Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisitions

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

New, Rebranded, and On Trial Databases

Career Transitions becomes Gale Presents: Peterson's Career Prep. 

IGI - Global - this eBook "platform" is a means to purchase eBooks at a discounted price. The database itself is free. After one year of access to over 5,000 titles, the library has agreed to spend $5,000 in order to receive a 55% discount on whichever titles it selects for purchase.. All topics. Mostly reference books.

World Religion Database - On Trial

World Almanac for Kids - Elementary - Free from DISCUS

World Almanac for Kids - Intermediate - Free from DISCUS

Faculty Select - Free from EBSCO

Open Access Digital Theological Library - Free

"Finale"by flakeparadigm is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Journal Search Provides Some Interesting Analytics - How Many eJournals in YOUR Area?

The new Journal Search that came with the NEW OneSearch provides some interesting analytics, including the ability to determine for the first time an accurate, de-duplicated title count by subject area, topic and subtopic. For instance we now know that we have 

  • 626 Titles - Arts, Architecture, and Applied Arts
    • 312 Titles - Visual Arts
      • 55 Titles - Decorative Arts

That's the good news. The bad news is that the new system shows 6,000 less titles (34,000) than the old system (40,000). This is due in part to the old system's difficulty de-duping titles, but also in part because not all of our 200+ databases are working correctly in the new system - yet. Expect the 34,000 title count to grow modestly over the year as we iron out those problems.

Changes in PASCAL Delivers

PASCAL Delivers has been integrated into OneSearch. If you find a bibliographic record for a physical book held by another college library in SC, click "sign in" and enter your AU email address and password. Those credentials will allow you to request the physical book to be sent to AU within 5 to 7 days.

Impacts on Services due to COVID-19: 

  • Due to campus restrictions at most institutions, Pick-up Anywhere and Visiting Patron services will not be available for the fall 2020 semester.
  • To reduce the spread of COVID-19 and protect users, some delivery and processing procedures have changed. PASCAL libraries are making every effort to fulfill the community’s needs during this time; however, items will take longer to arrive and, in some cases, may be inaccessible. Please allow 5-7 business days for delivery to your home library. Thank you for your patience!

Thrift Librarian Elected to Statewide Position

Congratulations to Betsy Elsner for her election to PASCAL's Shared Library System Steering Committee where she will help oversee five teams whose role is to manage South Carolina's new shared library system which includes OneSearch, the Library Catalog, Database and eBook management, Cataloging, Acquisitions, Course Reserves, PACAL Delivers, etc. etc., all rolled into one system shared by all the academic libraries in SC.

This is a promotion over her previous duties as chair of the Discovery, Reference, & End-User Experience Team which helped to move all of South Carolina, including the Thrift Library to South Carolina's new Shared Library Systems Platform.

Thrift Library App - Updated and Improved - Search library resources, reserve study rooms, check our hours and calendar, contact the library and view maps.

New Credo Reference Titles as of Sept. 2020

As part of our subscription to Credo Reference (Provided for free by DISCUS - the SC State Library) our content is constantly updated and expanded. Here are new titles gifted to us over the last 6 months.

Art

  • A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes
  • A to Z of Women: American Women in the Visual Arts
  • Blackwell Companions to Art History: A Companion to Modern Art

Business

  • A to Z of Women: American Women Business Leaders and Entrepreneurs
  • Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
  • Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Finance Book
  • Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Job Hunting Book
  • Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Marketing & PR Book
  • The Handy Accounting Answer Book
  • Women in Management

Christian Studies

  • The Religious Right and American Politics

Communications

  • Keywords for Media Studies
  • NewsHour Productions Current Issues Video Collection
  • Opinions Throughout History: Social Media

Criminal Justice

  • The Handbook of Homicide
  • Wiley Handbooks in Criminology and Criminal Justice: The Handbook of Homicide

Education

  • Cambridge Educational Video Collection
  • Keywords in Disability Studies

English

  • Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
  • Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory
  • Special Education: A Reference Book for Policy & Curriculum Development
  • Wiley Handbooks in Education: The Wiley International Handbook of History Teaching and Learning
  • The Handy English Grammar Answer Book
  • The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms

