Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Newsletter

Departmental Budgets and Acquisition

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Check the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

NewBooks database updated to include both books and eBooks

FYI -The best way to determine if a physical resource had been received and processed is to check and see if it has a Call Number.

Since eBooks normally do not have Call Numbers, check to see if if they have a Cost and Date Received. 

Farewell Kara Hollandsworth

With great regret we announce that Kara Hollandsworth will be leaving her position as Coordinator of Instructional Services effective August 31. Kara has been an enthusiastic and effective promoter of the library during her time here - developing new methods of instruction, giving presentations, collaborating with faculty, staff, and students, and organizing special events.

  • Too often our friends and colleagues move on to other things without the opportunity to say goodbye, so you are invited to call, email, or visit  between now and her last day, Friday, August 31. In the meantime, Kara's liaison duties will be redistributed as follows:
  •     English - Betsy Elsner
  •     Education - Dana Whelchel
  •     History - Kent Millwood
  •     Political Science - Kent Millwood
  •     Theater - Darlene McKay

If you are a member of the five departments mentioned above, you may order books and other library materials directly from Lorraine Casey at lcasey@andersonuniversity.edu - 231-1855.

Mergent Intellect Upgraded to Mergent Online

Effective Immediately, one of interlibrary most important business resources, Mergent Intellect, has been upgraded to the bigger, better, and more professional Mergent Online.This was been made possible by the elimination of the Wall Street Journal Online.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1684-1932 Purchased Late Last Year

  • The entire 5 Series and 50 Thematic Subset AAS Collection ranges from 1684 to 1912 and has 8,000 publications,
  • All content includes indexed subject headings – allowing for searches to bring back 2 important aspects of results: 
  • When searching keyword terms the most relevant items are brought to the top of the result list, unlike searching a convoluted sea of results based on full text mentions. 
  • Allows searching of terms that didn’t exist during the run of 1684 – 1912, for example “feminism” as a term didn’t exist back in 1766. 
  • ‚ÄčFuzzy matching for old vs new age terms: example of “weather glass” = thermometer and vice versa. 
  • Covers multiple program and discipline specific areas with content not available elsewhere outside of the American Antiquarian Society. 
  • Dictionary of Pre-19th Century Terms & Definitions.

DISCUS Provides Free Access to Learn360 for all Universities with an Education Program

Learn360 has over 147,000 multimedia assets for Pre-K through Grade 12 and covers all subject areas.   

  •  Amazing videos from more than 200 producers such as  Reading Rainbow, A&E, Jim Henson, and Weston Woods
  •  Interactive Learning Tools
  •  Science Experiments
  •  Fact Sheets
  •  Teacher Guides

DISCUS Swaps Free Auto Repair Database

DISCUS, South Carolina's State Library, has substituted EBSCO's AutoMate for Auto Repair Reference Center over the summer.

Did you know that DISCUS provides over 40 free databases to the library's of South Carolina, including some of the Thrift Library's most important titles :

         Bloom's Literature / Britanica / Learning Express / Opposing Viewpoints

-saving us tens of thousands of dollars.

PASCAL announces SCALE a statewide initiative to provide free and inexpensive textbooks and open access materials

    Note that PASCAL has earmarked $90,000 to this project.

Of special note is its awards program for examples of best practices by faculty across the state. if you have written a textbook or utilize Open Access materials in your classes, you might want to apply for the Professor for Affordable Learning Award