Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Newsletter

What's going on in the Thrift Library Building?

You are going to want to know the results of the summer's renovation to all three floors.

Who's moving in?

What will the hours be?

Will there be coffee?

Departmental Budgets and Acquisition

Check your departmental budget allocations, spending, and balance.

Review databases charged to your department.

Determine the status of all your book, eBook and media orders - date ordered, date received, list, cost, call number assigned, etc.

Contact your liaison to order new materials.

Contact Head of Acquisitions to inquire about unfilled orders.

Thrifty the Library Squirrel. Follow us on Instagram!

     Follow us @thriftlib! 

      Image result for instagram logo

 

New Content in OneSearch - PDQ


 

PDQ (Physician Data Query) is a comprehensive source of cancer information produced by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). Search more than 14,000 PDQ records in OneSearch and access full text of those records on the NCI platform. 

Note: This is not a separate "database". Rather it is free government site made discoverable by OneSearch. To find PDQ records, combine the word PDQ with your search term(s).

Example: "PDQ neoplasms." .

A great source for graphics!

All articles available in Spanish.

Upgraded Database - Business Source Ultimate

  3,507 active full-text journals and magazines

  2,112 active full-text peer-reviewed journals

  20% Bigger than its predecessor Business Source Complete. 

  Includes many EconLit Full Text Titles

New Database - Alexander Street Video

34,000 streaming videos.

Load into Canvas by title or segment.

Use it three times and the library automatically pays for it.

$149 one year / $249 3 years / $499 purchase

ebrary is now called ProQuest Ebook Central! Bigger! Better! Easier to Use!

  

The library's BIGGEST ebook database!

  • 190,000 volumes with 650,000 more available for purchase
  • Improved database searching
  • Improved online reader
  • Improved downloading of titles / chapters / selections

*Unlimited access to subscription titles. Purchased titles may be 1, 3, or unlimited users.

From the library's Home Page click on...

Attention Faculty. We need to know your preferred format - Paperback, Hardback, eBook (1 Users, 3 Users, Unlimited Users)

The library defaults to these formats if faculty do not indicate a preference.

  • Ebooks over Books
  • Streaming Video over DVDs
  • Streaming Audio over CDs

The library may choose a less expensive format for items costing more than $250.

If your preferences differ from these defaults, fill out an online form to let us know what format to buy.