Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisition

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

Christian Studies Adds Two eBook Collections

Sometimes large cost savings are possible by buying eBook collections. For the last few years Christian Studies has taken advantage of eBook collections available to them through the library's membership in the Association of Christian Libraries - each time saving 35% off the normal cost.

Although these are purchased as single user titles, most EBSCO eBooks are automatically upgraded to 3 users or unlimited users when multiple users click on them.

The World Data Analyst Database is No More

The education database, World Data Analyst, has ceased publication. This had been provided free of cost by DISCUS.  

If you have used this database in the past, we recommend that you substitute World Bank Open Data, the United States Census Bureau, or the CIA World Fact Book. All of these free sites can be found scattered about the library's Recommended Websites, including:

Reserves - Statistics

Have you ever wondered how often the books and articles you place on Reserve in the library get used?

Check out last year's statistics.

Are We Losing the Ability to Read? Maryanne Wolf thinks we are.

Database Trials for November

               

3D Human Anatomy & Physiology Upgraded for Mobile Use

3D Human Anatomy & Physiology, an interactive, web-based learning module available to all PASCAL members has been upgraded. The former platform used Adobe Flash and was not compatible with mobile devices. With the upgrade, the resource can now be used with all modern browsers and tablets, without the need for plug-ins or apps.

Affordable Learning / PASCAL Honors 3 AU Faculty

PASCAL, the academic libraries of South Carolina, recently honored the following Anderson University faculty for developing methods for reducing the cost of textbooks for their student - 

  • Dr. James Duncan, Professor of Communication
  • Dr. Robert Franklin - PSY 190: Statistics for the Behavioral Sciences
  • Dr. S. Andrew Stowe - 101. Composition and Communication