General

  • The History of Modern Fashion
  • World Heritage Sites: Tourism, Local Communities and Conservation Activities
  • 50 Success Classics
  • A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes

History

  • A to Z of Women: American Women Leaders and Activists
  • Africa: War and Conflict in the Twentieth Century
  • African Dominion: A New History of Empire in Early and Medieval West Africa
  • American Social and Political Movements of the 20th Century: Rethinking the American Antinuclear Movement
  • American Social and Political Movements of the 20th Century: Rethinking the American Prison Movement
  • An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History
  • Latin American History and Culture: Encyclopedia of Colonial Latin America (1550s to 1820s)
  • Latin American History and Culture: Encyclopedia of Early Modern Latin America (1820s to 1900)
  • Latin American History and Culture: Encyclopedia of Pre-Colonial Latin America (Prehistory to 1550s)
  • Reference Guide to the Major Wars and Conflicts in History: Wars in the Ancient World (Prehistory to 600 CE)
  • Reference Guide to the Major Wars and Conflicts in History: Wars in the Contemporary World (1950 to Present)
  • Reference Guide to the Major Wars and Conflicts in History: Wars in the Early 20th Century (1900 to 1950)
  • Routledge Histories: The Routledge History of the American South
  • Routledge Histories: The Routledge History of World Peace Since 1750
  • Timelines in American History: Suffrage in America Timeline
  • Timelines in American History: The Civil War and Reconstruction Timeline
  • Timelines in American History: The Colonial Era Timeline
  • Timelines in American History: The Eighties Timeline
  • Timelines in American History: The Fifties Timeline
  • Timelines in American History: The Gilded Age Timeline
  • Timelines in American History: The Seventies Timeline
  • Timelines in American History: The Sixties Timeline
  • Timelines in American History: Slavery in America Timeline
  • The American Women's Almanac: 500 Years of Making History

HP

  • Communicable Diseases
  • Encyclopedia of Feeding and Eating Disorders
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
  • Global Pandemics and Epidemics and How They Relate to You provides information about outbreaks, epidemics, and pandemics and their related threats.
  • Health Reference Series: Global Pandemics and Epidemics and How They Relate to You
  • Human Emerging and Re-emerging Infections
  • Routledge Histories: The Routledge History of Disease
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness

Music

  • A to Z of Women: American Women in the Performing Arts
  • Classical Music: An Introduction

Political Science

  • From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women
  • Landmark Supreme Court Cases: Abortion
  • Landmark Supreme Court Cases: Due Process
  • Landmark Supreme Court Cases: Freedom of Religion
  • Landmark Supreme Court Cases: Freedom of Speech, Assembly, and Expression
  • Landmark Supreme Court Cases: Freedom of the Press
  • The Religious Right and American Politics
  • The Oxford Companion to International Relations
  • Routledge Histories: The Routledge History of World Peace Since 1750
  • A to Z of Women: American Women Leaders and Activists

Psychology

  • 50 Success Classics
  • ShortCuts TV Video Collection

Science

  • A Swift Guide to Butterflies of Mexico and Central America
  • A Swift Guide to Butterflies of North America
  • Encyclopedia of Seas: The Western Arctic Seas Encyclopedia
  • Encyclopedia of the Anthropocene
  • Keywords for Environmental Studies
  • Teach Yourself: Basic Mathematics: An Introduction
  • Walker's Mammals of the World: Monotremes, Marsupials, Afrotherians, Xenarthrans, and Sundatherians
  • The Handy Astronomy Answer Book
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology
  • The SAGE Handbook of Web History

Sociology

  • The Routledge Handbook of Asian American Studies
  • Keywords for African American Studies
  • Keywords for Asian American Studies

Theatre

  • A to Z of Women: American Women in the Performing Arts
  • Acting: The Basics remains a practical and theoretical guide to the world of the professional actor, which skillfully combines ideas from a range of practitioners and linking the academy to the industry.
  • The Basics: Acting: The Basics
  • The Basics: World Theatre

FYI - While you can search for Credo Reference content directly within the database, Credo Reference is completely discoverable via OneSearch.

Use Choice Reviews to Select Outstanding Book Titles