Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interpersonal Communication: Study of principles and skills necessary for initiating and maintaining relationships; includes dyad, small group discussion, and leadership styles.
Interpersonal Communication and Social Media Books
The Culture of Connectivity by Social media has come to deeply penetrate our lives: Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and many other platforms define many of our daily habits of communication and creative production. The Culture of Connectivity studies the rise of social media in the first decade of the twenty-first century upuntil 2012, providing both a historical and a critical analysis of the emergence of major platforms in the context of a rapidly changing ecosystem of connective media. Such history is needed to understand how these media have come to profoundly affect our experience of online sociality. The firststage of their development shows a fundamental shift. While most sites started out as amateur-driven community platforms, half a decade later they have turned into large corporations that do not just facilitate user connectedness, but have become global information and data mining companiesextracting and exploiting user connectivity.Author and media scholar Jose van Dijck offers an analytical prism to examine techno-cultural as well as socio-economic aspects of this transformation. She dissects five major platforms: Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, YouTube, and Wikipedia. Each of these microsystems occupies a distinct position in thelarger ecology of connective media, and yet, their underlying mechanisms for coding interfaces, steering users, and filtering content rely on shared ideological principles. At the level of management and organization, we can also observe striking similarities between these platforms' shiftingownership status, governance strategies, and business models.Reconstructing the premises on which these platforms are built, this study highlights how norms for online interaction and communication gradually changed. "Sharing," "friending," "liking," "following," "trending," and "favoriting" have come to denote online practices imbued with specifictechnological and economic meanings. This process of normalization, the author argues, is part of a larger political and ideological battle over information control in an online world where everything is bound to become social. Crossing lines of technological, historical, sociological, and culturalinquiry, The Culture of Connectivity will reshape the way we think about interpersonal connection in the digital age.
Call Number: HM742 .D55 2013 and eBook
Twitter by Twitter has become a household name, discussed both for its role in prominent national elections, natural disasters, and political movements, as well as for what some malign as narcissistic "chatter." This book takes a critical step back from popular discourse and media coverage of Twitter, to present the first balanced, scholarly engagement of this popular medium. In this timely and comprehensive introduction, Murthy not only discusses Twitter's role in our political, economic, and social lives, but also draws a historical line between the telegraph and Twitter to reflect on changes in social communication over time. The book thoughtfully examines Twitter as an emergent global communications medium and provides a theoretical framework for students, scholars, and tweeters to reflect critically on the impact of Twitter and the contemporary media environment. The book uses case studies including citizen journalism, health, and national disasters to provide empirically rich insights and to help decipher some of the ways in which Twitter and social media more broadly may be shaping contemporary life.
Call Number: HM743.T95 M87 2013
Quiet by #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Experience the book that started the Quiet Movement and revolutionized how the world sees introverts--and how introverts see themselves--by offering validation, inclusion, and inspiration "Superbly researched, deeply insightful, and a fascinating read, Quiet is an indispensable resource for anyone who wants to understand the gifts of the introverted half of the population."--Gretchen Rubin, author of The Happiness Project NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY People * O: The Oprah Magazine * Christian Science Monitor * Inc. * Library Journal * Kirkus Reviews At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over working in teams. It is to introverts--Rosa Parks, Chopin, Dr. Seuss, Steve Wozniak--that we owe many of the great contributions to society. In Quiet, Susan Cain argues that we dramatically undervalue introverts and shows how much we lose in doing so. She charts the rise of the Extrovert Ideal throughout the twentieth century and explores how deeply it has come to permeate our culture. She also introduces us to successful introverts--from a witty, high-octane public speaker who recharges in solitude after his talks, to a record-breaking salesman who quietly taps into the power of questions. Passionately argued, impeccably researched, and filled with indelible stories of real people, Quiet has the power to permanently change how we see introverts and, equally important, how they see themselves. Now with Extra Libris material, including a reader's guide and bonus content
Call Number: BF698.35.I59 C35 2013
Handbook of Interpersonal Communication by The Third Edition of the Handbook of Interpersonal Communication includes eight new chapters and eleven revised from the second edition. Following an introductory chapter, the volume is organized into four parts covering perspectives on inquiry in interpersonal communication, fundamental units of interpersonal communication, processes and functions, and interpersonal contexts. Features include: · Each chapter reviews and updates research in its respective area · Part II examines methodological issues in the field · Includes articles by top scholars in the field of Interpersonal Communication
Call Number: BF637.C45 H287 2002
Nonverbal Behaviour in Interpersonal Relations by Nonverbal Behavior in Interpersonal Relationsoffers a complete and precise explanation of the principles of nonverbal communication and their application in everyday life. The authors draw from a wide variety of disciplines and upon their vast experience as instructors, consultants, and corporate trainers to offer a unique blend of social scientific and humanistic approaches to the study of nonverbal behavior. This well-researched book offers conclusions about the research in an easy-to-read style. Each chapter includes exercises, activities, self-tests, or questionnaires that help readers explore and understand the actual and potential impact of nonverbal behaviors on communication. The text also helps readers build the skills they will need to become competent nonverbal communicators in today's global community.
Call Number: BF637.N66 R53 2008
Handbook of Research on Human Development in the Digital Age by The rapid evolution of technology continuously changes the way people interact, work, and learn. By examining these advances, researchers can further optimize the various opportunities that technology provides. The Handbook of Research on Human Development in the Digital Age is a pivotal reference source presenting the latest scholarly research on the impact of technology on the population through different theories and perspectives. Featuring extensive coverage on a broad range of topics such as cyberbullying, mobile technology, and social skills development, this publication is ideally designed for academicians, researchers, and practitioners seeking current research on new trends in technology that impact society.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Sunday: 3 pm- Midnight
Monday- Thursday: 8 am- Midnight
Friday: 8 am- 5 pm
Saturday: 11 am- 5 pm
Check the Library Schedule for exceptions.