Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisition

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

Need Audiobooks? We got them!

Yes, we have audiobooks!

On August 18, 2018 the Thrift Library purchased its very first audiobook - Waking Up White, and Finding Myself in the Story of Race, by Debby Irving. Since then it has bought ten more. 

Find out all about listening to audiobooks on your iPad and smart phone.

SWANK is HERE! Total Streaming Videos Available to Faculty Grow to 125,000 titles.

SWANK has joined Alexander Street, Ambrose, Films on Demand, and Kanopy, as the library's fourth largest provider of streaming videos. 

All but Ambrose are pay as you go, ranging from $75 to $150 per year - billed to the library rather to your departments. 

Just load the video's title link into Canvas.

Unlike our other providers, SWANK is more entertainment oriented, though it does contain documentaries. Although you can watch SWANK from anywhere at any time. our licensing agreement requires that all viewing be academic in nature. Nevertheless there are many recordings of literary works, theater and musicals, and historic events which you might with to use in class.

25,000 titles.

Want something from JSTOR?

JSTOR allows individual users to create a FREE! MyJSTOR account and have full-text access to up to 3 articles every two weeks (that’s up to 78 articles a year). It’s not a perfect solution to database access, but it is at least a partial solution that doesn’t cost you anything. Find out more information here: http://about.jstor.org/rr.

Wondering why AU does not subscribe to JSTOR?  Please click here.

But wait! AU DOES have JSTOR! Sort of. The JSTOR index is free to all and has been listed as one of our databases since 2011. Every time you use OneSearch, you are searching the complete content of JSTOR. If the article you find is contained within one of our databases, OneSearch takes you to it.. If not, you can still get the item through Interlibrary Loan..

Over the past year the Music and Business departments have DOUBLED their budgets. You can too.

There is a new method of buying eBooks that allows you to place them in OneSearch without buying them. There they sit waiting patiently alongside all the eBooks you already own without taking up any space or costing any money. You are only charged IF and WHEN they are used.

Worried about not having enough money left over for traditional purchases? No problem.

  • To date, departmental expenditures for DDA (Demand Driven Acquisition) titles is running at about 6% of the overall departmental budget.

Worried about going over budget? No problem.

  • We monitor spending constantly and can deactivate each department's titles with a single click at any time.

Example 1 - Music has chosen to activate all the music scores available through OneSearch. This includes over 500 scores valued at $10,000. 

Example 2 - Business has activated every Harvard Business Review title, comprising over 400 eBooks valued at over $30,000. 

Need Books? We've Got Book Sales

This Month's Database Trials

Web of Science -  Find out what journals / articles have the highest impact.

SAGE Business Cases - Quickly and easily find authoritative cases for independent study, in-class lecture, or assigned reading

SAGE Video – Business and Management Collection - 454 videos. It includes in-depth interviews with experts from across the globe on topics as varied as innovation management, corporate social responsibility and social media marketing. 

1findr - An index to 27 million green and gold open access articles harvested by 1science from thousands of renowned organizational sources and repositories