Classical Music: An Introduction               

Political Science

  • From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women – Updated
  • Landmark Supreme Court Cases: Abortion
  • Landmark Supreme Court Cases: Freedom of the Press
  • The Oxford Companion to International Relations
  • The Religious Right and American Politics.           

Science

  • New Scientist Instant Expert: Machines that Think
  • Teach Yourself: Basic Mathematics: An Introduction
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology
  • Walker's Mammals of the World: Monotremes, Marsupials, Afrotherians, Xenarthrans, and Sundatherians          

Theatre

  • A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes
  • The Basics: World Theatre
  • The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance

Misc.

  • Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Job Hunting Book
  • The History of Modern Fashion
  • The Oxford Companion to Food
  • The Oxford Companion to Ships and the Sea
  • The Oxford Companion to Sugar and Sweets

FYI - The NEW OneSearch searches every word in every book in Credo Reference and lets you limit your search to individual Chapters or Reference Entries.

Copyright: In the Library and Canvas.

Instead making clips of YouTube videos, you can link to specific parts of the video. This can be a valuable feature to get right to a specific part of the content while avoiding copying. This article by LifeWire, How to Link to a Specific Part in a YouTube Video  will tell you how. 

Free Textbooks

Interested in free, open source textbooks? PASCAL recently added 860 free textbooks to OneSearch from the Open Textbook Library (OTL)

  • Go to OneSearch and type in your topic.
  • Limit your search on the left to
    • Open Access under Availability
    • Books under Resource Type
    • Open Textbook Library under Author/Creator

 

FYI – Tens of thousands of other open source materials in all formats can be discovered in OneSearch using normal searches limited to Open Access under Availability.

Dont Forget "Good Reading"

Each month the library promotes its most interesting new books for both faculty and students in Good Reading.

See what choices your colleagues have made.

Help us buy the best in reading by sending your selections to your library liaison.