Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisition

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

Stretching Your Budget through Evidence Based Collection Development

The traditional method of Collection Development - buying the books you think you need and hoping that they will get used - is being used less and less, not only by faculty across the nation, but also by faculty here at AU. It is being replaced by "evidence-based acquisition" or EBA. This is where the faculty and library partner to turn on hundreds or even thousands of e-books within various databases and then wait to see if they get used - or not. If they get used the book is purchased. If not, there is no charge for them remaining as potential purchases.

The advantages of EBA over traditional purchasing are:

  • There is no wastage. If you don't use it you don't pay for it.
  • There is an element of serendipity where students and faculty sometimes use books that no one would have anticipated
  •  "Viewing" books does not automatically generate a purchase. Each EBA program has its own rules, but in general, one has to read or print a substantial amount of the e-book before a purchase is triggered. Consequently, much of what is used is free.

Three EBA programs this year are Cambridge, Project MUSE and EBSCO. The library has long provided e-book access to these vendors. During the course of the EBA trial, the number of accessible titles in each database will more than double.

                

New Credo Reference Content Summer 2019

Credo Reference is a database of over 1,200 dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, etc. Our subscription based content is constantly being refreshed and added to. Additionally, the library occasionally purchases important reference titles to add to Credo Reference.

Because Credo Reference searches every word on every page of every book, it is not necessary to know which books to use. Simply conduct a key word search and Credo Reference will take you to the relevant information.

 

Art
Edinburgh Dictionary of Modernism
Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek World
Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome

Business
50 Classics Series: 50 Business Classics
Atlas of Sustainable Development Goals
Consumer Survival: An Encyclopedia of Consumer Rights, Safety, and Protection
Dictionary of Shipping Terms
Doing Business 2018: Reforming to Create Jobs
Economic Thinkers: A Biographical Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of American Business History
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology
Fair Progress?: Economic Mobility across Generations around the World
Real-World Decision Making: An Encyclopedia of Behavioral Economics
SAGE Encyclopedia of Corporate Reputation, The
SAGE Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
World Development Report 2019 : The Changing Nature of Work 

Christian Studies
Atlas of World Religions
Encyclopedia of American Religious History
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Encyclopedia of Catholicism
Encyclopedia of Hinduism
Encyclopedia of Islam
Encyclopedia of Judaism
Encyclopedia of Protestantism
Essential Bible Dictionary

Communications
Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication
Handbook of the Psychology of Communication Technology

Criminal Justice
Encyclopedia of Conspiracies and Conspiracy Theories
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
Encyclopedia of School Crime and Violence
Encyclopedia of Terrorism
Handy Forensic Science Answer Book
Understanding Juvenile Justice and Delinquency

Education
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science: Cognitive Processes
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science: Ecological Settings and Processes
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science: Theory and Method
Handbook of Research on Effective Communication in Culturally Diverse Classrooms
Handbook of the Psychology of Communication Technology
Holidays around the World
SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation
SAGE Encyclopedia of Out-of-School Learning

English
Edinburgh Dictionary of Modernism
Encyclopedia of African-American Literature
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing
Encyclopedia of American Literature
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature Encyclopedia of the American Indian in the 12th-Century
Encyclopedia of Renaissance Literature
Handy Literature Answer Book

Health Sciences 
Encyclopedia of AIDS
Encyclopedia of Autoimmune Disease
Great Encyclopedia Nutrition and Food Labels
Handy Diabetes Answer Book
Harvard Medical School Commentaries on Health
Harvard Medical School Special Health Reports
Johns Hopkins Guide to Psychological First Aid
Library of Health and Living: the Encyclopedia of Men’s Health
Palgrave Handbook of Social Theory in Health, Illness and Medicine
Palgrave International Handbook of Healthcare Policy and Governance, The
Second Pediatrician in Good Health

History
Brief History Brazil
Brief History of Afghanistan
Brief History of Australia
Brief History of Canada
Brief History of France
Brief History of Germany 
Brief History of Great Britain
Brief History of India
Brief History of Iraq
Brief History of Ireland
Brief History of Israel
Brief History of Korea
Brief History of Mexico
Brief History of Russia
Brief History of Saudi Arabia
Concise History of the Middle East
Dictionary of Classical Greek Quotations
Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek World
Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome
Encyclopedia of Free Blacks and People of Color in the Americas
Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America 1900 to the Present
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World 
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians
Native American Landmarks and Festivals
New Biographical Dictionary of Scottish Women
Normandy Battlefields
Opinions Throughout History: The Environment
World History: a Comprehensive Reference Set (6 v.)

Interior Design
Handbook of Interior Design

Music
World of Musicals: An Encyclopedia of Stage, Screen, and Song

Political Science
50 Politics Classics
American Biographies: American Political Leaders
American Governance
Encyclopedia of African-American Politics
Encyclopedia of American Foreign-Policy
Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections
Encyclopedia of Conspiracies and Conspiracy Theories
Encyclopedia of North American Immigration
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics 
Supreme Court Justices
Vice Presidents
 
Psychology
Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behavior
Encyclopedia of Depression
Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication
Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders
Encyclopedia Suicide
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science: Cognitive Processes
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science: Ecological Settings and Processes
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science: Theory and Method 
Handbook of the Psychology of Communication Technology
Handy Psychology Answer Book
Johns Hopkins Guide to Psychological First Aid International 
Mental Health Care Issues in America: An Encyclopedia
SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology

Science
American Biographies: American Scientists
Bees in Your Backyard: a Guide to North America’s Bees
Encyclopedia of AIDS
Encyclopedia of Chemistry
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes
Encyclopedia of Evolution
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy
New Scientist Instant Expert: How Numbers Work
Opinions Throughout History: The Environment
Second Page of Marine Science 
What a Waste 2.0: a Global Snapshot Solid Waste Management To 2050

Sociology
American Biographies: American Social Leaders and Activists
Fair Progress?: Economic Mobility across Generations around the
Key Concepts in Race and Ethnicity
World Development Report 2019 : The Changing Nature of Work

Theatre
World of Musicals: An Encyclopedia of Stage, Screen, and Son

Database Upgrade - Music Index with Full Text

The Music Department recently swapped out some databases which weren't pulling their weight for some new ones.

The first was an upgrade. Music Index (which was only an index and had no full text, was upgraded to Music Index with Full Text,

FYI - In this case, individual subscriptions to the 170 titles in Music Index with Full Text would cost us 20 times the cost of the database.

The upgrade, and the addition, IPA Source (below), were paid for by the cancelation of three indices - RILM, RIPM,,and RISM. At the time of their selection, they were the best choices available, but over time other choices, such as Music Index with Full Text, have become more cost effective. Moreover, the addition of OneSearch in conjunction with the library's 200 databases greatly reduces the need for these indices.

New Database - IPA Source

We Still Buy Videos - You Might Want to Watch This One

Although the library has access to 260,000 streaming videos through Alexander Street, Ambrose, Credo Reference, Films on Demand, Kanopy, 
Learn 360, and Swank, it still buys the occasional DVD or streaming video.

Here is our latest.

You Might Want to Watch This One