It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This box will search all of your Credo Reference "Biographical" entries.
Biographies - General
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians by Nicolas Slonimsky (Editor); Laura Diane Kuhn (Editor)This 6-volume set of Bakers covers all musical genres, with entries written by a distinguished group of area specialists as well as the original articles of Nicolas Slonimsky. More than 15, 000 biographies span the medieval ages to the present.This work continues the tradition of offering the most comprehensive and authoritative information on the musicians, along with interesting and insightful evaluations of their contributions to the musical world. Bakers remains the most affordable, comprehensive and readable of all music reference works, providing everyone from the student to scholar a one-stop resource for all their music biographical needs. Some of the artists featured include: Louis Armstrong Johann Sebastian Bach The Beatles Ludwig van Beethoven James Brown John Cage Maria Callas Johnny Cash Miles Davis Claude Debussy Marvin Gaye Philip Glass George Frideric Handel Charlie Parker Luciano Pavarotti Arturo Toscanini Tom Waits And many more
Call Number: ML105 .B16 2001 and eBook
Publication Date: 2000-12-22
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Classical Music by Nicolas Slonimsky; Laura Kuhn (Editor)20th Century only.
Call Number: ML105 .S612 1997
Publication Date: 1997
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin (Editor)Also available as eBook.Colin Larkin provides information on a range of popular music genre from 1900s onwards; including rock, pop, jazz, folk, blues, heavy metal, techno, R&B, reggae, and hip-hop. This biographical encyclopedia contains a name index, an index of song titles, and bibliographies by artist and subject.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 1998
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music by Don Michael Randel (Editor)A guide to the thousands of characters, who people the history of music, this volume brings together all the biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today. A companion to The New Harvard Dictionary of Music, this biographical dictionary emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and showtunes across the ages - with care devoted to coverage of the 20th century.
Call Number: eBook in Credo Reference
Publication Date: 1996-
Biographies - Composers
Composers of Yesterday by David Ewen (Editor)This scarce antiquarian book is a facsimile reprint of the original. Due to its age, it may contain imperfections such as marks, notations, marginalia and flawed pages. Because we believe this work is culturally important, we have made it available as part of our commitment for protecting, preserving, and promoting the world's literature in affordable, high quality, modern editions that are true to the original work.
Call Number: eBook on the Internet
Publication Date: 2010
Biographies - Performers
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Classical Music by Nicolas Slonimsky; Laura Kuhn (Editor)
Call Number: ML105 .S612 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Opera by Joyce BourneThis invaluable reference book explores the background to 400 years of opera the composers, the singers, plus the buildings and festivals that have developed to showcase them. The development of opera is explored and set in its political and social context. At the heart of the book are concise biographies of major composers, accompanied by portraits and illustrations relating to their works, together with recommended recordings (both historical and contemporary).
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
The Grove Book of Opera Singers by Laura Macy (Editor)Covering over 1500 singers from the birth of opera to the present day, this marvelous volume will be an essential resource for all serious opera lovers and an indispensable companion to the enormously successful Grove Book of Operas.The most comprehensive guide to opera singers ever produced, this volume offers an alphabetically arranged collection of authoritative biographies that range from Marion Anderson (the first African American to perform at the Met) to Benedict Zak (the classical tenor and close friend andcolleague of Mozart). Readers will find fascinating articles on such opera stars as Maria Callas and Enrico Caruso, Ezio Pinza and Fyodor Chaliapin, Lotte Lehmann and Jenny Lind, Lily Pons and Luciano Pavarotti. The profiles offer basic information such as birth date, vocal style, first debut, mostmemorable roles, and much more. But these articles often go well beyond basic biographical information to offer colorful portraits of the singer's personality and vocal style, plus astute evaluations of their place in operatic history and many other intriguing observations. Many entries also includesuggestions for further reading, so that anyone interested in a particular performer can explore their life and career in more depth. In addition, there are indexes of singers by voice type and by opera role premiers. The articles are mostly drawn from the acclaimed Grove Music Online and have beenfully revised, and the book is further supplemented by more than 40 specially commissioned articles on contemporary singers.A superb new guide from the first name in opera reference, The Grove Book of Opera Singers is a lively and authoritative work, beautifully illustrated with color and black-and-white pictures. It is an essential volume--and the perfect gift--for opera lovers everywhere.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Biographies - Special
Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians by Eileen Southern"The stimulus this handsomely produced volume will provide to research and teaching may well surpass that offered by Dr. Southern's earlier studies. This major accomplishment belongs in the libraries of all individuals and institutions interested in any aspect of American music." Ethnomusiciology
Call Number: ML105 .S67 1982
Publication Date: 1982
Biographical Dictionary of Black Musicians and Music Educators by Lemuel Berry
Call Number: ML106.U3 B47
Publication Date: 1978
Biographical Dictionary of Old English Music by Jeffrey Pulver
Call Number: ML106.G7 P9 1969
The Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz by Leonard Feather (Editor); Ira Gitler (Editor)Do you want to know when Duke Ellington was king of The Cotton Club? Have you ever wondered how old Miles Davis was when he got his first trumpet?From birth dates to gig dates and from recordings to television specials, Leonard Feather and Ira Gitler have left no stone unturned in their quest for accurate, detailed information on the careers of 3.300 jazz musicians from around the world. We learn that Duke Ellington worked his magic at TheCotton Club from 1927 to 1931, and that on Miles Davis's thirteenth birthday, his father gave him his first trumpet. Jazz is fast moving, and this edition clearly and concisely maps out an often dizzying web of professional associations. We find, for instance, that when Miles Davis was a St. Louisteenager he encountered Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie for the first time. This meeting proved fateful, and by 1945 a nineteen-year-old Davis had left Juilliard to play with Parker on 52nd Street. Knowledge of these professional alliances, along with the countless others chronicled in this book,are central to tracing the development of significant jazz movements, such as the "cool jazz" that became one of Miles Davis's hallmarks.Arranged alphabetically according to last name, each entry of this book chronologically lists the highlights of every jazz musician's career. Highly accessible and vigorously researched, The Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz is, quite simply, the most comprehensive jazz encyclopediaavailable.
Nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. (Gale)
Now users can take notes easily without opening a separate program. The "Highlights and Notes" tool allows you to select text from a document, highlight the important sections, add your own notes, and save to a new "Highlighted Articles" page. Within the same session, the highlighted sections can be easily viewed, printed, downloaded, or sent via email (no user account within the database is required). (Gale)
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and 1,160 videos. (Infobase)
WorldCat Identities has a summary page for every name in WorldCat (currently some 30 million names) including named persons, organizations and fictitious characters. A typical WorldCat Identities page will include a list of most widely held-by-libraries works by and about the identity, a list of variant forms of name the identity has been known by, a FAST tag cloud of places, topics, etc. closely related to works by and about the person, links to co-authors, and more. Titles listed are linked to WorldCat.org, and in many popular WorldCat Identities pages, links to the corresponding Wikipedia (English language) article are provided.