Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisition

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

Flipped Library - Collections, Reference, Instruction, and now Acquisitions

We are always talking about the "flipped" library - flipping from print to digital, flipping from face to face to online reference, flipping from classroom instruction to online instruction.

One other area that has flipped is Acquisitions. Traditionally library materials were carefully selected by faculty and librarians - then purchased. We still do that, but another method is coming on fast - Patron Determined Acquisitions. This is where the library activates dozens, hundreds, or even thousands of eBooks and makes them available through OneSearch or a proprietary database. Until or unless the titles get used, no charge is generated. But they are there when you need then.

One example of how this method is being used is Music where hundreds of musical scores are activated in OneSearch where they are unused and unpaid for - until they are. Since the great majority of these will never be used, no money and no shelf space is wasted.

Libraries no longer invest vast amounts of time, money, and shelf space building comprehensive collections. Instead they are nimble, long-armed "accessors" of information who can throw an overwhelming amount of information at almost any topic while still reaching in an plucking out the exact title users need when "specific" is what they want. 

Last year the library "activated" over 3,000 PDA  titles worth $30,000 .

Of these, users selected 51 titles, worth $5,340. Six more were automatically upgraded to more users.

Comparatively, specific title requests made by faculty, librarians, and even students totaled 6,700 at a value of $46,492.

 

Here is an analogy for faculty. You will still go to the market and pick the best fruit, vegetables, meats and grains for your students to use. But you are more than a shopper now. You are a farmer. And your job is to plant the crops your students need via large PDA title lists, and then let your students do their own selecting.

Mergent Online Gets Major Upgrade

Mergent Online now provides "premium" access to all users at no extra charge.

  • Global company financials
  • Global equity pricing
  • Global company data
  • Global annual reports
  • News and web content
  • Ownership data
  • Executive profiles
  • SEC and SEDAR filings
  • Mergent macroeconomic database
 

FYI - Mergent provides free training webinars.- customerrelations@mergent.com

Thrift Library Video

Database Changes

NAME CHANGES

 Image Quest is now Britannica Image Quest

  Britannica Animal Kingdom has bee absorbed into Britannica School and no longer has a separate link.

 

NEW - FREE

  OADTL - Contains Almost 200,000 eBooks and 2,500 journal titles In full text.

 

This Month's Database Trials

    

Need Equipment? The library has a wide variety of equipment for Checkout

    

Project MUSE Keeps Growing

Project MUSE has grown from 26,000 eBooks with unlimited users to 36,000 - but you have to find them in Project MUSE. They are not visible through OneSearch or the Library Catalog.

After one year the library purchases the most heavily used titles.

100 University Press publishers - Princeton, Harvard, University of Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, etc.