Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisition

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

DISCUS Cuts Nursing Database

DISCUS (The South Carolina State Library) has announced it will replace Nursing Resource Center and the Nursing and Allied Health Collection  (a combined database) effective January 18, 2019 and substitute Career Transitions, an online career guidance center that walks job seekers through the job-search process from beginning to end.

FYI - The Nursing Resource Center and the Nursing and Allied Health Collection database had only 14 circulations last year. This was a free resource.

New Database - Career Transitions

Target audiences include: recent college graduates, current students, long-term unemployed, under employed and trades professionals, and adults rejoining the workforce.
 
Note: Users must create a personal account t to use this database.

Fergusons Career Center UPDATED

The Career Skills section of the “Job-Hunting and Workplace Skills” landing page—presenting essential information for understanding and mastering career and workplace readiness skills and serving a direct need in career education and preparation - has been updated and expanded.

The nine Career Skills, each containing related Skill Tips and Exercises, include:
Communication Skills Leadership Skills Problem Solving
Ethics and Etiquette Learning the Ropes Research and Information Management
Finding a Job Organization Skills Teamwork Skills.
Users can find the Career Skills sections by going to the “Launch Your Career” drop-down menu at the top of any page and clicking on “Career Skills,” or by clicking on the “More Resources” link in the “Launch Your Career” section of the home page.

This Month's Database Trials

                          

Flipped Library - Collections, Reference, Instruction, and now Acquisitions

We are always talking about the "flipped" library - flipping from print to digital, flipping from face to face to online reference, flipping from classroom instruction to online instruction.

One other area that has flipped is Acquisitions. Traditionally library materials were carefully selected by faculty and librarians - then purchased. We still do that, but another method is coming on fast - Patron Determined Acquisitions. This is where the library activates dozens, hundreds, or even thousands of eBooks and makes them available through OneSearch or a proprietary database. Until or unless the titles get used, no charge is generated. But they are there when you need then.

One example of how this method is being used is Music where hundreds of musical scores are activated in OneSearch where they are unused and unpaid for - until they are. Since the great majority of these will never be used, no money and no shelf space is wasted.

Libraries no longer invest vast amounts of time, money, and shelf space building comprehensive collections. Instead they are nimble, long-armed "accessors" of information who can throw an overwhelming amount of information at almost any topic while still reaching in and plucking out the exact title users need when "specific" is what they want. 

Last year the library "activated" over 3,000 PDA  titles worth $30,000 . 

Of these, users selected 51 titles, worth $5,340. Six more were automatically upgraded to more users.

Comparatively, specific title requests made by faculty, librarians, and even students totaled 6,700 at a value of $46,492.

Here is an analogy for faculty. You will still go to the market and pick the best fruit, vegetables, meats and grains for your students to use. But you are more than a shopper now. You are a farmer. And your job is to plant the crops your students need via large PDA title lists, and then let your students do their own selecting.

Its Here! The New York Times. On your phone and iPad its an App. On your computer it's a webpage.

 Subscribe to the New York Times, on your computer, iPad, and smartphone.

Just download the app, push the button, and voila, the New York Times, when and where you want it. 

  •  Content all the way back to volume 1.
  • Alerts. - Doing a paper on Brexit? Set up an alert. Just interested in the new Star Wars movie? Set up an alert. 
  • A supporting website for classroom teachers and students.

Need a good Citation Generator and Research Manager? Try Zotero and ZoteroBib!

Dont Forget "Good Reading"